8.5

Overall rating based on 100 reviews

 

84% would recommend this site to a friend.

79% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Everything, the site was clean, staff were friendly, they have ... 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom kirstyjenkinson Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, the site was clean, staff were friendly, they have a well stocked shop selling essentials you may have forgotten and even camping equipment. We didn't see our 10 year old for hours due to the park and games room, there was always something for him to do and plenty of other kids for him to play with. They also have a bar and everything was very reasonably priced.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good green site with level pitches. friendly staff 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Matthew B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Green attractive site. The site allow you to choose your own pitch from a variety of areas. Plenty of space for tents and car parking. Good clean toilet facilities. Staff all helpful and friendly. Useful shop and reception well stocked with leaflets and second hand books. Woodman bar food good especially the carvery.

    Disliked: 

    Muddy! We arrived after a wet few weeks and the site was fairly waterlogged. We appreciate it isn't the sites ability to control the weather. Shower quality intermittent, not very hot or powerful but varied according to time of day.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Food was good with good choice 26/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Steve S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Food was good with good choice

    Disliked: 

    Muddy
    Disorganised left you to pitch got stuck in mud no wear to pitch side awning in grass and hard standing for camper

    Dog kennel
    My 12 year old refused to let the dogs go anywhere near them
    Dark and grim,no outside run
    The dogs drinking 5 bowls of water as soon as we picked them up

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Sadly we have experienced a very wet summer here in Devon and Cornwall not allowing pitches to dry out as we would have liked which is beyond our control I'm afraid.

We know that the majority of our visitors enjoy the opportunity to choose their own pitch on arrival and comment positively on this. We understand some guests find this more difficult but we tell all guests on arrival that if they have any problems at all then we are always on hand to walk with them to find a suitable spot. We have varied pitches on site.

Our dog kennelling is informal and we check on dogs but do not exercise them, the cost is £4.00 and they are sheltered without runs to allow the dogs to stay within the shade during warmer weather. Full day kennels can be found at Breezalyn Kennels (less than a mile away) should you wish your dog to be exercised and given far more attention and freedom. This is purely a guests choice.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Remote location would suit some. Excellent staff. 25/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom john s. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Helpfull and friendly staff.
    Excellent shop.
    Good woodland walk for dogs.
    Bingo (they even let underage children play for cash prizes).
    Dog washing facilities (but cold water only).

    Disliked: 

    No tv signal and no phone signal (o2, 3 and tesco), but you can hire a freesat system from the shop.
    Shower block downright dangerous (I slipped in the shower and my wife saw a young lady slip and fall quite badly). The one and only disabled facility, which the whole campsite had to use when the water was cut off, was filthy.
    Site drainage absolutely dire, everything we own needs pressure washing and the caravan steps kept collapsing in the mire.
    Not a lot for children to do, only one playpark (not two as advertised) with a climbing frame and a toddler swing. With nothing better to do most children on the site spent thier time running around shouting and tripping over guy lines and satellite cables.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry if our park did not offer you everything you needed. We would like to say that the weather this season has been a really poor July and August for us and the rest of Devon and Cornwall. The site drainage is fine bit with the torrential downpours the ground just cannot take any further water with no good weather to dry it up. Sadly this has not been a normal summer!
We are sorry to hear that you slipped; we would have welcomed you letting us know about this whilst on park to aid us to be aware of any issues that we may be able to help with.
We do plan to put in a further disabled facility in the near future, we have found the current unit sufficient to date but we will certainly review this. We pride ourselves on our clean facilities and can only apologise if on the occasion you used them they were not up to scratch.

We have recently installed a new play park on park; we have an improved games room with pool, table tennis, table football, motorbike game, air hockey available and a mile long dog and nature trail on park.

We do highlight in our listing that TV reception is poor and intermittent and we advise guests to use Freesat equipment if they absolutely need to have TV whilst on holiday.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site with friendly and helpful staff. Clean facilities and v 25/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sherree r. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly staff. Lovely and clean. Very good for dogs with plenty of walks and space.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The staff were very friendly the food was very good ... 23/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Malcolm H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were very friendly the food was very good plenty to keep the kids happy

    Disliked: 

    The mud looks like we had been to Glastonbury no waste water facilities at the bottom site wifi only in the bar

From the manager...

Thank you for your review,
Sadly Mother Nature has not been kind to us this summer season with intermittent rain constantly hitting us every couple of days not allowing pitches to dry out as we would have liked for our campers. We continue to do everything within our power to ensure guests are having a good stay. British weather, what can we say!

We have a Wifi hotspot in the conservatory and bar area of park, we do not have access to high quality broadband networks in our rural area unfortunately, we continue to campaign local government for improvements by providers.

There are waste water facilities available at all tap points, sorry if you did not realise this, please do ask us if you have any difficulty finding something you need.

Thank you.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Really lovely people - nothing too much trouble and dogs loved it! 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Helen S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Helpful staff and great for dogs.

    Disliked: 

    Shower cold in morning and non existent tv reception and very limited wifi access - only near bar.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we do recommend in our listing that Freesat TV is the best for our park as TV signal is very intermittent and unlikely in most areas.

Thank you

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

All facilities were good- doggy shower is an excellent idea. ... 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Marion G. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    All facilities were good- doggy shower is an excellent idea.
    Staff very friendly
    Food good value
    Dog friendly all round
    Well stocked shop

    Disliked: 

    Laundry a little expensive.
    Pitch size a little tight.
    Out of sites control but WiFi and phone signal poor.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Friendly staff, large pitches, clean facilities, very dog friendly 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mark P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff, large pitches, clean facilities, very dog friendly

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

facilities were good and clean every day 21/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom kathryn g. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Was fine but the weather was not that good and the pitch was soggy but its not the sites fault that the site was wet

    Disliked: 

    Just was to wet

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, we are sorry the weather has not been kinder to us this year, July and August have not been as we would have liked here in Devon and Cornwall hence the ground not drying out!

We hope you will pop back on another occasion and see us when we have some glorious sunshine xx

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi