9.3

Overall rating based on 19 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

95% described Stansfield Hall and Woodlands as Forest ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Awesome site, couldn't ask for more 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Dave S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    what's not to like? great woodland, quiet, peaceful and plenty of fallen wood for fires. We had an excellent 2 nights there just relaxing and cooking over a camp fire. We foraged for blackberries and elderberries and made drinks and jam to go with some fire baked flat bread.
    All in all we had a great time and will be back for more, we even found that the rain Friday night made it more exciting as we needed to quickly do a make shift rain shelter from a tarp

    Disliked: 

    the fact we had to leave

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Fantastic stay in a beautiful secluded location. We had our ... 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mike P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic stay in a beautiful secluded location. We had our own field, next to woodlands and with a good sized cabin for when the rain became too much for the tents! Great location, host Tony was really helpful. Can't recommend highly enough

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Tony the guy that runs the site is great and has a great pub. 16/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom kellie s. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the whole feeling of being in the woods. Very quiet and the addition of the camp fire was fantastic! Lovely walks looking for deer and a nice big space.

    Disliked: 

    Just needs a bin on the larger site and maybe a toilet that's nearer.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Unusual woodland site with essential facilities, helpful owner 12/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lorraine G. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We really liked the rural setting, fields and woodland. Easy to get to. Compost toilet! Tony was very friendly, easy going and amenable, helping us take our camping equipment to the site. We liked being left to get on with our few days camping without restriction. Being able to make a fire, fire pit provided. Fresh water provided daily. Good distance between pitches. Great few days, cooking in an open fire and enjoying fresh air, despite the rain.

    Disliked: 

    The rain!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

True wilderness camping 08/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Allie B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Back to nature.
    The whole forest to ourselves.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The beautiful woods and surrounding countryside. Proper camping! Had a ... 03/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Toby W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The beautiful woods and surrounding countryside. Proper camping! Had a big fire going through the night. Great if you want to get away from everything.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Rustic retreat - for fair weather back to nature 'campers' 25/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Heather W. Confirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The peace and solitude of the back of beyond (Very much-off grid!)
    Firewood and drinking water offered as introduction.
    2 nights stay - to get out of the rain and a break between camping...(anecdotes to entertain your mates with on your return?)
    NOTE-This was rustic NOT glamping!

    Disliked: 

    The Pod is on the edge of a field so part of the track is mucky (tyres got very claggy). Im sure the advert said the shower was solar powered- an exaggeration as the water keg didn't seem to - the owner announced there was a watering can. I was ready for basic facilities but I wasn't ready for his blustery manner especially when i asked about phone charging which didn't seem to be available. (maybe its HIS ethos?)

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything was perfect and just what i wanted 21/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Dave S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic woodland, great clearings and size for camping, chairs and fires, very peaceful and no surrounding noises from traffic and everyday life

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike, it was everything I wanted

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent experience for a short weekend with young kids. 20/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Severine L. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The woodland, the pitch, the location, the experience all very good

    Disliked: 

    The flat wheel of the wheelbarrow and the lack of big log.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice private space amongst the trees to camp in with ... 07/07/2017

edd_h169353 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice private space amongst the trees to camp in with a few friends, we all enjoyed ourselves and the pitch was exactly what we were looking for. Great for anyone looking for a campsite away from other campers. Really welcoming and friendly owner. Also for those wondering there wasn't any wifi but I think all of us managed to get 3G and good phone service even in the woods.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)