7.8

Overall rating based on 24 reviews

 

83% would recommend this site to a friend.

79% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Great pub and owners 01/10/2016

michelle_h10 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent food and drinks at the onsite pub.
    Best pint of Guinness that I have ever had.
    Staff were very helpful and chatty.
    Loads of walks in the area for the dogs and people alike.
    Friendly horses to pet.

    Disliked: 

    Lack of ablution facilities dedicated to the caravan/campers as you had to use the pub toilets and i can see that being an issue if the pub as well as the campsite is busy, although i have been told that they are reviewing it and going to upgrade them.
    Lack of decent shower facilities but again due for an upgrade.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely small site, friendly staff 13/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom zoe w. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Children's play area
    Bar restaurant
    Small campsite
    Very welcoming staff

    Disliked: 

    Showering area but they have plans to improve it

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Perfect for everyone, including families. Clean, tidy and friendly! 03/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Shannon H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Children's play area, area itself was nice and quiet. Pub looked lovely but we didn't eat. Toilets and shower clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Short distance from alton towers easily accessible from here. The price was excellent! We had 2 small children and a baby which loved the play area too.
    Cannot comment on WiFi, I'm unsure if there was any as didn't ask to find out.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great place to get away.. 29/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Russell H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet . Great food and drink.. really friendly and helpful staff... clean shower and facilities for chemical toilet disposal.lots of space ..

    Disliked: 

    No where to take dog except around village but the walk was good..

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

really good, staff really friendly, great area 23/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Dawn F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The owners couldn't do enough for us, when they realised we was staying as a group with kids they let us pitch up on another field which is right by the play ground this was perfect for us with 3 young kids!
    The weekend we stayed the weather was vile high winds and rain, we couldn't get out bbq lit so the owners borrowed us their wind breakers and borrowed us some lighter fluid to get the bbq started as you can imagine we was really great full we had a fab weekend even with the terrible weather.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really we didn't use the shower, the toilets were in the pub but that was left open all night so not a problem!
    Is close to the a50 so sounds like a aeroplane is constantly flying over but you block that out so also not a problem,

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very basic site 22/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Debbie A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff friendly, ok for a one night stop.

    Disliked: 

    Shower was in a shed which also housed the washing up sink next to the sceptic toilet emptying hole! Men's toilets were disgusting with no light.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very basic level pitch 20/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Alan D. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Grate budget over nite stay for a long gurney

    Disliked: 

    A little disappointed with the shower out building was very small and located next to the kids play area also the toilet facilities was not checked for supplies making are stay uncomfortable but the staff in the restaurant was very pleasant and professional.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site with Clean facilities excellent frienly staff. 15/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Philip T. Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly & helpful staff.
    Clean facilities with a good hot shower.
    Excellent food from a reasonable menu at sensible price's
    Flat level site with easy access.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

excellent all round 13/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Adrian S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Near by were we wanted to Visit

    Disliked: 

    No disliked

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

nice welcoming no frills site. friendly staff. lovely food. 13/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom gregg b. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Essentially a pub with a couple of extra bits of land that can fit a few caravans and tents. Some pitches have electric hook ups. I stayed in a my tent with my 6 year old son, and we had a great time. Our pitch was near the beer garden which has a nice little play area, and there's a table football table, and a children's pool table, and my son was made very welcome. The facilities are simple, but meets the needs of someone or a little family wanting a couple of nights camping without luxury. An outside tap, and a wooden sort of lean-to on the back of the pub, which houses a shower cubicle with lockable door, a kitchen sink, and an elsan point, and I think this is a nifty little way to provide basic facilities for campers. The food in the pub is lovely, and great value, and the staff are friendly, and so are the regulars.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi