9.5

Overall rating based on 103 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

93% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Great Location 20/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United States andrew p. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great Location

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

View, cleanliness of the facilities, location, quietness, 03/06/2018

Reviewer's country: Belgium Kim V. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    View, cleanliness of the facilities, location, quietness,

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great campsite 02/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Lee J. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great small site overlooking the beach and the most amazing sunsets. Good facilities including fire pits for use, and a small charge for fire wood. Good pitch size and fairly flat

    Disliked: 

    Right next to the road which is busy ish in the morning

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Fab views, great facilities, very friendly and helpful staff especially ... 31/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Fiona H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Storm microlodge
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fab views, great facilities, very friendly and helpful staff especially Allan who was very knowledgeable about the local area. We had fantastic weather (28 degrees) which made it even better. Will definitely be back, compact and bijou accommodation and very clean with everything we needed for a wonderful stay. Five stars to Muasdale for a very enjoyable experience 😎

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Location, atmosphere, welcome, facilities, really lovely rooms, spacious apartment. 31/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Helen D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Jura 3 bedroom apartment
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, atmosphere, welcome, facilities, really lovely rooms, spacious apartment.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Simplicity of being at the beach. Great sunsets, shallow waters ... 29/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Emma S. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Simplicity of being at the beach. Great sunsets, shallow waters for the children to play in. Small site, peace and quiet. Simply beautiful.

    Disliked: 

    I think that the showers may need looking at as they ran hot and cold and the water reduced to a trickle.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches 27/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Brian W. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, Location, Location!
    Right above beach!
    Beautiful sunsets on 2 of the 3 nights we spent there.
    The fact that we were the only dirty people on site i.e. no one else used the showers and left them for us.
    Facilities were clean and perfectly adequate.
    Pitch Fees, but being realistic, to keep this site they need to put up their prices to remain viable. It was full every night so presumably there is scope for this although it may be off-season for some people?

    Disliked: 

    Road Noise, but nothing they can do about that. I don't suppose the lorries would like to be forced to use the Carradale Road?
    Wifi was poor, even in the Washing up area.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

First class shower and other facilities. Immaculate. Picnic tables on ... 26/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ann F. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    First class shower and other facilities. Immaculate. Picnic tables on every pitch. Fire buckets and fuel. Gorgeous views. Proximity to Ghiga ferry - accessible by bike. Seals and swans. Late arrivals allowed - saved our bacon when ferry changed.

    Disliked: 

    Bus service - no dogs allowed!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Brilliant place 24/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ian A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is our 3rd time here , we love the place

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Could not get to campsite. 22/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Neil J. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Could not get to campsite.

    Disliked: 

    After getting off Islay ferry at 10.15pm.(Owners of campsite were aware of late arrival.) We were stopped by roadworks about 7 miles from campsite and told we could not be escorted through until 12 pm. The man in charge of the roadworks said that it had been known for at least a week that the closure would be in place. No one from Musdale had bothered to inform us. We had no option but to turn around. Ended up sleeping in a lay-by near Inverarry. When I phoned campsite next day woman on phone very unhelpful. She just put the phone down!

From the manager...

I am very sorry you were unable to get to our campsite. This despite there being an alternative route to Campbelltown via the B842 from the Skipness road end turn-off or by waiting in a layby until the next convoy was allowed through. If you had attempted to call us from the ferry terminal on arrival or before you left islay we would have been able to advise you better than we are open at all times, as you can see from the photos we are a very small site and have no barriers to prevent access. As you had said previously we were aware you were coming late but did not know that you hadn't noticed the several notices and signs about the roadworks.
There are details of the road closure on traffic Scotland website Calmac website and there are large signs displaying information about the road closures and times of the convoys through. the roadworks at the ferry terminal entrance that have been there for some time.
There are several other campsites between the ferry terminal and Inverary that you may have found more comfortable rather than a layby.
may I also apologise for putting the phone down on your call as a woman I find it unacceptable that I should be shouted at in an abusive manner when I tried to explain the circumstances.of the no refund policy. if however, you had listened to my explanation you would have heard that I offer an alternative date to visit for no extra cost as I offer most of our customers who contact us with a reason why they cant attend.
if you wish to discuss this matter further in calm courtoues manner I would be happy to.

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)