8.1

Overall rating based on 630 reviews

 

79% would recommend this site to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

  59% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

It over looked castle howard24/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid O.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It over looked castle howard

    Disliked: 

    On the first night our electric mountain bikes were stolen worth 2 and half
    Thousand pounds,there was no security as two people on the site heard a vehicle ar about 3 o ‘clock in the morning but on checking with the site manager there were no recorded vechicles recorded entering or leaving the site betiween 10.30 the last time the bikes were seen and about 8pm the next morning when we discovered the bikes missing.We are bitterly disappointed as you can imagine as on the gate there was a notice to say the site is supposed to be guarded by dogs between the hours of 11pm and 7am. Looking around afterwards it would appear there was no security at all. It has totally spoiled our stay in Yorkshire we had stayed on two Caravan Club sites with no problem. The bikes were covered with a sheet and the battery removed on one and chained together by the side of the camper van.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nothing like the photos there are absolutely no views24/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHelen S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The area

    Disliked: 

    The site has no views

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great site21/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomFranceska D.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet site; well-equipped. Robust social distancing procedure for shared areas (showers / toilets).

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Rosslyn was so friendly and helped a great deal.21/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLeslie B.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Rosslyn was very helpful indeed and changed the dates for us at such short notice as I had put in the wrong date also informed us that the Fish and Chip van would be at the site at 6.00 pm.

    I cannot comment on the facilities ie: shower and waste as did not use them.

    It was the Duke of Edinburgh awards so the site was full but really did not mind, it was nice to hear the teenagers enjoying themselves.

    Disliked: 

    Because there was only one EHU left we were put on ET14 and everyone passed our MH to go to the lakes, but really did not mind that too much.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
Anonymous user

Lovely site , helpful friendly staff, but too busy and noisy for us20/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The location by the lake. Pitches very spacious, shower block clean and tidy when we got there, a bit of a mess when we left the next morning

    Disliked: 

    Lack of peace and quiet. Party goers in the tent field until well after midnight

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely campsite very friendly staff when checked in could not …20/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJulie B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely campsite very friendly staff when checked in could not do enough for us , would definitely be back again .

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely site under trees and close to the lake on …19/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomalan b.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely site under trees and close to the lake on Castle Howard estate. Good clean facilities

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately Castle Howard was closed some idea of walking to the cafe and farm shop was not possible.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Too expensive for quality of facilities19/09/2021

louise_r108064Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    Not enough washing facilities for amount of caravans, motorhomes and tents on site. Especially as we were told we needed to use bands so only 4 people can enter.  Although on hanging my band I entered to find 4 people at the sinks, 2 in the showers and 1 in the filthy toilets! Complete waste of time.  I am only a size 10 but the showers were so small you couldn't turn thunder and the unhygienic curtain stuck to you.
    Constant gaggles of birds all day and from early morning, along with owls overnight and barking dogs each morning, also the pitch we were on backed right on to the road so ear plugs a must for this site.
    Constant noise from campers.
    Not really walking distance to any amenities unless you are into long hikes, defo not 15 mins as advertised.
    Dog walking area pointed out was just a big grassy area but dogs not even allowed off the lead there.
    Final note, disposal water area useless.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Toilet block poor corners not clean.No Tv reception due to broken tv18/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Close to castle Howard

    Disliked: 

    Castle Howard closed to public due to filming no tv signal due to poor on site booster .rubbish left on pitch . No dog walk

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

I must correct some information within this. The TV reception is poor due to a transmitter burning down in North Yorkshire. This has affected 400,000 homes and has nothing to do with our equipment on site. There is a 3 acre dog walking area available, this is featured on our site plan.

We are sorry you found rubbish left on the pitch and will speak with our team on site.

We do hope you visit again soon.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Good location. Quiet site with spacious pitches.17/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spacious pitches. Location.

    Disliked: 

    No wifi

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)