8.5

Overall rating based on 145 reviews

 

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

81% would stay here again.

 
  • 10 44%
  • 9 15%
  • 8 17%
  • 7 6%
  • 6 8%
  • 5 5%
  • 4 0%
  • 3 0%
  • 2 0%
  • 1 0%

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Great campsite and very dog friendly, excellent showers and toilets. 31/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom helen_o191538 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lots of space in bottom field to spread out and play games

    Disliked: 

    Children's play park was a bit tired but I understand they are building a new one

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

They have created a wonderful friendly and relaxed site..excellent! 31/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom lisa_p207134 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely, relaxed site with very helpful and friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    there was a smell of kerosine (heating oil) in the ladies toilet facilities

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Fantastic site with lovely staff, clean facilities and laid back feel 30/05/2017

katie_w315034 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the clean facilities, laid back atmosphere, choosing our own pitch, friendly staff in the shop and reception (offered great advice where we could go on a rainy day), not having to leave at a certain time meant we could have another day, great countryside area close to Bude. Was great to bring the pooch too, with day kennels available if needed. Loved the whole trip. Will definitely return

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

This is a lovely site with lovely surroundings nice size pitches 22/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Debra_W Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice site, Pretty location, not close to anything, dog friendly. 15/05/2017

jamie_y Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    So we decided to try Hedley wood for my wives birthday. We read the reviews, and saw that it was very dog friendly. We called before booking to make sure the bar was open during our stay, and was told specifically, that the bar would definitely be open after easter. As we were camping, this was essential, as May can be very hit and miss with the weather.

    As we arrived, the site looked lovely, the lady at reception seemed very friendly, and informed us that the shop may not be open at all times, but if there was anything we needed, just ask.

    We were also told we could choose our Pitch, which seemed nice. But i imagine could be problematic during the busy season. Sadly we chose a pitch which appeared to be shallow grass on hardcore, so getting the pegs in was tough. But it was our decision to pitch there.

    The toilets and shower blocks were very clean. However as many of the other reviews have mentioned, The toilets were way too high up on the walls. I'm 6ft and i was barely touching the floor when sitting, which was very uncomfortable. My wife is 5ft, and couldn;t even touch the floor. I get that its a bit job to lower them, but maybe put some blocks around the base as a step for those shorter than 7ft tall to use (or a friently reminder to remember to bring a yellow pages to the toilets with you). Additionally, again as many people have mentioned in previous reviews, the shower lights sensor duration is way too short. I'm luckily enough to be tall enough that if i went in to certain cubicles, i could wave to turn the lights back on. But my wife had to shower in the dark on many occasions, as she would have had to get out of the shower every minute or so to jump around on the wet floor to trigger the sensor again (a bit hazardous really).

    The site appeared to have decent facilities, but as they were pretty much all closed, i can;t really comment further that what i saw through windows.

    This site started as 5/5 from what we read about it, and would have probably been a 3.5 or 4/5 had we not been misinformed about the bar being open. Having somewhere warm to go on an evening was critical for us which is why we called to check before booking. We even decided to leave a day early as we were fed of of spending the night freezing.

    Disliked: 

    I have briefed some of my dislikes in the section above.

    The key thing that ruined the holiday for us was the fact we were told before booking that the bar would be open during our stay. We wouldn;t have booked the site if we had known it wasn't. We mentioned this in reception when we popped in near the end of our holiday and was informed that her staff would "never have said that". But i can assure you they did.

    As the site is literally in the middle of no where, to the point that the nearest shop was about 1.5 miles away, and the nearest pub a lot further. We were stuck on my wifes birthday drinking in the tent where it was cold and windy (the weather is not the sites fault) but we knew it may be like that which is why we made sure the bar would be open so we would have somewhere to go if required. They really should put the official opening times/dates on their website and pitchup, So that the miscommunication cannot happen again. If we had known, we would have picked a site that was a short walk from a pub or town instead.

    In relation to the above, the site says it has some nice dog walks, which it does. But don;t misinerpret this as you can actually walk anywhere. Its a circular walk that does not lead anywhere than back to where you started. You can't walk to the beach or a town (unless you are happy to walk through the lanes where cars are doing near 60mph through almost single track lanes. We also found in many areas that there were huge dumpings of cut grass, which stank. And even old gallon bottles of deinonised water and other waste dotted around the edges of the park/walks. Hopefully these were empty, but i wouldn;t let my dogs go anywhere near them to find out.

    There is also a huge wasteland attached to the park. It didn;t bother us, and we actually decided to pitch right next to it. But there were no signs to say that it was no entry. I was tempted to take my 4x4 down there for some fun. But i fear that kids would want to explore the area, and i couldn;t tell how safe it was. But it seemed to be a dumping ground for a lot of the sites waste. Maybe it should have a sign up informing that the area was not open to the public if that was the case.

    The site has a quiet time rule between 11pm and 7am. Which is nice, But you don't expect to find at 8am, there is a tractor playing tetris with the caravans in storage. I understand they have to move them around for people arriving on the weekend. But could this not happen until a little later in the day? tractors arent known for being quiet, and on holiday, you don;t want to wake up to what sounds like a building site. Additionally, I have no idea where it came from, but suspect it may have been the pump or boiler for the showers, but i regularly heard what sounded like a diesel generator running which was a slightly annoying drone at varying times of the day and night.

    Again, this one is of no fault of the site. But there appears to be a sheep farm nearby, and oh my days, they sounded like they were being tortured (search "screaming goat" for a similar noise). Its not the sites fault, but it did get annoying sometimes, as it never really stopped.

    The site has "informal dog kennels". I would never put my dogs in those old chicken wire sheds. It looked like something from lady and the tramp. However there are a few "formal" kennels close by if you wanted your dogs to be kenneled somewhere nice.

    Finally, I think the site was overpriced for what we got. It was mid season prices, But all we got was a pitch and electric hookup. it certainly was not worth the money. Had the bar been open, it may have reflected the price a bit better.

    It may seem like i'm being a bit harsh, but we feel we have wasted a holiday, and couldn;t relax at all.

    PLEASe PUT THE BAR OPENING HOURS ON YOUR SITE!

    Apparently it opens after Whitson week for anyone interested.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we do apprecaite your comments.
We are extrememly sorry that on this occasion, a misinterpretation of Bar opening hours clearly clouded your view of our park. We do mention in our listing that the bar is open in high season and sadly due to being very quiet at this time of year it is just not feasible to open it when the park is very quiet. We do offer information in our reception to all our guests details of local places to eat and drink. They are in short driving distance but we are a slightly rural park which is clearly mentioned within our listing when booking.

Our location offers a peaceful country feel with easy access to Bude and Widemouth Bay with all their facilities within 5-6 miles, we clearly state on Pitch up where are location is for guests to make a decision on that before booking. Sadly on this occasion, the guest did not appear to see where on the map we were positioned. Had this been a problem on arrival, we would have happily discussed other options with the guest. There are clear main routes into Bude, Devon and Cornwall roads are a little laney in places but this is not the case from our park to Bude or Widemouth Bay unless you wish to use the shortcut and are happy with Cornwalls roads. Sadly we cannot control outside traffic on nearby roads.

We currently have some undeveloped land on site that will be landscaped in the future but this does not impact on our beautiful touring meadows. It is safe and will shortly be cordoned off until further work si planned out of season to create futhrer areas to the park.

We love to offer all our guests the choice of where to pitch, this has never been a problem throughout the whole of the year and is pretty unique (we think) for most parks.
Te only facility on park that was closed was the bar/restaurant, we open for the late Spring Bank holiday throughout the week and after that weekends plus an occational weekday night until it opens every night from the 15th July to early September.
Our conservatory attached to the bar offers a seated place to go during the evenings and has a Wifi hotspot for campers to access. This is open 24 hours and not dependent on bar opening hours.

We beleive we are a competively priced park for the area and we are also extremely proud that we do not charge for dogs at all which can often add further charges to guests holiday bills.

We hope that future guests who are thinking of booking with us will give us consideration and take into account all our reviews before making a judgement. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

We love it! 10/05/2017

traceyphillips Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We have been to hedley wood several times now, we like it so much we have bought a van to keep there. We had a good pitch by the play area which was great for my son, we also take our dogs and there are good dog walks, yes the WiFi isn't great but we don't go on holiday to watch TV or sit on the internet. Never had any problems with the toilets or showers. The club and shop are good, the downstairs kids room is a little tired, however I did see some children in there unsupervised being very disrespectful to the equipment etc, not really the staffs job to control unruly children. Bude is not that far away, Widemouth bay is even closer and my dogs love going there. All in all we love it there! Oh and the staff are very helpful, especially Maria ☺

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches 09/05/2017

andrew_d45 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice welcome received upon arriving at reception. The campsite was very clean.
    We had plenty of room to pitch our tent.
    Bar restaurant on site was very good.
    Plenty of areas to walk our dogs.
    The site was central to a lot of attractions
    Would recommend this site to anyone.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site 19/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom gill_g334998 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very dog friendly site. Shower and toilet facilities were excellent. Food served at the bar was very good and value for money.
    Very relaxed atmosphere being able to chose our own pitch and arrive and leave at our own convenience with no arrival or departure time restrictions

    Disliked: 

    No dislikes

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Been there before.. staff are friendly as ever 18/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom lorraine_c305475 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Been there before.. staff are friendly as ever

    Disliked: 

    None

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

My boxer loved it 13/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom iain_l207497 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The shower facilities are very clean and warm

    Disliked: 

    A bit of a stupid comment but the actual distance to the nearest town.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)