9.3

Overall rating based on 208 reviews

 

96% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

  82% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Landlord and his staff, small but very clean toilet shower …19/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomdavid e.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Landlord and his staff, small but very clean toilet shower block and the quietness of the site.
    We also enjoyed the pub's excellent food and found out the beef and ale pies were actually made in on the premises. Great value.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely site16/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMike B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean showers and toilets, friendly wardens. Red Lion pub had excellent beer and food even though the Landlord was away who often cooks. The staff were very helpful. Our first time there and will definitely be back.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great pitches..13/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPamela M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Size of pitch was very generous..booking easy..

    Disliked: 

    Showers need a little work for older people I.e maybe a grab bar..food at pub.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Nice and quite plenty of walks13/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and quite plenty of walks

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Location, pleasant owners, clean, good facilities13/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPeter M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, pleasant owners, clean, good facilities

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A gem if a find nice sized pitches. Lovely toilets & showers12/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMargaret B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fairly level field with brilliant sized pitches. Beautiful clean toilet & showers. Everyone was friendly. Had a chilled relaxing couple of days enjoyed it so much rebooked to come back in a couple of weeks.

    Disliked: 

    Not a dislike but a suggestion…. Metal bin would be good to empty used charcoal & firewood in the day after we had the fire. To ensure nothing could be ignited if it’s still warm.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great site excellent value for money- clean12/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quite site, easy access, large pitch, nice showers very warm water, lovely drinks in pub was an added bonus really enjoyed the stay

    Disliked: 

    Waste disposal had to lift unit to empty

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely site12/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHannah G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Well run site, pre-arrival email gave all the information needed. The site was well defined and the pitch a good size and level. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The pub was friendly and the food was good.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

With some minor updates this could be a little gem11/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTony M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pitches were a good size and well marked out. The grass was short and maintained yes I would stay there again but would not use the pub for food, which was a shame because we had planned to use the pub throughout our stay.

    Disliked: 

    We pre booked a sunday lunch and was looking forward to using the pub all week, sadly the roast beef we ordered was pulled beef ? The vegetables was over cooked not really what we was expecting, and my wife found a metal pin in her food, they dismissed this as not there fault and said nothing they could do.
    The toilet area was cleaned every day but not very well, and the showers had rain heads but the shower was not powerfully enough to accommodate these style heads.
    The elsan point and fresh water was in suitable order.

From the manager...

Thankyou for you comments, the beef is very slow cooked and due to this has a tendency to fall apart, I’m afraid we did ask repeatedly if you meal was ok and everything was mention was perfect with no other responses, the veg is steamed and was not over cooked from all other guests dining with us so we do find this hard to swallow. We did acknowledge the metal object within the mash and to this date are unable to determine we’re this has come from but all we can ascertain is it was not from our kitchen and must have been from the farm machinery were we purchased al our fresh potatoes. We did apologies many times regarding this and even offered to remove the meal as a good will gesture but was refused. We have had nothing but brilliant reviews regarding our toilets and showers and while the rain water fall showers may not be everyone’s cup of tea it has stopped all the damage that was happing to the showers from happening any more. The showers hand showers and heads have no problem providing sufficient flow and heat to accommodate the showers. We respectfully find this review very hard at this time to understand as we try our upmost to do what we can for everyone Thankyou

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice find10/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomian m.Confirmed

  • Electric grass and earth pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good location, excellent access to Aviation Heritage Centre by walking across adjacent field. Peaceful, generous pitches, good pub food, clean facilities.
    Would highly recommend for couples but no play area for children / grandchildren.

    Disliked: 

    no children's play area :(

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi