9.8

Overall rating based on 47 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

  97% described as Walkers' paradise ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Beautiful spot, fabulous accommodation and tasty extras!12/07/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRichard D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The setting is sublime, ultimately that's the primary selling point. But then there's the fabulous host Maggie and the 'dog for hire' too (if you want, and let her, she'll sit on your lap - the dog, not Maggie that is). Not to mention the tasty breakfast, beautiful accommodation, the delicious flapjack left for us and the lovely clean facilities. Bang on a walkers/cyclist route but well off the beaten path, its a terrific mix. Second visit will not be our last.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site, private and homely01/03/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomColin H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, cozy Shepherds Hut, gorgeous breakfast, friendly hosts who couldn’t be more attentive and lovely scenery and dogs 😍

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Superb!01/02/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoanne B.Confirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic! Beautiful hut, very warm, secure and had lots of lovely touches. Despite booking last minute when I arrived Maggie had already lit the wood burner and there was enough wood and smokeless coal to keep it going all night. Comfortable bed complete with electric blanket. Was really nice to sit next to the wood burner with the stable door open and look at the view. Superb breakfast and Maggie provided ample even though I chose vegetarian. Another nice thing about this site is there is you are not sharing with other campers/glampers. Nice walks, and despite a short climb to get to the old railway track from there the walks were quite flat with lovely views.

    Microwave, mugs, dishes, cutlery, kettle, tea, coffee, milk, BBQ (which I didn't use) all provided. Close to the farmhouse where the toilet and shower is. Maggie was really helpful. Clean towels and beds made up. I definitely hope to come back when the days are a bit longer. It was such a relaxing spot.

    Loved the fact there was an optional discount for a solo traveller.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing! Just one comment there is space for 3, although it's a double bed with a built in single bunk bed immediately above it. It would be OK for two adults, or an adult and two smaller children, but personally I wouldn't want to stay there with 3 adults as the half of the double bed which is under the bunk bed and enclosed on 3 sides doesn't have enough height between the beds for anyone to avoid banging their head on the wooden base of the bunk every time they tried to sit up. I certainly wouldn't be comfortable sleeping in that part of the bed and I'm about 5' 3".

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very good, would stop again.08/01/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJames D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Maggie looked after us. Making sure we had everything we needed. Would have loved to have stopped a few extra days. We took a small fire pit with us and they gave us an unlimited amount of wood to burn which was good.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
Anonymous user

Stayed with my 6 year old son for one night …13/10/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Stayed with my 6 year old son for one night in the Shepherd’s Hut. Set overlooking the valley, on the edge of a working farm, it’s a great location if you’re hankering after a bit of peace and quiet in a rural and rustic location - which we were. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owner, Maggie, who was wonderful. What’s more, she is an amazing cook and as other have said, the breakfast was one of the best I’ve had, with locally sourced, quality produce. My son loved the Shepherd’s Hut and is already asking to go again.

    Thanks for a great stay.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

We had a lovely stay and loved the Shepherd's Hut27/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A very quaint Shepherd's hut. All you need to have a lovely cosy stay. Breakfast was lovely. Host very welcoming and helpful.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Peaceful farm location, comfy beds and lovely host19/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United StatesAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, breakfast, beds, wood stove

    Disliked: 

    Bathroom location

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

A really lovely stay in perfect location to get away from it all12/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful location, amazing views, star gazing at night, lovely shepherd's hut, great breakfast

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Loved it. Will go again. Great host, fab location, breakfast & cakes.03/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJacquie G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Welcome, comfort, breakfast, decor, birds singing, view, location, scenery, facilities.

    Disliked: 

    Having to leave!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Incredible views , very warm welcome , fantastic host19/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Rosedale Light shepherd's hut
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Incredible views , very warm welcome , fantastic host

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi