9.1

Overall rating based on 71 reviews

 

89% would recommend this site to a friend.

89% would stay here again.

  80% described as Spectacular scenery ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Good site, clean facilities, welcoming staff and great views.07/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great 360 views from the site and within 5 min walk of the pub. Owners were very welcoming and gave us the choice of where to stay on the field we booked. We stayed on meadow field and on booking it says you have to park your car in another field which is not true as we could park right next to the tent. Good clean facilities and hand sanitiser at the water point and in the bathroom with anti bac spray available in the toilets aswell.

    Disliked: 

    Would of been nice to have bin available even if you had to pay a small fee to use them.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

I loved the site as soon as I saw the views and it only got better!06/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSian E.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass and gravel tent or campervan pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The views, the location, the friendly and super helpful service, the fire pit!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Second time here and even in the pouring rain fabulous.06/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSue G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass and gravel tent or campervan pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good size pitch well away from other campers. Fabulous views and lovely hosts.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Spacious site, clean facilities, welcoming hosts05/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHAYLEY D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Oak Tree 1 non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean facilities, COVID precautions on place
    Spacious pitches
    Views
    Welcoming hosts
    No WiFi
    Firepits provided
    2 pubs walking distance

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Perfect spot for 4x4 campers04/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJames P.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass and gravel tent or campervan pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The couple we dealt with when we checked in were super sweet and nice. They had a separate section for 4x4's up the top of a hill (you will want to drive in 4 wheel drive to get to it) which had a lovely flat spot to stop the rain running down to your camp. I don't think many 4x4's stay here, which meant we had the section to ourselves. It was basically a private wild camp spot. A little walk to the facilities, but otherwise spot on and I can't wait to return here.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

There was nothing too not like amazing views super friendly …04/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJake H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Rise 2 non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    There was nothing too not like amazing views super friendly owners and nothing was too much of an ask our starter motor failed on our van, he kindly pulled us out and even told us where to look and rang around to help us the facilities was clean and tidy

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

The location and hospitality was amazing!04/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRebecca J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Rise 1 non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location and hospitality was amazing!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Beautiful location, quiet campsite, helpful and friendly02/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Rise 1 non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location, quiet campsite, helpful and friendly

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

friendly host and a great campsite in a beautiful area02/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDylan M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful area and decent pitches

    Disliked: 

    portaloo

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

great location, no frills site01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fabulous location. Ecological ethos (this is a no frills site), good distancing between pitches and owner taking care to rotate pitches to preserve the integrity of the land (in very unseasonably wet weather)

    Disliked: 

    I am presuming the chemical portaloo (singular) is in response to COVID-19, but it really wasn't sufficient for the number of people staying on the site and was unbearably stinky. It was also very loudly emptied at 8.00am on the following morning. It's a shame, as the toilet really did put a dampener on the experience. This, and a single cold water tap are in fact the only facilities included in the pitch price of £50 for two adults and two children (eco principles mean you take responsibility to remove and recycle all your own waste). I am not sure we will return. It's a shame, as I do support the ethos of the site and have no problem with minimal approach but when the emphasis is on providing less, the quality matters more.

From the manager...

Thank you for your honest comments.
The two portaloos are serviced twice a week but unfortunately we have no control over what time this happens by the company providing the service. There was access for campers to use the flushing toilet and shower block up near the farmhouse and could drive or walk up.
This is our first year opening our field on Pitchup and a steep learning curve in all aspects, and striking the right balance. We do welcome any comments to help us plan and improve for the future.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)