9.5

Overall rating based on 127 reviews

 

97% would recommend this site to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

  64% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

My fourth visit to tar in sands, a beautiful family …05/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomHelen F.Confirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    My fourth visit to tar in sands, a beautiful family run business in a great location, with very welcoming staff ...nothing is normally a problem to them. Spotlessly clean and very well kept grounds.

    Disliked: 

    Asked to leave in a very aggressive manor as I took a piece of wood to keep the camp fire going, all employees had finished for the day and there is lots of wood lying around. Next day I was shouted at with out even a discussion or giving me the opportunity to pay for this piece of wood and told to go!! I have sent a direct email expressing how I felt the decision was harsh and offered to pay for the piece of wood ..but have been ignored.

From the manager...

We are glad you left a review, as it gives us the opportunity to respond to you publicly.

Firstly, you were not asked to leave in a "very aggressive manor", you were asked in a firm way due to your abhorrent behaviour the previous evening.

We received numerous complaints from other guests about your foul and obscene language in front of the other guests, including children.

The wood that you stole, from within a fenced off area, was not just a "piece of wood" it was in fact, one of our wood loading rails for our sawmill. The "lots of wood lying around" is all Western Red Cedar that we use for our fencing and sheds and is not the wood we use for our guests.

You were told on several occasions throughout the day that we didn't have any more fire wood cut so you decided that you would just steal a piece of wood that you had seen. Not only do we not take kindly to people stealing from us, the piece of wood you took was twice as big as the fire pit, and for some unknown reason, you thought that putting this in the basket to burn was a good idea. it wasn't a good idea, because as you know, it caused the fire pit to fall over and set fire to the surrounding woodchip (which you had also been burning throughout the day) It didn't seem to register with you, nor does it still, that what you did was extremely reckless and dangerous, not only putting yourselves at risk, but also the lives of our other guests that were either side of you with children asleep in the pods.

There was no discussion to be had, we can not, and will not accept such poor behaviour from our guests and had you not been completely inebriated with drink, you would have been asked to leave immediately, not the next morning.

We hope this answers your questions satisfactorily.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

From start to finish our stay was fantastic staff were so warm05/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely nothing to not like at all

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely overnight stay. Reindeer, goslings & fishing as well as space04/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEmma T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peaceful

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

It was brilliant. The staff were so friendly and helpful. …01/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlison T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was brilliant. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Will definately be going back soon.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Staff where great Will be going back very soon29/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomlorraine e.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I'm writing this for my son Frankie and his girlfriend louise They have been here twice And they have booked again for next month They both really enjoyed The fishing Said the staff are beautiful They just look the place

    Disliked: 

    That they have to come home

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

We would visit again! Friendly staff, a lovely little site.28/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEmma H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff. Met the reindeer! Lovely wander around the lake. Clean facilities.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Boss site we could also use are bbq staff are so helpful and it is cle28/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKeith F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Reindeer fish ponds and staff are brill and its very clean

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful location. Clean facilities. warm welcome28/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomElizabeth J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location. Clean facilities. warm welcome

    Disliked: 

    Great facility no dislikes

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great fishing and hospitality28/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJo C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great fishing and hospitality

    Disliked: 

    Children’s beds very uncomfortable

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

We loved this site, it’s a small site that felt …27/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChantelle P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved this site, it’s a small site that felt very safe for the children when they were playing. The facilities were clear and everyone was very friendly.
    We even got to see the raindeers! The kids loved it.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)