6.5

Overall rating based on 690 reviews

 

65% would recommend this site to a friend.

65% would stay here again.

 
  • 10 16%
  • 9 10%
  • 8 19%
  • 7 11%
  • 6 11%
  • 5 6%
  • 4 5%
  • 3 3%
  • 2 7%
  • 1 7%

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Great for families 24/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kevan W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The space around you to place your tent, even on the busiest of weeks is huge.
    Loved the evening walks down on the meadow along the river, spotting the heron just waiting for his tea.
    The kids love the play areas and it was hard to get them out of there sometimes.

    Disliked: 

    The toilet and shower block away from the main hall could do with renovation and it would be helpful if there was something to wash and dry your hands with as no soap or towels at all in the week we were there.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Should be wonderful, facilities let it down on day we stayed 21/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Richard A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The motorhome pitch and the picturesquel site in general. Handy and decent nearby pub.

    Disliked: 

    Poor state of the toilets in the main building. One permanently locked, the other blocked.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent staff and grounds with poor facilities 20/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom loretta_f Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spent a perfect weekend here for Newark Festivsl. Lovely grounds with plenty of space and everything you needed. Chose our own pitch area. Straight forward check in procedure and very helpful ground keeper with nothing bring too much trouble. Little pub across the road for our evening meal and a few drinks. We would stay here again as it's quite local but wouldn't stay longer than 2 nights due to the poor shower facilities.

    Disliked: 

    The toilet and shower areas I'm afraid to say are the worse we have been to. It's such a shame as everything else was lovely. I am quite happy to make the best out of a bad situation but I struggled!!! They are cleaned on a regular basis but I think the plumbing wa so old and corroded that stagnant water just sits in the shower tray which meant you were showering in a pool of grimy water.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Would stay here again 20/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom ANGIE P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The grounds are really beautiful and the pitches aren't marked which is nice, you can pick your own spot, we camped under a big shady tree which was perfect on a sunny weekend. The staff are very pleasant.

    Disliked: 

    The toilets and showers could definitely do with some improvements, bit tired looking, not particularly clean either.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful position but wouldn't go again because of the toilets. 20/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom claire_l312255 Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful site on the grounds of a country hall. Very pretty with lots of space, close to the river for walks. Closer to Newark which we though was great.

    Disliked: 

    The toilet facilities are on a par with festival toilets. They were dirty and along easy from the pitches. The showers where even further away which were also dirty and very small do no room to put your clothes etc. For the price I would have expected alot better.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Pitches were clean and spacious. Not busy which was nice. 20/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Claire H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lots of open space, so was tranquil for us. Also the fact they allow dogs at a cheap cost.

    Disliked: 

    That the office closes early and the shop in the hall was out of action due to a wedding. So no where on site to get anything.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

General setting was very pleasant with a nice open feel to the site. 17/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom David E. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Open areas, size of pitches and designated dog run.

    Disliked: 

    Facilities were poor and not at all clean. The facilities in the main building were better but still not of an acceptable standard of cleanliness. Only one washing up point.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Totally NOTHING !! 14/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom jaroslaw_u Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Totally NOTHING !!

    Disliked: 

    Mess in toilets - Faeces floated on the floor !!
    No access to WiFi on camp field
    Boiling water instead of hot water in all showers, not possible to get shower!!
    Electricity connected couple of hours after we arrive
    Been here an year ago, had not really big problems so decided to come again this year - waste of money and time.
    We back to home day earlier because of mess, noise after 10pm, etc
    Easy to charging peoples - but nobody get responsibility to care of guests
    Will not back again

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

site with wide open spaces and plenty of pitches. 13/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Edward D. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful location.plenty pitches to choose from.Beautiful historic mansion.Wash & shower facilities clean & good standard.

    Disliked: 

    Hard to locate reception.No one their had to wander around,eventually came across someone in the kitchen that served council staff who utilise a big part of the hall.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great site. Lots of playing area for the kids and ... 13/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom JEVAN L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site. Lots of playing area for the kids and met some lovely people. We will definitely return.

    Disliked: 

    The washing/toilet facilities. The main reception has good clean facilities but the portakabins scattered around the site were dreadful. No toilet paper on two occasions. Luckily I came prepared and not a single hand towel was in the dispenser for 3 days we were there. Also they were very dirty although were cleaned throughout the day. The guests did not keep them that way. The only reason I've not given a 5 star is because of this. It's not what you expect £30 a night campsites. I've stayed at places half the price with better facilities.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi