6.7

Overall rating based on 607 reviews

 

65% would recommend this site to a friend.

64% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Our first stay at Kelham Hall.... even though I know ... 06/11/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Janette B. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Our first stay at Kelham Hall.... even though I know it well :-))
    We really enjoyed our weekend... everything was well organised and everyone was helpful.
    Our pitch was ideal for us. The firework display was incredible and well organised, especially with the huge crowd that arrived. It was well organised and a great family atmosphere.

    Our only comment would be that the music that went with the fireworks could'nt be heard very well in the area that the fireworks were being displayed.... it is only a comment for future consideration. It didn't stop us enjoying a fabulous display.
    Thank you to everyone who organised the event... Hope to join you again next year.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice spacious campsite, poor sanitary facilities and showers. Not a ... 17/10/2017

Reviewer's country: Netherlands mark_v106939 Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice spacious campsite, poor sanitary facilities and showers. Not a warm friendly welcome. We enjoyed our stay at this campsite.

    Disliked: 

    Poor sanitary facilities and showers.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches 05/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom richard_w279714 Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    all good the warden neil is very nice and helpfull

    Disliked: 

    nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice 11/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom melanie_c215218 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The hall and beautiful gardens

    Disliked: 

    Wash facilities

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Beautiful location, quick and easy check in with friendly staff. 07/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Elise F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Easy check in and welcomed by friendly staff, surroundings we're beautiful and peaceful and we were given the choice to set up our tent where ever we wanted. Location was great, just 10 minutes from lovely town of Newark.

    Disliked: 

    Toilets furthest from the main building had huge spiders and endless amounts of insects all over, looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Large site relaxed atmosphere on site activities for the kids ... 05/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom jane c. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Large site relaxed atmosphere on site activities for the kids fab playground laser quest amazing maize and room to ride their bikes
    Friendly helpful staff
    So much to do and see in the area Sherwood pines is a deffo must if you have bikes ...family trails practice area and red routes for the fearless .
    Deffo do the boat trip from Newark castle
    And apparently the 'work house ' is great but we ran out of time .

    Disliked: 

    So the reviews we read were reports of shocking facilities so went with an open mind and loo rolls ..but we were pleasantly suprised ..yes money needs to be invested in proper blocks but the main bug bear was FELLOW CAMPERS SHOULD LEAVE AS THEY WISH TO FIND ! The family shower rooms of which there were 2 had 2 showers and large space with benches ample room for sorting the little ones. The single showers however we're just a shower so there wasn't any privacy for dressing ..get over it and walk back to your tent in your towel I say ..
    If you want spotless and ensuite go to a hotel .

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

We would not recommend this site very dirty unfriendly 05/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom debbie_h335321 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The grounds and surrounding areas

    Disliked: 

    There is a few dislikes
    1. There was no one available to book in on arrival.
    2. We had no idea where our pitch was so we just chose one ourselves.
    3. The toilets were in a disgusting state they had not been cleaned for months there was cobwebs, dead spiders and flies everywhere.
    4. The toilets were in such a state my son had too clean the toilets before he could let his 4 year son sit on it, there was poo everywhere it had even been smeared on the walls. The wash basins were also filthy you couldn't was your hands in them.
    4. The family shower block was also in the same state as the toilets, dirty nappies etc left on the floor cobwebs around the shower head which was not usable.
    5. My son and his wife took there two boys into the family showers where they had not been cleaned the floor was covered in water and mud the step out of the shower block was too steep no hand rails it was far too steep for a 4 year old too step up our out without help it too large a gap for his little legs too step up, my daughter in law didn't realise how steep the step out was and fell out of the shower block cracking her ankle on the fall, I tried a few times too contact someone at kellham hall too inform them of the accident and too ask for help or a first aider the last message I left on the answer machine was why isn't anyone manning the phone I need (HELP) after leaving that message on the next ring they answered we were not happy campers. Her Saturday night was spent in A&E .
    6. The so called play room was not very playful for little ones, it also looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a while rubbish, dirty nappies etc on the floor we felt that none of the areas mentioned were ever manned or cleaned.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Would go again and pitch closer to kelham hall for facilities 04/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Stacey P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Grounds were fantastic, staff were friendly, tree swing was a hit with the kids

    Disliked: 

    Toilets outside left a lot to be desired - didn't once see a cleaner and 4 were blocked with human faeces that hadn't been flushed. Floor was v v slippery and no toilet paper.
    Next time we will pitch closer to the hall as they have facilities apparently inside !

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent great time 04/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Karl W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We enjoyed the grounds of kellem hall

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Definitely be back as soon as we can! 03/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Simon A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch (2 adults and 4 children, family, large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Really nice setting in the Hall's grounds. Excellent for young children with loads of space to run around and things to do.

    Disliked: 

    Don't book on a bank holiday weekend if you want a bit of peace and quiet. Hundreds of people decended but we were informed.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)