8.0

Overall rating based on 147 reviews

 

75% would recommend this site to a friend.

74% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

59% described Rose and Crown as Budget/backpacker ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Relaxed, chillled out, welcoming, amazing chips from the pub. 18/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom judith_y Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Relaxed, chillled out, welcoming, amazing chips from the pub.

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Can see this is a work in progress site, lovely staff running it 11/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Emma U. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff, pub food really lovely, plenty of space and showers were decent.

    Disliked: 

    Toilets need a bit more often attention

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Quirky live and let live place. We drew lucky and had a good stay 09/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Deborah W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Choice of pitch
    Close to pub
    Good facilities for kids

    Disliked: 

    Some electric points not working
    Showers and toilets not always clean
    Scruffy areas around site
    Crazy loud camper on our stay (but not the sites fault)

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great level grass covered pitch. Clean facilities,already booked again 02/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom philip_c158317 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities,bar,friendly staff,WEATHER

    Disliked: 

    Shame the pool not ready for use yet but looks great when finished

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Really friendly helpful owners & staff. 25/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Janette B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom static caravan
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We liked everything about our stay. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, the static caravan was brilliant, really spacious, really clean, perfect. The full English breakfast was amazing, & so was the eggs benedict. The food was cooked to perfection10/10.
    We will definitely be returning.
    We had such a great time, would have loved to stay for longer.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you all again and by then the pool will be up and running

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

2nd time I’ve stopped here Great food friendly service 25/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ken L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for returning, (and to carry on returning) hopefully you can see differences each time you return, all for the better, look forward to seeing you again,

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent stay, friendly staff and brilliant atmosphere 11/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sheila L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Showers toilets and pub

    Disliked: 

    –

From the manager...

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will visit us again
Doug & Carol

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Staffs were great. However I found the shower & toilet facilities dirt 04/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom siobhan s. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Level pitches

    Disliked: 

    Facilities

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, unfortunately we had families on who did not respect the facilities would be used by other campers, the cleaner checks several times through the day, I just wish people would treat the toilets and showers as they do at home,the bulk of people do clean after themselves but it only takes a few not to (ie toilet paper dropped on floor, just pick it up and flush it, close shower doors so as not to flood the entire floor) if your shower, shampoo etc as run out put it in the bin,

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The amount of space for the kids to play and ... 04/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Gavin T. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The amount of space for the kids to play and explore where they were still in eyesight was great, it meant they could have fun while we relaxed.
    Lovely staff and a nice pub

    Disliked: 

    Only slight criticism which didnt affect our stay at all was on of the paths had lots of rubble some of which were bits of porcelain etc but this had been put down to help drainage.

From the manager...

thank you for the comments, yes unfortunately we had laid rumble (last few weeks we have had a lot of rain, and thought we needed to sort the mud problem out quickly and small stones will be laid on top, we concentrated on the well used area 1st,) ie entrance to shower block, roads into fields. hope this as not put you off returning and if you return will see further improvements

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Friendly service. Catered to vegetarians. Great pub/club house. 03/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Chris E. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly service. Catered to vegetarians. Great pub/club house.

    Disliked: 

    –

From the manager...

Thank you, vegetarians and vegans are rare to us but we are very happy you was happy with what we offered to you, maybe you could send some advise as on what you would like to eat to give us more of a idea as what most vegetarians prefer,

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)