10

Overall rating based on 9 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Nous avons passé une nuit chez Phil dans sa roulotte ... 24/10/2018

Reviewer's country: France Marion L. Confirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nous avons passé une nuit chez Phil dans sa roulotte et nous aurions aimé en profiter davantage. Malgré notre arrivée relativement tardive, Phil nous a très bien accueilli avec une visite des installations rustique mais propre et très agréable. Un accès à un salon extérieur et cuisine est accordé, de quoi profiter de la vue et du chant des canards aux heures de repas. Le feu du soir au pied de la roulotte nous a permis de griller des chamallows généreusement préparé pour notre arrivée Le cadre est magnifique au sein et alentours de la propriété. Phil et son épouse nous ont offert le petit déjeuner que nous avons déguster aux premières lueurs du matin. Nous aimerions revenir pour un séjour plus long afin de profiter pleinement de ce havre de paix et de la gentillesse de ces hôtes.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Loved this place, has such a rustic charm, we only ... 11/10/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Confirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved this place, has such a rustic charm, we only stayed one night as an Anniversary treat but it was lovely.It is easy to get to the Peak District from the farm.
    It was lovely to have the Hut right near a duck pond and it was lovely to have farm animals wondering around and to be surrounded by them. It was lovely to watch the sun setting and rising, and lovely to hear the animals in the morning.
    There is plenty of seating and hammocks which add to the nice touches of the place.The owners were very friendly, thoughtful, and helpful when showing us around the farm, as to where things were etc.
    We were pleasanlty surprised by the kind gift of the hamper on arrival at the hut, which again was a nice touch.
    The Shepards hut is beautifully decorated, cosy and clean. The little touches like marshmallows for toasting and having logs to put in the fire pit.
    This place is so relaxing and peaceful, and the owners have created a place that welcoming and relaxing. Would love to go back!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

We are glad that you found our place welcoming and relaxing, that is our aim. A haven where you can switch off from the rest of the world.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great glamping site with friendly hosts. 03/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jordy S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a fantastic time at high ashes haven. The shepherd's hut was cosy and very clean/well made. The bathroom is right next door and had just as much character as the room. We had the area all to ourselves so it was really peaceful.

    There are lots of good locations within a 30 mins drive and we were able to pack out our days with lots of different activities. If you are willing to drive ~1 hour you'd be able to see the northern Peak District locations (e.g. Kinder Scout is a 50 minute drive away).

    The nearest place to eat is Matlock but we were more than happy bbqing and using the wood burning pizza oven on the farm.

    The best part of our trip were the hosts Phil & Ness. They were always looking to help us in whatever way possible and are extremely kind and positive people.

    My girlfriend and I went to High Ashes Haven due to the great reviews. They weren't wrong!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi ,
Thank you for your kind review . We are very lucky because there are lots of places to visits in this area.
Chatsworth House ,the location of Pride and Prejudice is just 15 minutes away.
We also have Three pubs that are close by in Ashover village. They are warm and cosy in the Autumn and Winter because the all have open log fires.
Looking forward to meeting you both again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Amazing! 20/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Hollie M. Confirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved everything about this place - it is an absolute gem. We only stayed one night as a birthday treat, but really didn't want to leave and will definitely be returning. The wonderful owners are so thoughtful and friendly. I was so moved by the thoughtfulness of the hamper on arrival at the hut, which even contained an unexpected birthday card and cake - it reduced me to tears and I have never been more touched in my life. The owners have worked really hard to make this place special. The Shepards hut is beautifully decorated, cosy and clean. The little touches like marshmallows for toasting were fab! The toilets and kitchen area are fab- so quirky and welcoming with all you could need for amazing experience of outdoor cooking. Being able to wake up by the pond with the ducks and the hammocks is such a treat, and we all loved feeding the pigs and seeing the sheep and chickens. This place is my little peace of Heaven and the owners have created a place that is unique, welcoming and relaxing. Book it, you won't regret it. Lovely people, lovely place, lovely, lovely lovely! Cannot praise it enough!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing!

From the manager...

Hi Hollie,
Thank you for taking the time to give us this kind review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great Birthday.
Looking forward to meeting you all again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything about our stay was just perfect 🙂 The hut ... 01/08/2018

kashka_f Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about our stay was just perfect 🙂
    The hut was cozy, comfortable and well decorated. We were very touched by the welcome basket (filled with niceties) and bowl of strawberries on the little table on our arrival. We enjoyed some games provided in the hut on a rainy evening too. Alot of love and thought has gone into the whole set up here 💓
    The kitchen area was well provided with everything we needed, and even the bathroom was rustically and beautifully designed, well thought out and stocked with basic supplies.
    The surroundings here are so peaceful and beautiful; a real break in a nature rich area away from the normal clatter of life.
    We loved all the animals too, and we were especially lucky to be there to see a mother duck with her 14 ducklings.
    The owner greeted us and was so very accommodating and friendly, and very informative about the local area. He recommended areas of interest and we went for a long walk he suggested to a place where the views of 5 counties are incredible. We also had some lovely chats with his friend/worker who helps with the animals twice a day. These lovely people are so passionate about this rustic and beautiful place and we felt very welcome and comfortable here.
    We would definitely return again! Thank you 😁

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike.

From the manager...

Hi ,
Thank you for your very kind review. We are pleased that you chose our Shepherds hut for you break, away from the hustle of day to day life.
We all enjoyed meeting you.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

My 6 year old daughter and I had a fabulous ... 10/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jo G. Confirmed

  • Shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    My 6 year old daughter and I had a fabulous one night stay at High Ashes at the weekend. Everyone couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and the welcome basket was much appreciated, as was getting the wood burning fire going for our pizzas!

    It was so peaceful there and my daughter loved helping to collect the hens eggs, topping up the pigs water, and helping water the vegetable patch on the Sunday! She also made friends with the adorable farm dogs, River, Snowy, and doggie visitor Jack, and was very lucky to have an impromptu tractor ride on a beautifully restored 1950's tractor!

    The shepherds hut was lovely and beautifully done - the perfect space to relax and listen to the radio, or just to the sounds of the countryside!

    We had a relaxing evening pottering about and my daughter loved swinging in the hammock by the duck pond, toasting marshamallows over the fire pit and watching the owl fly off from a nearby tree at dusk!

    There is a good kitchen outside but under cover, which has a sink, fridge, cooker, microwave and toaster, well stocked with utensils and what you'll need for a night or two away, and the block with the toilet/sink/shower is nicely done and just behind the hut.

    We had a lovely time and we definitely hope to visit again soon!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Jo ,
We really enjoyed meeting the both of you. I am glad that you saw one of the owls who live near the pond. We have got three species who live on the farm ,including a barn owl,
Thank you for posting the great photos and kind comments.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent for couples or small families who are animal lovers 01/07/2018

ashley_f288742 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything. The small personal touches like the prosecco and strawberries, and drawing pad for our little girl, having a tour of the farm and information about the local area, getting to feed all of the animals with the volunteer who regularly comes to feed the animals, the hut itself was beautiful, animals all friendly, quiet and peaceful, down to earth and friendly hosts, just incredibly rustic and perfect for animal and countryside lovers. Even the bathroom is amazing with everything you need.

    Disliked: 

    Coming home!

From the manager...

Hi Ashley,
Thank you for the kind comments and photographs.
It was a pleasure to meet your family , We look forward to seeing you again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent little place for an adult night away! 24/06/2018

katie_s113850 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This place is amazing! It’s so quiet and peaceful, just what we needed! The owners were helpful and friendly. Loved the extra touches of treats in the hut and the marshmallows for roasting on the firepit! Definately will be booking again soon.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Hi Katie,
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to meeting you both again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Amazing place would highly recommend people to stay hosts do ... 04/06/2018

mikaelawilkes Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing place would highly recommend people to stay hosts do anything to help you and made the staye evan better would return

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Mikaela, We are really pleased that, you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. The ducks are missing you!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi