9.7

Overall rating based on 85 reviews

 

98% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

95% described Borders Hideaway Holiday Home Park as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

On arrival the booking in was efficient and a very ... 07/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom tony_h15 Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    On arrival the booking in was efficient and a very friendly welcome. The pitch we
    were given had wonderful views. The one thing that set this site above many was how very clean and well kept it was the toilets and showers were cleaned twice a day with plenty of hot water.A nice touch was how they are mindful of the wildlife they are

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you were happy with our site and facilities, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

lovely site but impractical for motor homes IMO. 04/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom jean_t373980 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Charming character of site, maintained to high standard.

    Disliked: 

    Limited pitches for motor homes. Situated on a very tight corner pitch, van sloped despite use of chocks/blocks. We should have researched location better, whilst only a mile from local village, it was entirely uphill, and a further 1 and half miles to Hay town. Would have been completely impractical to use motorhome into village/town. Wouldn’t return with motorhome due to site location, but it’s a shame, since it really is a well kept, lovely site.

From the manager...

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly site, clean facilities. Good location. 27/06/2018

stephanie_h685074 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely facilities, great view from the wild camping field

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Awesome!! Thank you for your review and for adding the picture, we are very happy that you enjoyed staying on our park and look forward to your return.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

High standard campsite with clean and easily accessible facilities. 08/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom celia_o Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (wild)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We stayed on the wild campsite without a hook-up. Nice big area slightly sloped. Will book the hook -up next time. Toilets and shower block very clean. Nice play area for young children. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Highly recommend.

    Disliked: 

    No large flat grass area for boys to play football or cricket.

From the manager...

Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely, well maintained site, with beautiful views from our tent door! 01/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Helen B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (wild)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pretty, very well maintained campsite, with welcoming and friendly site managers. We really liked the separate 'tent' camping field, which had lovely large pitches and beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.
    Toilet and shower facilities were excellent, and were cleaned frequently, as were the washing up facilities.
    It was very helpful to have free wi-fi.

    Disliked: 

    Dog owners tended to use the wild camping field as their dog walking and toileting area, which wasn't so great if you are camping there!
    It would be helpful to have a water point in the wild camping field.

From the manager...

Thank you, we appreciate your comments. We are looking into putting a water point in the wild camping field :-)

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site. Lovely staff. Clean. 01/06/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Julianne W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (wild)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, near Hay Festival
    Exceptional toilet block—so clean!

    Disliked: 

    The rain

From the manager...

Pity about the rain but we are really pleased that you liked our location and our facilities. We hope you will return soon :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Really great campsite and the owners could not be more helpful! 30/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Carl J. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (wild)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Owners were really friendly and the tent pitch had a great view!

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Our first season of wild camping! We are very glad that you enjoyed the view and your stay with us :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

A really beautiful location. Don and Tricia are so friendly and kind. 30/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jemimah H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (wild)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent facilities - the best shower and toilet block we have ever used on a site offering wild camping. Absolutely stunning views.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing at all!

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely review, we are truly happy that you were impressed with our shower block and enjoyed the views, we hope you come and visit us again soon :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

excellent site with clean facilities, dog friendly ,lovely staff 29/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Thomas W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (wild)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    lovely clean site. clean facilities.loved the fact toilet and shower in one cubicle.lovely walks for dogs.staff very friendly and helped us out a lot.

    Disliked: 

    campsite on a slight slope but no real concern.

From the manager...

Thank you, we appreciate your review and are pleased that you liked our facilities and the walks for your dogs. Unfortunately our location is on the side of a sloping hill, we did our best to mow out the pitches on the flat-est areas. Hope to see you again soon :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent all round site with lovely helpful friend staff. 21/05/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Liz H. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The lovely welcome. Everything about the park clearly explained verbally and in brochure we were given. The pitch was perfect, with tv aerial and water supply on pitch, brilliant. The shower/loo block spotlessly clean. The washing up sinks even had complimentary washing up liquid. It was so peaceful and relaxing we enjoyed just sitting taking in the wonderful views and listening to the birds sing. We enjoy walking so plenty of this around and the tourist information provided maps to borrow for walking and cycling. Not far to Hay on Wye a beautiful place where you can just browse the many book and antique shops or have a canoe on river. Some excellent cafes in town too.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing we loved it all.

From the manager...

We are thrilled that you "loved it all" and truly grateful that you took the time to write this lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Take care, Don & Tricia

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi