9

Overall rating based on 184 reviews

 

87% would recommend this site to a friend.

86% would stay here again.

  76% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Nice site in superb location, would visit again if walking in the area20/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoel J.Confirmed

  • The View non-electric hardstanding and grass tent or campervan pitch (secluded)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    -Jeremy (the owner) is a very nice man
    -The shower was efficient, warm and clean
    -The compost toilet is an excellent feat of engineering
    -The view was fantastic
    -It's a superb location for walks up Black Mountain
    -Very spacious and secluded
    -Fairly level pitches (slightly sloped)

    Disliked: 

    -The local pubs are both rubbish (especially the beer they offer)
    -I would love a proper fire pit, especially for the larger pitches like the one we booked (The View). Maybe our expectations were unrealistic but based on some of the descriptions and pictures on the site, we were hoping for more than a reconditioned steel beer keg sat on a slab of concrete. It was a makeshift log burner rather than a fire pit. We had dreams of sitting round a big fire cooking sausages over the flames... although Jeremy did provide us with a second beer keg when asked and we made do.

From the manager...

Hi guys
Really sorry about firepit and pictures on of old ones still on Pitchup (totally forgot to change the photo, thanks for heads up). The original fire pits burnt out after a few uses and are not sustainable. We were given the beer barrels and in the name of recycling & upcycling turned them into firepits which you can bbq on too, grills available on request.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

One of the best campsites I’ve ever stayed at ever20/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCalum S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Pond non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium, secluded)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The beautiful location, mushroom island and the wonderful staff gem and Caroline

    Disliked: 

    Leaving

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Brilliant bare-basics campsite with incredible views & lovely owners18/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLiam F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Pond non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium, secluded)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    unique setting, views, delightful owners

    Disliked: 

    No drinking water, could do with more toilets and showers

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Level site under oak tree with views & compost toilet/throne!14/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Church Field non-electric grass and earth tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful, stunning views.

    Disliked: 

    Left our camping stove by accident, had no way of contacting them.

From the manager...

Hi
Our number/email on Pitch up booking receipt I believe

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely meadow with a gorgeous view11/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomBartek P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We stayed on a nice and tranquil meadow with a gorgeous view and a 5 minutes walk to a pub. There are also few other areas you can book within the same compound, including more secluded, cosy hideouts. There's a number of beautiful hikes you can start right there or have a short drive to the most popular ones like Pen y Fan / Corn Du and Four Waterfalls. Far enough from the road to be sheltered from the traffic noise. The pitches well level and despite heavy rain one night we weren't flooded.
    We were greeted by a very nice lady running this place who told us all the essential info and explained the secrets of using a compostable toilet ;) (regular toilet also available). The price was also very reasonable and most importantly you pay per a large pitch / person, rather than the tent, so it's also perfect for friends who not necessarily feel like squeezing into the same tent.

    Disliked: 

    I think both shower and a toilet could use few extra hooks you could hang your jacket / bag on.

From the manager...

Thanks for review

Comments on shower noted :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

alan_r_wood@hotmail.com07/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlan W.Confirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The only positive thing I can say is that it's a great location.

    Disliked: 

    Poor value for money. When compared with other campsites we have used on Pitchup this site is over priced. We won't be using this site again.

From the manager...

Thanks for your comments

But please please read description before booking.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Amasing plot, great views, owners were friendly and very kind. Would05/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRhodri J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The View non-electric hardstanding and grass tent or campervan pitch (secluded)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

I visited the campsite while walking Beacon's Way and arrived …01/10/2022

Reviewer's country: NetherlandsDaphne O.Confirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I visited the campsite while walking Beacon's Way and arrived in the pooring rain. Caroline was very friendly and offered me a cup of tea and, because of the bad weather, I was allowed to sleep in the caravan, which was way more comfortable than my tent :)

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

This is a lovely place to get away from city …14/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAdam C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • The Rise 2 non-electric grass and earth tent pitch (premium)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This is a lovely place to get away from city life for a spell, as there’s no phone reception and no Wi-Fi. It’s lush and green, and thoughtfully laid out. The owners are lovely, and happy to help out with whatever they can. If you’re into hiking this is a perfect spot with many trailheads nearby.
    And the “loo with a view” is bloody brilliant.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Meadow field had stunning panoramic views06/09/2022

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGemma R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Meadow Field non-electric grass and earth tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Meadow field had stunning panoramic views

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi