9.8

Overall rating based on 74 reviews

 

99% would recommend this site to a friend.

97% would stay here again.

  94% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

We really enjoyed our stay at Misty Meadows. The whole …22/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJulie H.Confirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We really enjoyed our stay at Misty Meadows. The whole set up with carpeted bell tent and fire pit with cooking tripod made for a comfortable and fun camping experience. Bringing our pooch, who loved cooling off in the river, was made easy here as there were other dog owners who were enjoying a more rural environment too - there are beautiful walks through meadows straight from the campsite. Provisions from a local co-op were easy to obtain. There are two shower units that are clean providing a decent hot shower. We understand the owner has plans to expand the facilities with Shepherd Huts which, by the sounds of things, will make this sweet back-to-basics campsite even better.

    Disliked: 

    –

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A great campsite with amazing features, very friendly owners21/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJitka V.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    As a family with 3 teenage boys, we loved Misty Meadows!!! We stayed for 5 days. The campsite has amazing features - a lake (the boys used it for kayaking); bell tents look so pretty on one of the meadows (this time we did not stay in them but we will the next time!); a small river (it is great to have a little splash or stroll in it!); soft and luscious grass everywhere; stunning views of the countryside (we braved it and camped on the hill for one night!); absolutely beautiful forest (there is a Dorset country trail going right through the campsite and so much to explore!); the camp is a great spot for many one day trips (Portland, Weymouth, Durdle Door, the Cove, Tyneham Village, Old Harry Rocks and many more); mainly though the owners Amy and Max are super friendly, helpful and very kind hosts! They have many plans for the campsite. We can't wait to be back soon! Thank you for having us! We will be back with our friends.

    Disliked: 

    –

From the manager...

These pictures are amazing! It was lovely to meet you and your family and you really made the most of your stay with us. We're so looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back next year.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent we will be back next year!21/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKelly D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved everything! The field, river and lake! Swans, great host! and beautiful sky 🌌! Stunning ! So peaceful.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to record!!

From the manager...

Thankyou! lovely photos and comments, we're glad the swans came out to say hello, after a summer of visitors they are getting braver.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A hidden gem of a campsite with a breathtaking lake21/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNatasha F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The space, toilets always kept clean and stocked with toilet roll.

    Disliked: 

    Absolutely nothing to dislike about this place

From the manager...

Thankyou for these lovely photos and comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

The green, open spaces and wilderness, the water and fire …20/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTracey W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The green, open spaces and wilderness, the water and fire pit.

    Disliked: 

    Showers were either too hot or too cold.

From the manager...

Thankyou for your comments. We're working on the showers, I have turned the standard temperature down slightly. The reason that they sometimes go cold is that the pilot light blows out on the gas heater, we are trying to work out ways to shield the heater so the wind doesn't get to it but for future stays if you turn it off and on again it will re-ignite. We know this isn't ideal and will try and improve this but as homemade showers go we're quite proud of them. 😊

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Location was pleasant, with nice walks through fields and woods. …20/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location was pleasant, with nice walks through fields and woods.
    Amy who greeted us was lovely, very helpful and accommodating.

    Disliked: 

    There was an alarm that sounded repeatedly throughout the day and night, apparently it may have been to do with the nearby milking parlour, but it was quite intrusive every half hour or so.

From the manager...

We're so sorry that you didn't experience the Misty Meadows magic mentioned by others. The noise you heard may have been a backing gate used during milking times on the farm so I have now turned this down significantly, but this would not have been 24 hours per day so if this was the case then it may have been from the neighbouring village. I think you may have been unlucky with wind direction for the one night that you stayed but I apologise if you were disturbed. I'm surprised by your scores as we are a basic site and don't pretend to have extensive facilities but we make sure that we keep the flush toilet block and showers clean and well stocked with toilet roll and soap and think that having so much space to walk around and pitch away from others makes it good value but understand it may not be to everyones liking.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful setting, quiet camping, clean, freindly staff19/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKelly A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved our stay. Amy greeted us when we arrived and showed us which bell tent we were staying in. It was beautiful, inside and outside. There's a beautiful lake in the meadow with a stream along side, there were toilet and shower facilities within walking distance. In the evening we led outside on a mat with the fire pit going watching shooting stars, it was just perfect! We will definitely be visiting again, with family and with friends for longer. Such a beautiful place!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

I love this review, it sounds like you had a gorgeous stay and you took one of my favourite pictures of you and your fire pit. we look forward to welcoming you back.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful peaceful setting . Fab good pressured shower . Amy …18/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKelvin H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful peaceful setting . Fab good pressured shower . Amy was a great host πŸ˜€

    Disliked: 

    –

From the manager...

Thankyou! we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great site and location, clean facilities.17/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDina E.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great tent and location, helpful and accommodating owners. Other guests were friendly. Perfect for a family with young children, the lake and paddle boat was a big hit!

    Disliked: 

    –

From the manager...

Thankyou! it was lovely to see your kids having fun on the lake and making friends with other kids on the site.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The tent was really big, clean and welcoming on a …16/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The tent was really big, clean and welcoming on a beautiful, spacious site with friendly owners

    Disliked: 

    –

From the manager...

Thankyou. we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)