Show me reviews by:
Sorted by same language first, then:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
6.6

Overall rating based on 552 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1 9%
  • 2 3%
  • 3 4%
  • 4 4%
  • 5 8%
  • 6 8%
  • 7 14%
  • 8 17%
  • 9 12%
  • 10 15%

68% would recommend this site to a friend.

68% would stay here again.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site plenty of areas to wonder round freely ,the maize you g 18/09/2016

julie_m994461 (Family with young children, 1 review) Mobile phone icon

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type:
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything .grounds are kept to a high quality and very friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely but disorganised, level pitches. 17/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Diane L. (Family with young children, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Aug 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Area, level pitch, easy to find, Kelham Hall was lovely. There wasn't a lot of noise on a night which was good. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

    Disliked: 

    Too big, when we arrived we waited 30 minutes for the guy to let us know which pitch we were on. They were expecting another 300 people the following day, the facilities were dirty and not adequate enough for the amount of people.

Overall
5
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely site 13/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ann D. (Mature couple, 1 review) Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Surroundings and the Hall.

    Disliked: 

    Toilet block needs renovation and cleaning more regular.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

This is the worst site we have visited, very unclean basic facilities. 13/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Donna R. (Young couple, 1 review) Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The drive home.

    Disliked: 

    Very unclean basic facilities, toilet door smashed, seems to attract vandals who like to deface garden statues and vandalise trees. Campsite office has a great selection of drinks though ( if you like water or fizzy pop ). No regulated quiet time at night, so if you are wanting to sleep at night, I'd recommend staying at home. We had plans to take our daughter with us on this 2 night break, really glad we changed our mind!!!!!!

    Very disappointed in this site. Not one I will be recommending, although I would like to send my mother in law ( payback ).

Overall
1
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Superb site, fantastic location 12/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom James K. (With friends, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location - in the grounds of the stunning hall, allowed to camp under shelter of trees. 2 sets of toilets and showers, cafe and shop on-site. Lots of space to walk around and things to do. 5 mins by taxi to Newark.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Terrible never again! 09/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom kerrie S. (Family with young children, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Aug 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Childrens play area, the Hall and the River.

    Disliked: 

    we stayed her in August not knowing it was the camping rally weekend. First of all I qued to check in to get a pitch, fair enough I thought it is busy no problem, Then had to Q to get on the field (Event Field) when I got to the front the first guy had not given me a pitch number, i was told just pull up at a pitch dont put he tent up then go back to the office (about half a mile) to get your number. The guy had a walky talkie so I said this wasnt acceptable and he should radio to the first guy to get the number , he did under durress but was just told Im busy!.

    I pulled over the manager about this and he said this wasnt acceptable went to speak with him but then just jumped in his truck and drove off with no explanation!!. My husband had to go to the office in the end. He came back with the number we went on the field were the numbers were not clear Spray painted on the floor but wasnt even told where to look for the numbers, the field was huge! as we finally got the number someone else was pitched there so we just pitched up where we wanted it was a complete shambles and everyone said the same people were just aimlessly roaming the field trying to find their pitch!.

    The weather was terrible and we had a storm on the saturday with terrential rain (not the sites fault) the field was just like a mud bath, I feel the hay they put down to try and soak it up came pretty late.

    The Toilets and showers...Well lets just say we didnt have one for a full weekend, they were the worst ive ever seen they were smeared with allsorts and didnt flush or anything. the portaloos in the field were cleaner than them! although could have done with some lighting inside when it was dark.

    My Little boy got injured during our stay as there was a huge green light left on the floor which was on one night during the entertainment, he put his hand on the light and burnt his hand bad (He's 4), The staff were totally unhelpful, I had to rush him to the tap and run cold water over his hand. When the staff were infromed of the danger of the light being on the ground in the first place the repsonse was...''Oh yeah someone mentioned that to us last night, its usually on top of the van'' We said our little boy had burnt his hand by touching it, he said well they should know not to touch it!! HES 4!! totally incompetance and terrible experience, would not recommend to anyone you will regret it.

Overall
1
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Wonderful site, very helpful staff 08/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom caroline_r284939 (Family with young children, 0 reviews) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Almost everything

    Disliked: 

    Other campers who seemed to enjoy making a mess

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely site, limited facilities, picturesque 08/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Victoria K. (Family with older children, 1 review) Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The grounds, the location, children's park, Maize, mobile beer bar

    Disliked: 

    Location of water points. Elsan point not great, was over flowing by Sunday morning. It was quite a walk with a full cassette too. Not enough facilities for pitches.

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely spot, friendly staff. Facilities need updating 07/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Michael S. (Mature couple, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The grounds are lovely to walk around, the house is beautiful , little play areas for kids. Bus stop opposite park. Pub opposite , serving lovely Sunday dinner.
    Enjoyed our 3 days.

    Disliked: 

    Facilities, toilets showers etc need updating.
    Disappointed could not see more inside the house.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

BEAUTIFUL SITE, ALL AMENITIES, LOTS OF SPACE 06/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Chrissie S. (Solo traveller-female, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I had a wonderful weekend stay at Kelham Hall.
    I pre booked for the first night but just returned unannounced for a second night and was accommodated without a problem. I was accompanied by my dog which again wasn't a problem and we enjoyed a fabulous walk around the perimeter of beautiful and romantic grounds. One thing that particularly impressed me was that a great number of the trees in the camping area were fruit; apples! I think that is very unusual and commendable.
    There are also regularly placed waste bins around the whole site which eliminates 98% of the rubbish where normal, caring people would put it. However, there are always the odd 'party poopers' who just don't care where they leave their litter but thankfully, there wasn't too much.
    The toilet block also has showers which is a bonus for travellers without that facility on board.
    The beer wagon was a welcome diversion for applicable visitors which created a great social, focal point.
    Food in varying styles is available at various venues throughout the site.
    The staff I met were very courteous, obliging and helpful.

    Disliked: 

    Only negative; whilst the perimeter trees attempt to create a baffle, the early Monday morning traffic in the road was quite noticeable at times, so a long undisturbed lay in wasn't really on the cards.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)