9.4

Overall rating based on 113 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

93% would stay here again.

  90% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Will definitely visit again06/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very well prepared/maintained campsite. Good facilities

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Brilliant site welcome and friendly staff would recommend06/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRoss T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (deluxe, XL)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Brilliant site welcome and friendly staff would recommend

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

An awesome eco friendly camping site01/09/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJohn M.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (deluxe, XL)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The views of the Scottish hills, the site facilities were very well looked after.
    The staff were friendly and helpful, when we turned up with our tents they kindly set the fire pit for us to use for the evening.
    I found the walk into Bonnybridge proper to be a pleasant one, with the pubs there run by fantastic people.
    Highly likely to use this site again when deciding to camp and hike in Scotland.

    Disliked: 

    There were two cats that lived nearby to the site, I wish they had come over more as they were lovely and had very soft fur.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very peaceful open site with great views31/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChris W.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very peaceful open site with great views

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice quiet site with good pitches and fire pits provided30/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAngus I.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    * Located in a quiet area with great views, not too far to travel from anywhere in the Central Belt.
    * Campsite was not too busy (despite being "fully booked").
    * Lots of space around each tent, and good ground for pitching on (including for putting in tent pegs).
    * Fire pit was provided, with firewood available to purchase on site.
    * Facilities were clean and, unlike other reviews here, we found the showers hot enough and powerful enough.
    * Pitches were separated well enough that we were not disturbed by any other group, even those making noise (probably including us!) past the noise curfew.

    Disliked: 

    * Strict 10am checkout. With young children, it was a real group effort to ensure everybody was up and had made use of the facilities, and all our tents and kit were packed away in time
    * While the facilities are good, there aren't many of them, so there was a bit of a wait to use them (and a bit of a fuss to make sure we fit around the 10am closure for cleaning). Manageable, but more would have been good.
    * Paid for tents by the pitch, including paying extra for an "XL" pitch for one of our tents - but there are no demarcated pitches, just a field. With our mix of tent sizes we'd have easily fitted in the same number of "regular" pitch sizes.
    * Items for sale at reception were quite pricey (captive market, I guess). We also decided we wanted to buy some firewood in the evening, but there was no one around to buy from.
    * There were dogs barking at various times throughout the night. Possibly a nearby kennels?

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, unfortunately we still have enhanced cleaning due to our covid safe measures to ensure we can keep our toilet block open, which does mean more time cleaning, as part of this we don't allow people leaving that day to use the facilities once they have been cleaned to avoid any cross contamination so we do say 10 am check out as that is when we start the cleaning of the toilet block, we don't chase people out as we appreciate some people need longer than others, but we do mention the check out time so people are aware, and this is also in our Pitchup.com booking terms and conditions so shouldn't be a surprise when guests arrive on site, however we hope we can make check out a bit later next year, which should help.
Being a small site we also have a limited number of pitches so we do charge more for people who want to bring a large tent ( a 7m tent is a large tent) as they take up more space and if everyone booked a standard pitch and brought a large tent it would be a squash, so we feel its only fair if people take up more space they should pay a bit extra, just the same as a solo traveller also gets a discount.
The items for sale at reception are for guests convenience, so you will pay a little bit more than a large supermarket, but there is no obligation to purchase anything and reception closes at 6pm , so any purchases, including firewood are only available when reception is open.
With regards to the dogs barking, one of our neighbours has dogs, they aren't normally noisy but I did hear them myself that night so can only presume they were maybe away, and although they are some distance away, noise does travel so apologies if you heard them but it is out with our control.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Clean, pleasant and reasonably priced.30/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent (no pets)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Bell tent was very spacious. Toilets were very clean. Check in was easy and informative.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Teepee was amazing and pitched perfectly.29/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Cherokee tipi
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location with stunning views. Prime location for Inverness wheel or strolling through beautiful Scotland. Family friendly with chickens roaming freely. Good facilities and well maintained.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fab site. Facilities super clean. We had a great time29/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSara M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Bell tent (no pets)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly staff and the experience with a off-grid campsite with …28/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRenato M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff and the experience with a off-grid campsite with horses and chicken that my kids loved!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice, peaceful site.26/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPhil M.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    View across hills was great. Peace and quiet. Chickens roaming about. Not too busy, not too quiet. Close to a lot of attractions (Blair Drummond Safari Park, Falkirk Wheel, Kelpies etc).

    Also, VITAL IMPORTANCE is how easy it is for the ground to take tent-pegs - which this site does. So many "grass pitches" nowadays are glorified gravel pitches with turf on top.

    Disliked: 

    Some fellas still dont know how to lift a toilet seat XD

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi