9.2

Overall rating based on 73 reviews

 

89% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

  98% described as Forest ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Nice site with great views and local walking trails.14/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHelen K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The bell tent we booked was brilliant, took away the stress of putting up a tent and it was lovely inside. The site itself is lovely, great views from where we were staying and big spaces for the children to play. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots of lovely walking trails in the surrounding area, we were given a map/leaflet on arrival. The cafe was also a nice bonus too.

    Disliked: 

    The midges were unbareable, not much to be done about that though, we should have packed repellent.
    The toilets, while relatively clean, they didn't smell great and were a fair walk from where we were pitched.
    There was also some music going on nearby, wouldn't have minded normally but it went on past 11pm, when you have a young child that's hard work.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

The campsite was excellent, very friendly staff and beautiful campfire13/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRae S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campfire, the atmosphere and the staff

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Amazing site in a unique area, friendly and relaxed. Highly recommend12/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRachel L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The relaxed feeling the camp had lots of space to yourself around the pitch. Loved the forest walks and the stage area was beautiful. Toilets and showers were clean, washing up area and water tap were in central points. Staff were friendly and helpful invited us down to a communal fire the kids had a great time toasting marshmallows and made new friends. Absolutely one of the best places I’ve been and the best value for money. We had a bell tent that was spacious and spotless.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Really good experience, lovely walks, we're shown to our bell tent etc09/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The atmosphere, there was a small festival going on and it was really good set up in the woods. Also had prepared for the weather and made shelters, the beer truck and food truck were nice added bonuses!

    Disliked: 

    Just that the cafe opened at 10am.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great location to disconnect from the outside world and simply be!08/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomFlorence N.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly owners, thank you both!!!
    Amazing location with so many walks to choose from, which you can start/catch right from the campsite. Although we did take the car a couple of times to explore the coast, this is a location where you can most definitely leave the car for the week and enjoy the forest on foot.
    Cafe on site, which I used on the day we left, for a well-earned coffee after packing everything away. Really friendly staff and a lot of choice!
    The entire site felt very safe and both my children loved the opportunity to independently explore the grounds. They both spent hours investigating local frogs and rabbits.
    There were a couple of festivals on either ends of our stay, which made for great atmosphere. We loved the fiddles on the first weekend and were amazed by the creativity of the bands during the second weekend. What a fabulous opportunity to meet local artists, new sounds and open-minded people, thanks to the generosity of the campsite owners (my eldest is still wearing her wrist band!)
    Showers were really warm!

    Disliked: 

    Having to leave!

From the manager...

Thank-you for such a considerate review Florence, so pleased you and your family enjoyed your time with us.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Friendly06/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStacey F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Onsite shop, friendly staff, live music at weekends05/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSamantha M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We booked last minute to get away for a couple of days as we should of gone abroad. We were a little worried when we realised there was no signal or internet as we have an 11 year old whos life evolves around technology but we needn't of worried!! We took our mountain bikes and my son spent everyday going up and down tracks and riding round the site on his bike, he spent everyday chatting to people and making friends, not once did he say he was bored!!
    The onsite facilities were basic and i would advise to take some insect repellent but this just added to the outdoor experience. We as a family lead a very busy lifestyle and this little get away, gave us the chance to loose track of time, relax and forget about the everyday stress. I would highly recommend, the owners were lovely and helpful. Really hope this site is available again next year...happy camping!!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks Samantha. It was lovely to meet you and it was great having Lucas contribute to the girls' album recording on the forest stage !

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely pop up site. Hope it begins permanent!04/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomWillow W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Mountain biking, scenery, playground, cafe, burger van, real ale, friendly staff.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks Willow, hope to see you again next year!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Definitely book again03/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRobert C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The whole experience.
    Great site with lots of walks next to the forest. Added extra a bar and a food van selling burgers to curry’s. Very helpful staffing team.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thanks Robert, hope to see you again

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Fantastic site with toilets showers and bar, and a stage in the forest02/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSteven C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Booked on for 3 nights with our friends and children 19 in total, took our own tents. Camp site had a big open field with a hot showers block bell tents, yurts and a cafe with cooked food and Wallings ice cream, on site bar and there was an event on with bands playing in different locations on the site. Loved going into the forest at night with all the lights on and a stage with sculptures of birds and insects. The kids loved and we all loved it. Definitely going to book again.

    Disliked: 

    Yes there are midges but use a spray, i got biten but i always do, this didnt stop us all from having a good time.

From the manager...

Thanks for visiting Steven and pleased you all had a great time :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)