9.8

Overall rating based on 42 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

  94% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Peaceful and friendly campsite with good facilities07/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLouise S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Wee Bivvy non-electric grass tent pitch (two man)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Warm welcome from Anna and John and excellent directions provided. Simple but excellent facilities especially the campers kitchen for washing up and making a cuppa. We were allocated a bathroom block and there is plenty of cleaning materials to help with the Covid-19 requirements. We enjoyed our stay and would happily return and recommend!

    Disliked: 

    The changeable Scottish weather! Haha

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Let's hope Covid is a thing of the past and we see some more consistent weather :) The storm was a bit unusual for us and a shame we caught the back end of it, as generally we're protected by the Cairngorms and benefit from the warmth gulf stream. Safe travelling and thanks again! J&A

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Friendly helpful staff. Peaceful location but can be windy. It …06/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly helpful staff. Peaceful location but can be windy. It is a good location for exploring the area and acess to cycling on the Buchan and Formartine Way.
    Lots of access to soap, sanitiser and wipes.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, it's much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future! Cycling is popular in the area and we are on the Great North Sea Cycle route if you fancy cycling down through England across to France, Belgium, and back up through Denmark, Sweden, and across to Wick and back down again. You might need a long weekend for that! It's true in Autumn it can be windy, it can also be sunny, rainy, snowy, and red hot! On the tail end of the gulf stream and protected by the Cairngorms, Banff and Buchan has it's own whistful micro-climate.... Safe travels and see you again soon! J&A

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Quiet, friendly03/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet, friendly

    Disliked: 

    a bit remote

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review- it's always much appreciated that our visitors take the time and trouble to tell others about our caravan, motorhome, and camping park- really pleased you would also visit again, and you will be very welcome again if you do so! kind regards J&A

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean facilities, friendly welcome, lovely view to wake up to.01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJulie Y.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean facilities, friendly welcome, lovely view to wake up to.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Julie,
Thank you very much for your review- your right- the view is brilliant to wake up to! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your motor home got you home safely! The world's a big place and there's a lot to see, but if you're ever passing again in the future, you will be very welcome to stay with us. Safe travels!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Will definitely stay again.01/09/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAngela K.Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Anna and John! The friendliest hosts ever. Lovely site with good views and although not the most luxurious of facilities the hosts go above and beyond to make sure they are as good as can be. Brilliant dog walking, lots of space and very laid back.

    Disliked: 

    Bumpy track but small price to pay for a lovely site.

From the manager...

Thank you Angela for your kind review... we're suitable embarrassed :) We do our best to make everyone feel welcome and spending your valuable time here, make it as peaceful & relaxing as possible. It will be great to see you all again in the not too distant future. Safe travels in the meantime! J&A

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site for a peaceful break.31/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndrew B.Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful clean site, very clean toilets and showers.
    John was the most helpful person and couldn't do enough to make sure your stay was comfortable and relaxing, very knowledgeable for first timers.
    We will be booking again.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Andrew, thank you very much for your kind review! It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family and we're really pleased you enjoyed your time at Planet Balthangie. We look forward to welcoming you here again, sometime soon!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely basic site with very freindly helpfull hosts. Clean facilities30/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRik H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Chilled out with beautifull scenery

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review! Always most appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future. J&A

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Outstandingly beautiful site, lovely owners proper back too nature.29/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRyan B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This place is beautiful, lovely views, absolutely loved it here. We can't wait too go back, sad we have found it near the end of the season as didn't want too leave. Site is kept clean and tidy, toilet area whilst basic was kept well stocked and very clean. Little kitchen area is a very nice touch. The owners are lovely, contact details are available easily on the site, every question answered and so friendly. The area is remote, but supermarkets aren't that far away and there are well stocked near shops for emergency supplies. The site is surrounded with animals which the kids loved, and often the odd doe was spotted with babies traversing the fields. I'll say it again cause I can, we can not wait too go back.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Ryan, that's really fantastic that you enjoyed staying with us at Planet Balthangie and enjoyed the sights and sounds of the area. We'll look forward to you and the family visiting us again in the near future.
Thank you also for the very kind review of our wee site- it really is much appreciated! See you soon! J&A

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Had a good stay would like to visit there again28/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJeremy V.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pitch was clean the facilities well kept and always clean and tidy
    The host, John was always helpful and friendly

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Jeremy, thank you very much for your positive review of our site and we do hope you will be able to visit again in the future. It was a pleasure to meet you and the family and trust you also enjoyed the wider Banff & Buchan area with all it has to offer in way of scenery, attractions, and points of interest! All the best J&A.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Best small site we have visited.26/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlan S.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great location to explore rural Aberdeenshire.
    The owner/manager John in his orange superhero uniform couldn’t have been more helpful and informative. We had a selection of locations on site and John would provide an electrical hookup.
    Great views southwards across fields being harvested for their crops. Each pitch had plenty of space allowing lots of privacy.
    Facilities plentiful and good clean toilet and shower block.
    Can’t wait to go back.

    Disliked: 

    Having to leave and travel home in torrential rain.

From the manager...

Thank you Alan, your comprehensive & positive review is very much appreciated, as is your visit to stay with us at Planet Balthangie! We look forward to welcoming you both back again at some point in the near future.
P.S. 'Super-hero' John may possibly have just been Tangoed... :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi