8.5

Overall rating based on 200 reviews

 

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

80% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Very friendly, dogs welcome, children enjoyed there stay 31/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sharon s. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly, dogs welcome, children enjoyed there stay

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Hedley Wood was OK but not for more than a couple of days. 30/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Matthew N. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly and helpful folk working at Hedley Wood who couldn't have been more helpful.

    Disliked: 

    Food not great and the toilet and showers blocks weren't the cleanest we've ever used.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The staff were really friendly and we're always busy keeping ... 29/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Maggie H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were really friendly and we're always busy keeping the site tidy. Had a lovely Carvery on the Sunday.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review, we are really glad you enjoyed your meal and your stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff and level pitches 29/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom James Y. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Can't fault the staff, they were very friendly, the camp site itself was very clean, the toilets were kept clean and tidy, this itself was a task with the amount of people here, so well done!
    Pet friendly, there was a woodland walk (which we never went) but I can imagine it was great for the dogs, good location, good price on food and drinks.
    If you are a star gazer, no light pollution, fantastic!
    As our children have all grown up, it was nice to have a quiet spot right on top a small hill, even though the lower levels of the park had the playgrounds were the kids can play.
    The views were great and having a cuppa just melted into the scenery.
    Thank you.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Facilities Play area Level pitches 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nicola C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities
    Play area
    Level pitches

    Disliked: 

    Mud - site is full of it

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great site don't forget your wellies! 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nicola C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Toilets/showers clean
    Optional use of onsite pub open 6:30pm - 11:00pm

    Disliked: 

    Mud - appeared to be boggy whatever the weather.

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind review.
Sadly July and August this year has been one of our wettest with incredibly wet weather meaning it has not been as good as it should!
Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great campsite staff were very friendly and helpful, good clean ... 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Debbie P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great campsite staff were very friendly and helpful, good clean toilets and shower room, great for the dog.

    Disliked: 

    We were down on the bottom field and it was a long way to the toilet block, would be great to have another block in the bottom field.

From the manager...

Thanks so much for your review, we will certainly bear your suggestion in mind when planning for the future.

Hope to see you again x

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Everything, the site was clean, staff were friendly, they have ... 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom kirstyjenkinson Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, the site was clean, staff were friendly, they have a well stocked shop selling essentials you may have forgotten and even camping equipment. We didn't see our 10 year old for hours due to the park and games room, there was always something for him to do and plenty of other kids for him to play with. They also have a bar and everything was very reasonably priced.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good green site with level pitches. friendly staff 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Matthew B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch (large)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Green attractive site. The site allow you to choose your own pitch from a variety of areas. Plenty of space for tents and car parking. Good clean toilet facilities. Staff all helpful and friendly. Useful shop and reception well stocked with leaflets and second hand books. Woodman bar food good especially the carvery.

    Disliked: 

    Muddy! We arrived after a wet few weeks and the site was fairly waterlogged. We appreciate it isn't the sites ability to control the weather. Shower quality intermittent, not very hot or powerful but varied according to time of day.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Food was good with good choice 26/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Steve S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Food was good with good choice

    Disliked: 

    Muddy
    Disorganised left you to pitch got stuck in mud no wear to pitch side awning in grass and hard standing for camper

    Dog kennel
    My 12 year old refused to let the dogs go anywhere near them
    Dark and grim,no outside run
    The dogs drinking 5 bowls of water as soon as we picked them up

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Sadly we have experienced a very wet summer here in Devon and Cornwall not allowing pitches to dry out as we would have liked which is beyond our control I'm afraid.

We know that the majority of our visitors enjoy the opportunity to choose their own pitch on arrival and comment positively on this. We understand some guests find this more difficult but we tell all guests on arrival that if they have any problems at all then we are always on hand to walk with them to find a suitable spot. We have varied pitches on site.

Our dog kennelling is informal and we check on dogs but do not exercise them, the cost is £4.00 and they are sheltered without runs to allow the dogs to stay within the shade during warmer weather. Full day kennels can be found at Breezalyn Kennels (less than a mile away) should you wish your dog to be exercised and given far more attention and freedom. This is purely a guests choice.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)