9.2

Overall rating based on 73 reviews

 

89% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

  98% described as Forest ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Excellent site, friendly staff27/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnil P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I loved the place.. this was our first time to do wild camping. And we loved it. The place absolutely amazing, surrounded by nature. Lovey walks and cycle tracks. Staff is very friendly. Thx to Dav and Matt.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful location, friendly and welcoming, quiet, plenty of space, clean …27/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRoyston R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location, friendly and welcoming, quiet, plenty of space, clean and tidy

    Disliked: 

    Nothing!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Awful - dirty facilities and unsafe accommodation27/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomOlivia G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Cumulonimbus yurt
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The weather 🤷‍♀️

    Brocklehead Farm in Darwen who came to our rescue to get us away from this site!!

    Disliked: 

    Everything about the “pop up site”. We paid £300 for a Cumulonimbus yurt for 3 nights and left immediately after the first night - it was truly awful. We were absolutely fine with the fact there was no signal let alone internet and it was very quiet and secluded. However, The yurt was swarming with ants, bugs and all sorts of insects. This was due to the ground not being fully covered and a broken door which the owners admitted and failed to repair when we asked, presumably as this weekend is the last of their 56 day licence which they bragged “anyone can get” so they simply couldn’t be bothered. The two “single beds” were blow up beds on the grass again covered with bugs. The two teenagers slept in the car and we stayed in the double bed for a few hours and couldn’t stand the damp any longer as we both woke up with really bad chests. The portaloos and porta-showers were so dirty and clearly hadn’t ever been cleaned. I’m sorry but there is absolutely no excuses for these shocking facilities, the biggest insult was the owners sat drinking right next to these filthy toilets who couldn’t care less and are quite happy taking peoples money. We so wish we’d have read the reviews before we booked, I only hope forestry England doesn’t grant these people another licence so other families are disappointed and robbed! Unfortunately this website will not allow me to upload the pictures but I will be posting on google and trip advisor

From the manager...

We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us and would have liked the opportunity to chat to you and rectify anything you were unhappy with whilst on site.

As a pop-up campsite, we are using a hired-in luxury toilet block and shower facilities, these are cleaned daily by our on site team. Unfortunately with wet weather the door on the cumulonimbus yurt did swell due to it being made out of wood, this caused a brief issue with locking until it dried out. The beautiful and secluded location of our site means there is no wifi facilities or signal, camping itself is positioned on a protected meadow in the heart of Gisburn Forest (with its natural inhabitants), we do understand that this may not be to everyone's tastes.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Friendly and relaxed site in beautiful setting26/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJane H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were all really friendly and helpful, good facilities on site, beautiful views and amazing forest, great for walking and cycling, good music round the campfire, very relaxed atmosphere, off grid

    Disliked: 

    Was toally off grid with no mobile reception or Wi-Fi. Not an issue really but i would have downloaded a map before/brought a map with me if I'd realised

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful location, with lots to explore. Everyone was extremely helpful …26/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKatie C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location, with lots to explore. Everyone was extremely helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Brilliant would recommend n love too stay again25/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomReuben D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Brilliant tent location and lovely people

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent location friendly staff definitely recommend to friends25/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMike B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Cirrus yurt
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Remote location ultra friendly staff who cared for the environment and your stay. Loved the fact there were get togethers on an evening around the fire whilst listening to the guitar.

    Disliked: 

    Bike hire was online only with 48 hours notice required

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great staff all helpful. Beautiful setting facilities could be better24/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKendra M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Scenery, staff were awesome and friendly and so helpful. Peaceful and beautiful place to spend time. Loved the events being on as well

    Disliked: 

    Not enough toilets could have more of those in the actual camping field would be better. Bigger showers would help.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The forest was huge so there was plenty to explore. …23/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The forest was huge so there was plenty to explore. I did some walks down to the church but would have loved to spend a day round the reservoir.

    The campsite was big enough to spread out.

    It was pretty quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

    You could pull your car up next to your tent.

    Disliked: 

    The facilities were posh portaloos and showers. They did the job but the toilets were a bit smelly, the tap wasnt working in the womens, it hadnt been cleaned much and there was no sanitiser anywhere. The showers again did the job but were not the cleanest so it was ok for a few days but I was happy to move on when I did.

    There was also no wifi and though im happy having internet free time there was 0% of any kind just to let my partner know id arrived etc.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Really great site for a remote get a way22/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The welcoming feel of the place, people were so friendly, tent was excellent. For a forest glade the facilities were great! Bar and food van a nice bonus! On previous reviews people had said the toilets were smelly etc - we found them to be really great. You’ve got to remember this is a pop up campsite so you can’t expect full on toilet block! The porta-loos were the posh ones you get at nice festivals and we even managed a warm shower. The staff are so friendly and asked several times if they could get us anything or if we were ok. There was a folk festival on when we were there and it was lovely to wander down to the glade and listen to the playing. Really lovely setting. Bonus that there is no signal at all so everyone was off their devices having great family time.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing really.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)