9.0

Overall rating based on 102 reviews

 

90% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Had a lovely time would recommend and would defo go back again xxx. 14/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Louise H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very welcoming , friendly staff always happy to help. Pod was lovely even had a welcome basket with chocolates and wine in aswell as tea/coffee. Children loved feeding the reindeer on site. Visited the ice cream factory on Saturday. Well worth a visit there plenty to do . Would not hesitate to come back xxx

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Small friendly site with lovely views but a lot of road noise 09/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom paul_h271162 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly welcome from Rob and staff All were helpful during our stay with information and freezing ice blocks over night. This is a small site with ample sized pitches and where children are safe to play, although no playground. We pointed our tent towards the views over the fishing lakes. Site itself was quiet at night, no problems with rowdyness and loud music. Location great for visiting Chester Zoo and North Wales.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing that the campsite can do but noise from the adjacent main road never stopped, even at night. This is the site's first season and the facilities could do with some improvements: mirrors above the sinks, shelves for toiletries, electric points for shavers/hairdryers, individual rather than communal changing areas outside the showers. My wife told me that for most of our stay there was no soap in the ladies. There was only one sink for washing dishes resulting in a queue at times. The path to the facilities was overgrown with thistles/brambles but to be fair it was tidied up after my wife mentioned it.

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Clean well looked after site, lots of staff on hand to assist 09/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Louise B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pods were clean spacious and modern with one electricty point for 2 plugs and 2 USB's. Nice clean bedding, very comfy beds. My daughter enjoyed the mood lighting too, which could be adjusted as required.

    Welcome basket a nice touch with wine, choccies, tea, coffee, mugs, creamer, sugar etc.

    Wood and charcoal provided for first fire and/or BBQ, local co-op for supplies approx 2mins away by car.

    Chip Shop in Tarvin called King Louis v nice and 5mins by car. Cafe on site serving full breakfast which we had and was v nice for reasonable price.

    Lots of attractions nearby within 20min drive, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet, Delamere Forest, Oulten Park, Cotebrook Shire Horse Centre, Ice Cream Farm, Chester, Cheshire Oaks.

    On the campsite large fishing lakes to walk round or fish in, prices are on their website, children would need to be supervised at all times. We did some blackberry picking as there was loads on the site. Reindeer are in a special area which we got to see too.

    Toilets and shower block accessible 24/7, lit up at night so very visible. Washing up area and cold water tap.

    Not sure about wifi as didnt ask but we had a good internet connection using data allowance and my daughter watched Netflix and I live streamed itv and watched catch up on bbc iplayer.

    Would highly recommend this campsite for glamping as I dont think you would be disappointed.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Love the wooden pods, staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely area. 08/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Holly M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (couples only)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the wooden pods and the BBQ and chiminey outside. Really happy that the coal and wood for first night was thrown in with the deal. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely area and nice site. Very good deal with the extras thrown in for the price you pay.

    Disliked: 

    Showers are not very good but I wouldn't expect much more seeing as though it's camping, so not that disappointed. Nothing else to dislike.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent pods 07/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jade F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Love how much room was in the pods, stayed with friends and had a lovely weekend. First arrived and was meet by Clint who was very helpful and friendly, he made our stay even better. Wouldn't fault the place and would 100% return.

    Disliked: 

    None

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Nice people but camping as it was 20 years ago. 06/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Richard Y. Confirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly welcome and the bloke made reversing the van into the site very easy.
    Close to Chester.
    Good breakfast in the cafe

    Disliked: 

    No privacy in the shower area.
    No paper towels or hand dryer in the toilet.
    Noise from the road and seems a party venue for youngsters
    Path to the toilet block waiting for someone to trip

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, we remember your stay. Unfortunately, on the days you came, someone had booked a family pod and turned up as a party of adults and we apologise if the noise they made was to your discomfort. We are a family site, not a "Party Venue" and had we been made aware of any noise at the time, our staff would have put a stop to it immediately. We have only opened this year, and have already learned an awful lot about all aspects of "camp siting" We are aware of our shortcomings and this is why our prices reflect those from "20 years ago" however, we are working on our failures and hope to get it right next year.

Overall
3
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Ear plugs a MUST 05/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Didier H. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Level pitch, friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    Location, location, location.
    It is camping by a constant busy day and night road the A54. A long wide straigh strech were the speed limit is 60 M/H
    Will not return because of this
    Now I know why it was the only campsite with availability for the August bank Holiday.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Enjoyed it! Nice friendly staff. Could do with a kids play area though 04/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom tina_l482337 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pod was great. Enjoyed the fishing.

    Disliked: 

    Lots of junk on show around the fishery shop. Maybe it could of been hidden in one of the out houses. Shame because it was a lovely site.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely site with extremely friendly staff and level pitches. 01/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Linda S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and even stored our little trailer in a safe place for the weekend.

    Pitches are very flat for tents and grass kept in good condition with keeping cars off the pitches.

    Fishing lakes are very close to the site and the match lake was excellent for fishing.

    Showers are free of charge, although the toilet facilities and washing up facilities could do with expanding as on a busy Bank Holiday weekend we found we were queuing to use.

    Cafe very handy for those that need it, and very helpful by letting us put freezer packs in their freezer.

    Disliked: 

    The only problem with this site is that it is situated at the site of the main road into Chester and therefore there was a lot of road noise during the day and night.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Absolutely brilliant, friendly and clean. 31/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom amy d. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (couples only)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely warm welcome from Rob when we arrived. Very friendly and approachable, definitely an asset to the place! The pod was perfect with a very comfy bed. Having chocolates and a bottle of wine waiting in the pod is a lovely touch. The shower/toilet cubicle were clean and sufficient. We only used the cafe on our last morning where we had the best cooked breakfast!! The full works at a great price of £5.50! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay and I would definitely book longer next time. We cannot wait to go back.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi