Show me reviews by:
Sorted by same language first, then:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
6.6

Overall rating based on 570 reviews

 

Rating distribution

  • 1 9%
  • 2 4%
  • 3 4%
  • 4 4%
  • 5 8%
  • 6 8%
  • 7 14%
  • 8 17%
  • 9 12%
  • 10 15%

68% would recommend this site to a friend.

68% would stay here again.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Would return 04/10/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom donna_s134613 (Mature couple, 0 reviews) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely quiet site, nice walks, Kelham Hall and grounds interesting, we understand that new owners are planning to turn hall into luxury hotel and spa.
    Hopefully this would improve camp site, as it needs updating.
    In the future it will be a fab site. Excellent play areas for children, good fishing too.
    Fab pub The Fox, just across the road, fab food.

    Disliked: 

    Toilet block on camp site as described by other reviews is not useable, but toilet block in Kelham hall acceptable.
    There are plans to re furnish toilet block. No proper camp shop.
    Also better booking in needs to be addressed, we went straight to camping area, but should have gone to reception, but not signed clearly for campers.
    Local council are in parts of Kelham Hall, but they are moving next year.
    So it's defo worth a visit.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Kelham Hall in the future.
Kind regards,
Amanda

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site with loads of walks 28/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Tina i. (Mature couple, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean site

    Disliked: 

    Toilets could be cleaned regularly

From the manager...

Very pleased to hear you enjoyed our site and will hopefully see you again soon. We are addressing the cleaning toilets as we speak.

Thank you for your feedback

Kind regards

Kate

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great place to stay 27/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Shaun K. (Family with young children, 1 review) Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The hall, the site, the facilities and how much there is to do.

    Disliked: 

    We have been twice now and there has been Indian weddings on both occasions which limits you to the hall which is a shame as it's a lovely house from the outside.

From the manager...

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon. Hopefully you will get to see the splendour of the hall next time, although we do have weddings regularly at the weekends.

Kind regards kate

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good location. Very hard to find staff when booking in. Toilets dirty 27/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Donna S. (With friends, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good location with only a five minute drive to Newark. Site was clean

    Disliked: 

    We had to wait 20 minutes and make several phone calls for the site manager to come back to reception to book us in. We did not know where to pitch as there were no designated pitches and the manager was to busy to show us where to pitch. The electrics were just a box with a load of wires on the ground so we were a bit wary about using them. We used the portable toilets. When we did use them they were dirty and I had to hunt around for loo paper.

    This could be a great site if the loos were cleaned and serviced more frequently, the electric hook-ups were properly sited and fitted and the reception is manned during normal office hours. I was expected more for £22 a night

From the manager...

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our beautiful site, and would like to express our apologies for your experience on arrival , this is is not our normal procedure. As for the toilets, this is being looked into .

Thank you for your comments, it would be nice to see you again.

Kind regards Kate

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely site let down by dirty toilets 27/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom DEREK C. (Family with older children, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pitches, location, cafe

    Disliked: 

    Toilets were not cleaned often enough as usual had skids in pan and sometimes on seats in the portacabin. Toilets in main building were better.

From the manager...

We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious pitches with beautiful surroundings. We are dealing with the issue of the toilets as we speak.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards Kate

Overall
5
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Picturesque site with good facilities and friendly helpful staff 27/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom david_h202716 (Family with older children, 0 reviews) Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Picturesque location

    Disliked: 

    could improve site security, too easy for public to access campsite

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed our beautiful site, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards Kate

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

level pitches 27/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom tracey_s162168 (Young couple, 0 reviews) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    That the pitches were level,

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in our beautiful surroundings.

Kind regards Kate

Overall
3
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Nice site, shame about the toilet facilities 27/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Simon L. (With friends, 1 review) Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice environment, lots for the kids to do with multiple play areas, and large field area to ride bikes and play games, plus the woods. We're able to set up a group area between pitches as they were generously spaced.

    Disliked: 

    Toilets and showers were converted football changing rooms (I know as I used them in the past), and have not really been updated properly since. Only sinks and mirrors were in the main toilets, which were of poor quality and were not cleaned in the whole weekend we were there. By 7pm on the Saturday night, there was only toilet roll in one male toilet, and the facilities had also been opened up to a wedding that had been going on in the hall that night, meaning they were in even more dire need of cleaning. We were also in a group of 4, and they had only 2 of our group registered on arrival, and took us to make phone calls and a 20 minute conversation to finally identify all bookings.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed our lovely site and the natural surroundings. As for the toilet issue it is being looked into as we speak, and will be resolved shortly.

Kind regards Kate

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

beautiful site, lovely trees, squirrels and plenty of space 27/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sally j. (Family with young children, 1 review) Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The grounds

    Disliked: 

    Toilets not that great , but not a big deal!

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed our beautiful site, and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards Kate

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

An ideal location 27/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Debbie B. (With friends, 1 review) Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Month stayed: Sep 2016
  • Pitch type: Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved where we were pitched. Ideal for the dish washing facilities and water.

    Disliked: 

    The toilets :-( these really could do with freshening up and cleaning regularly.
    I would also suggest there should be more toilets too. It's a pretty big site for just two female loos.

From the manager...

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your comments. The toilet issue is being dealt with as we speak. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards Kate

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi