6.8

Overall rating based on 274 reviews

 

59% would recommend this site to a friend.

59% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Nice Grounds and staff.... 06/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Paul B. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice Grounds and staff....

    Disliked: 

    No Hard standing for caravans. We had 3 days of rain and had to get a 4x4 to get it off the water logged field.
    The toilet and shower block nearby were closed, so we had to trek to the toilets / Showers.. opening in May

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

nothing except leaving 05/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sharon s. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    nothing except leaving

    Disliked: 

    pitches were boggy from start ....rained all time there nothing for children to do
    caravans had to be towed off through thick mud
    we never had any help to come offsite as all site people conveniently were off site ..tried for over two hours to get off then saw another fellow camper who helped or we would still be stuck now .....
    only one toilet block at the main house miles to walk in the dark especially and not lit up for safety to walk there

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Worst site we have visited 03/04/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom James L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    nothing

    Disliked: 

    Horrible site, atrocious facilities - Un-labeled fresh water supply right next to Elsan point which was open and unsheltered - Customer service combatant and un-interested - Just a total rip-off site, worst we have ever visited

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely site with helpful staff and will be returning. 02/04/2018

kerry_h672612 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The grounds, friendly helpful staff. The house was very nice too. Thank you for towing us out today! We liked the pitch we had and the view from the pitch. We enjoyed the Easter egg hunt around the grounds and hall. We are looking forward to coming back when the weather is better.

    Disliked: 

    Weather lol. We didn't use the toilet/shower facilities as we have our own. The rain has been really bad and we did get stuck on our pitch but the staff were very helpful and towed our van to the road. Our car isn't the best in the mud. The pitch was quite pricey for the facilities that were on offer but it wouldn't stop us returning.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Glad we only booked one night... 25/02/2018

stewart_d212417 Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing much to like about this site except its quiet.

    Disliked: 

    Very poor site for the price, facilities and services non existing unless you walk a long way to the house. Toilet block closed or out of order. No wash out facilities or bins (if there is, then there are no signs) the site is very easy to get stuck on the grass at this time of year. Wheels spinning and mud everywhere. Seemingly no designated spaces just park up anywhere near to a hookup. No staff on site except for the reception staff. Not what we expected for £30 a night! We have stayed in much better places for half the price. We won't be coming back here again.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Nice site, clean, spacious and friendly staff. 23/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Darren M. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was a nice site, beautiful to look at. We arrived just after 6pm when the office had closed, but thankfully the night guard/security helped us to get onto the pitch, as it was very dark onsite.
    There was an issue with the electric box so we had to move to another part with a different box, the security guy was very helpful and came out a few times to assist us as we got stuck on the grass when we moved.
    The site was clean and spacious, plenty of pitches available.
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    There were a few play areas for the children. There was a paintballing / laser place and some archery/outdoor activities around the back of the Hall.
    Water points, waste places and toilet block on site.
    We visited reception for a local taxi number, the lady was very helpful and googled for one for us. We were able to visit Newark which was 10 minutes if that from Kelham Hall. Reasonable in a taxi about £7.00 each way.
    We were able to walk around the Hall grounds, which the River Trent runs along too. There is a private fishery which I believe people visiting Kelham Hall could fish on.
    There is a church in the grounds, which was beautiful and is obviously looked after, well kept.
    It was very quiet on site. Even is children were playing it still was very relaxing.

    Disliked: 

    A bit pricey for what it was. We paid £30.00 a night in February.
    Kelham Hall was nice but only a few rooms were open/available to see, maybe due to the time of year.
    The woodland walk was very short and just around the hotel, we expected it to lead into the woods. Would have liked to be able to walk a bit further.
    The pub that is advertised as being located just outside the gates, is around the corner and currently closed.
    Haven't had to pay for my dog on other sites. We had to pay £4.00 for having a dog.
    Grass pitches only, not great with bad weather.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Would be a great place for summer with updated facilities 19/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Sarah W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Play parks, the grounds the restaurant for Sunday lunch. Walking round the grounds the restaurant and the Manor House across the road.

    Disliked: 

    The low voltage electric, couldn’t boil a kettle without electric blowing. The on site facitilities we’re out of use and had to walk across to main house to use facilities.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Very overpriced. 18/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ian C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was clean and quite quiet. Had to call mobile number of house door to get hold of someone but they were friendly when they came to us.

    Disliked: 

    Massively overpriced for what it is, quite a walk back to the main house for toilets, showers etc. I would not stay here again for the price.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

not at all 16/02/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Brynley R. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    never go again

    Disliked: 

    first picthed up at powr point not working moved to another point power ok shower block not working no showers elson point fenced off not working overflowing onto grass nearist point to far away from caravan 30.00 pound a night i found was extreme never paid that that amount even in peak times very dissapointed i would like some kind of refund i will will not be going to this site again

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Our first stay at Kelham Hall.... even though I know ... 06/11/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Janette B. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Our first stay at Kelham Hall.... even though I know it well :-))
    We really enjoyed our weekend... everything was well organised and everyone was helpful.
    Our pitch was ideal for us. The firework display was incredible and well organised, especially with the huge crowd that arrived. It was well organised and a great family atmosphere.

    Our only comment would be that the music that went with the fireworks could'nt be heard very well in the area that the fireworks were being displayed.... it is only a comment for future consideration. It didn't stop us enjoying a fabulous display.
    Thank you to everyone who organised the event... Hope to join you again next year.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi