9

Overall rating based on 234 reviews

 

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

87% would stay here again.

  76% described as Spectacular scenery ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Great location, very accommodating host, gorgeous view, clean compost toilet …15/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Rise 1 non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location, very accommodating host, gorgeous view, clean compost toilet and bathroom.

    Disliked: 

    Not quite sure why we cant drink the water from the tap, suggest the owner to provide drinkable water fountain or get the licence to allow us drink the water safely.

    Also would be great if owner can provide general waste bin. The fact that there is no waste bin in the premise is quite disappointing (our mistake not reading the description carefully). However at the end of the trip we did think - couldve just done proper wild camping since the cost of oir tent pitch is quite unjustifiable given the minimum facilities.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The area was beautiful15/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRebecca B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The area was beautiful

    Disliked: 

    Very expensive for what we paid - £180 for 3 nights, no drinking water, you have to pay £1 every time you want to use an outdated shower, no bins and there was only 1 toilet for the whole site which didn’t even lock and moved significantly everytime you went in there.

    It states campfires allowed just need to be off the ground but when you get there you’re told it needs to a minimum of knee height off the ground and he really tries to discourage you from having a fire by telling you how they’ll absolutely end up having something catch fire that weekend!

    When we arrived the owner was quite off and rude about the fact there were 5 adults even though it stated that on the booking, he didn’t give us any details of where things were or what we could do just showed us where we could walk our dogs but told us if the dog living next door saw them off the lead he would attack our dogs and us.

    When we arrived back on our second day after hiking, we put the dogs on the leads tied up while we sorted ourselves out, this led to my dog barking maybe 5 times during the space of 20 minutes, as soon as I sat down he settled and went to sleep (he stayed asleep from about 6:30pm until we got up in the morning) yet about half hour after this happened the owner came over and argued with us about the fact he barked, he was very confrontational and rude. So yes dogs are welcome but they must be kept on the lead at all times or they risk getting attacked when out for a walk and they must never ever bark.

    I have to say it put a real dampener on our holiday and made us feel very unwelcome we ended up going to bed early and packing up first thing to go home a day early!

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Get pub close by for dinner, fantastic walks all around.14/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Calm Beautiful outlook

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Most beautiful site I’ve ever been too!12/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCharis S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The View non-electric hardstanding and grass tent or campervan pitch (secluded)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely stunning area, lovely accommodating owners. Real back to basic camp site but still felt lovely and well kept, compost toilet and a flush toilet, also a shower. Plenty of walks and pubs near by, shop a 5min drive away.

    Disliked: 

    No drinking water - but knew this and bought some with us, however would be great to have available.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Beautiful secluded site, easy access to clean facilities, v warm hosts08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Pond non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium, secluded)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pond site is a rarity in the UK: it is secluded from the rest of the campground amongst trees on an island-like formation with a wrap-around pond and small creek. It includes a fabulous fire pit, with a bag of dry wood and firestarters on sale for just £7. The shower is spacious with hot water, and the bathroom is clean with a lovely rustic feel. There's a socket in the washroom for charging a phone if needed, but the beauty of the place is just turning off the phone and enjoying the wild. The campsite is just opposite hiking trails with great views. Oh, and the loo-with-a-view is an experience not to be missed! Best of all, Jem & Caroline are wonderfully warm and helpful and clearly love what they do. It was a delight to stay, and we'll be back for sure.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

recommended to anyone needing a break in the Brecon Beacons08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoseph H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Church Field non-electric grass and earth tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The couple that run this site are very kind and open. You will be well looked after for your stay, of that I have no doubt.

    Compost toilet is a big bonus because you don’t have to walk far as a result, it even has an extractor fan!

    Shower was also available which runs of the lovely local spring water.

    Great time, very relaxing and healing space.

    It’s also located in a cracking and lesser known valley of the BBs. Just up the road is a valley with beautiful waterfalls, and we saw basically nobody else there.

    Disliked: 

    Firewood was available but seemed a little expensive.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

100% would recommend!08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Amazing location and very friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    could do with more bathroom facilities

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Large flat field08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Large flat field, dog walk, compost toilet, friendly owners

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful location. Good level meadow.08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDaniel W.Confirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location. Good level meadow.

    Disliked: 

    Value for money - £44 a night for a pitch for 2 adults and 2 children seemed a lot for a site with a single composting toilet without a locking door and no waste disposal facility.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Spectacular views all around08/08/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGabriela M.Confirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is a lovely camping with beautiful scenery all around. We very much enjoyed our stay and we will return to stay at the other pitches which are more secluded and a bit higher up (even better views). The owners are lovely and friendly. And loved the fact that it was right at the start of our walk up to the lakes. Oh, and there is no phone service in the area which we found it to be great as it helped us disconnect and just enjoy our stay and the nature around us.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)