9.4

Overall rating based on 156 reviews

 

94% would recommend this site to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

  85% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Picturesque setting, facilities entirely as advertised and very helpful staff. …23/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlex T.Confirmed

  • Hazel Brow Farm non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Picturesque setting, facilities entirely as advertised and very helpful staff. Toilet blocks were very clean throughout our stay. Fire pits were a very good idea and really added to the experience.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

We're pleased you enjoyed the experience and hope to welcome you back to stay next year!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Excellent small campsite adequate facilities in beautiful countryside21/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Hazel Brow Field non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This was our first trip in a motorhome so haven't anything to compare it with. However, this is a very nice, quiet site in a fantastic location surrounded by beautiful countryside and close to the river. We knew there were only limited facilities but they were better than we expected. A great dark sky location for astrophotography.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

How did the Astrophotography go? We've some amazing dark skies and would love to see some photos!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

We loved it here, clean friendly, quiet and lovely level field with am21/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNicola H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Hazel Brow Field non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Gorgeous site, lovely views, short walk to river. Very peaceful. Very helpful and friendly owners, pub just up the hill.

    Disliked: 

    The hard sanding pitches are less attractive, stay in the field if possible

From the manager...

So pleased you enjoyed the views from the field site, we hope to be able to offer it next year. The hard standing pitches are due to be landscaped so see what you think next year!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Excellent facilities, level pitches with serene views and zero noise20/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Hazel Brow Field non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Brilliant place to pitch and tent and walk the Yorkshire dales.
    The campsite is well equipped with all the basics, and offers a very quiet place away from society, where the only noise heard is that of the adventurous sheep in the fields beyond the camp site.
    A well enjoyed feature of hazel brow farm is its private footpaths, along side the stream, taking you to near Gunnerside, that offers 2 cafes and a quaint Yorkshire pub, offering a warm welcome and wifi, if you feel the need to catch up on city life.
    Hazel Brow Farm really is a great affordable campsite, with few pitches and zero unwanted interruptions, as you escape to the beautiful serenity of the dales.
    I would definitely recommend!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for a lovely review :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

We had a brilliant one night stay at Hazel Brow. …18/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Hazel Brow Farm non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a brilliant one night stay at Hazel Brow. The campsite is set in the most beautiful location, a lovely peaceful site with spacious pitches. The campsite owner and manager were both lovely and friendly and the toilet facilities were very clean. Our boys had a lovely time running free range and watching the tractors, perfect for a weekend away from screens and wifi! We would definitely come and stay again. Visit the Kings Head at Grinton for a fab meal too.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

So pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again in 2022!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Position to river and walks17/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Hazel Brow Farm non-electric gravel motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Position to river and walks

    Disliked: 

    Access for toilets washing up area needs a rethink if possible

From the manager...

We do have some great walks. The washing up area is due to be redesigned this winter (if all goes according to plan) :-)

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great venue for a holiday17/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Hazel Brow Field non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Openness of site; friendliness; facilities

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you, we try our best :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Basic farm site; fine but would benefit from some improvements16/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEdward J.Confirmed

  • Hazel Brow Field non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Low cost Farm site in a great location in Swaledale; walking distance to pub in Feetham and also Gunnerside along the river. Plenty of walking or cycling options from site. Quiet at night. Briefly met manager on arrival to be directed to pitch area.

    Disliked: 

    Toilets clean, but dated and but two had nigh on impossible to lock doors; also had hand towel that was wringing wet. Pot wash area in disused tea room would be massive improved by tidying up and clearing out the junk. Needs better signage.

From the manager...

Thanks for reviewing us, it's useful to know that you had difficulty closing the loo doors, sorry we didn't realise before you left. We have written a message on the doors - lift and pull ! Both close quite snugly but the bolts slide really easily.

We do asume that guests will bring their own personal towels, especially in such difficult times but we will endeavour to make sure none are left.

Just a note to future would be campers:- the "pot wash area" is inside the Visitor Centre which is used for educational visits. Sorry this is not a dedicated campers area. We we have made an information wall to help you find everything you need, including our contact details and where to find us if we don't happen to catch you or you didn't recieve our 'Welcome message'. The wifi code can be found here too :-)

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Brilliant facilities, clean, well spaced and level.16/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlex B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Hazel Brow Field non-electric grass tent or motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved everything about it. Me and my sister used to come to the farm as kids so it was great memories being back. I love the area and the surroundings. Views are beautiful and relaxing.

    Disliked: 

    N/a

From the manager...

Ohhh - I'm sorry I missed you! Lovely to know you still have those great memories - do you remember Basil the Bull and the milk cows or am I going back too far!!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice view. It was nice to stay at a campsite …16/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKatie G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Hazel Brow Farm non-electric gravel motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice view. It was nice to stay at a campsite which didn’t squash lots of extra people in

    Disliked: 

    There were 3 gates between the field for tents and the toilets, 2 of which were large metal ones. Every time someone went to the toilet the gates clanged really noisily which was frustrating, especially at night when it kept waking us up. These were needed because of the sheep in the one field so clearly had to be closed but I am sure that a quieter solution could be put in place

From the manager...

I am really sorry you found the gates disturbing at night - it's usually the sheep bleating, calves mooing or owls hooting! We will do our best to find quieter fastenings. Thanks for letting us know.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi