8.1

Overall rating based on 630 reviews

 

79% would recommend this site to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

  59% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Plenty space to pitch up, good clean fields and facilities. …11/10/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomManda H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Plenty space to pitch up, good clean fields and facilities. Great location what gets the sunshine (when it's out) from morning til evening.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Staff very helpful, hard standing pitches, fantastic grounds & lake09/10/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKerry B.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Stayed on the site previously a few years ago while touring Yorkshire in our classic car. Like the pitch sizes and knew it would be relatively quite due to the time of year. We enjoyed a peaceful stay and some late autumn sunshine which always helps.

    Disliked: 

    Only slight criticism is the toilets and shower block need a freshen up but it wouldn’t stop us from staying again.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Quiet spot ok if you want a relaxing weekend , …04/10/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomdaniel n.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet spot ok if you want a relaxing weekend , nothing much near it within walking distance but good if you just want to chill and have everything

    Disliked: 

    I had a pitch for my son has well but someone parked in it without asking luckily my son couldn't come but was still paid for by me so am guessing the pitch got paid for twice

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Clean facilities, well maintained pitches.28/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLindsey W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The walk around the outside border of the castle grounds and the farm shop. Enjoyed the food from the fish and chip van that visited the site.

    Disliked: 

    The castle being closed to the public. Be prepared for noisy wild life.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

All of it28/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCourtney T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    All of it

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site with clean facilities and level pitches27/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaula B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pitches are generous and set within a tree lined site with direct access to Castle Howard Lakeside. Although you're not able to walk fully around the lake it's a nice to have a wander and see the wildlife and there's excellent views over the back of Castle Howard itself. The facilities were clean and well maintained and only 5 miles to Malton where you'll find supermarkets, pubs, cafes and restaurants. Would definitely recommend

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Excellent27/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely site and sounds from the birds on the lake

    Disliked: 

    The house was closed for filming so we couldn't go in.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice level pitches. The lady cleaning the toilet blocks was …26/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnya P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice level pitches. The lady cleaning the toilet blocks was lovely and very helpful.

    Disliked: 

    On arrival the sign at reception allocating pitches had missed us off the list. We were then put on a “backup pitch” to then be moved to our actual assigned pitch (all by phone call) we were never actually checked in or shown anything, we could have been anyone staying on the site. There is no site security at all. Toilet blocks not very well lit outside on an evening, also not very clean and very run down. The so called 15 minute walk to castle Howard is 30 minute walk on the road, not ideal with a dog. Or if you have children. The lakeside walk doesn’t allow dogs. The taps for the outdoor washing up make a high pitched squealing noise, so when someone decides to wash up at 6am or 10 at night it’s not ideal! The noise of the geese is quite loud so I would recommend earplugs, obviously this isn’t anyone’s fault!

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

A great location for visiting CastleHoward but won’t be visiting agai25/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndy C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location and the lady who checked us is was lovely

    Disliked: 

    All the signage about security patrols and the fact Castle Howard wasn’t even open. It didn’t feel one bit welcoming or relaxing.

    The facilities were dated and not very clean. Though the showers were hot and powerful We left a day early because we were not enjoying our stay.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

When we went it was quiet and the views were …24/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    When we went it was quiet and the views were lovely. Was very close to castle Howard and there’s the cutest pub to go for tea only a 5 minute drive away.

    Disliked: 

    Was near a tree with squirrels

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)