9.5

Overall rating based on 127 reviews

 

97% would recommend this site to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

  64% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Excellent site. Would recommend for Chester/ zoo. Very friendly staff19/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKatharine T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Closeness to Chester zoo, relaxed atmosphere on site.

    Disliked: 

    Just off a busy a road.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Amazing place - excellent in every way!19/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomClaire R.Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about the place! The people were so friendly and helpful, the surroundings were gorgeous, the reindeer were adorable (one was actually born during our stay and we also saw a two week old and some 1 year olds, all very cute!)
    The Big Foot Breakfast Box was very very nice and big enough for myself and my husband to share and still feel plenty full. The pods were really cute and the barbecue and fire pits outside lovely for creating a cosy evening atmosphere. The carp in the fishing lakes were the most tame I have ever seen. The kids were feeding them bread by hand and practically stroking them! We will definitely be back. It was such a lovely stay that we all had. Thanks guys!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing at all!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Good spaces around pitches. Staff very helpful and accommodating.19/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very peaceful and liked the fact there are no dogs.

    Disliked: 

    Only a small thing but the shower was very very hot and you can't turn it down. Too hot for me and child struggled with it.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Good stuff!!19/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    - Very friendly staff.
    - Decent location.
    - Ample amenities.
    - Well maintained.
    - Plenty of space.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A very nice, clean site. lots of space, quiet. Great …15/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMark P.Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 3 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A very nice, clean site. lots of space, quiet. Great fishing, lovely staff

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly staff, reindeer, plenty of space to play, no midges …12/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJoanna A.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly staff, reindeer, plenty of space to play, no midges or mosquitoes despite lots of lovely lakes nearby. Level pitches, no fuss toilet block.

    Disliked: 

    Small amount of road noise (to be expected given location)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Easy check-in / out. Very accommodating as we ate out …12/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNeil T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Easy check-in / out.
    Very accommodating as we ate out in the evening and had an early start on a Sunday morning (thanks for getting up early to let us out Clint!).
    Close enough proximity to Chester and Delamere Forest in particular.
    Clean and tidy.
    Welcome pack with snacks and refreshments.
    Secure site (gates locked in the evening - could be a bit of an issue, as you’re impacting on somebody’s evening to let you back in if you’re out and about) with CCTV.
    On-site cafe.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing of note.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Friendly staff...clean shower facilities12/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Shower block although could do with updating

    Disliked: 

    Fishing pools unmaintaned advertising 5 lakes when there is only 2 to fish... advertising match fishing when they dont.
    Locked gates at 8pm with padlocks so you are unable to go out of the premises
    Cant walk around premises until after 7/8pm

From the manager...

Thanks for your review, allow us to put you straight on a few things.

The shower block is a couple of years old, its a campsite, not the ritz, however they are more than up to standard and suitable. We can only assume that your one star review for accommodation is based on your own caravan. What were you expecting of our pools? Concrete pegs and silver service? You were told when you arrived that we didn't have any matches on, maybe if you used a bit of common sense, you would understand why that is. Yes, the gates are locked at 8pm, and again, you were told on arrival that if you needed to go out or return after 8pm, that all you had to do was ask one of us here on site and we would be happy to open the gates (as per the many 10 out of 10 reviews in regards to the safety of the site). Again, due to covid regulations that we have to adhere to with the environment agency, we do not allow people to wander around the lakes, I'm sure, as a fisherman yourself, you wouldn't want people wandering around your peg. As for there only being 2 lakes open, we alternate between our lakes so as not to have any of them overfished.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely people, Too close to main road12/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The lake and the coffee

    Disliked: 

    The road noise, lack of facilities, showers,

From the manager...

We can not understand your bad review of our site, especially after we allowed, and helped you, to move all the logs from around your pitch, allowed you to put your awning up on the grass outside of your pitch, let you out in the middle of the night, and did everything we could to assist you, even offering you a special pitch to accommodate your mother's disabilities. if you came again.

As for value for money, where can you go and get the same service for the same cost????

Location???? We are where we are, we can't change that, did you not know where we were when you booked??

Facilities??? We are not Pontins, we are a simple family site with the facilities that are necessary.

Cleanliness??? Our site is spotless, as are our shower blocks and toilet facilities that are checked religiously throughout the day.

Child friendliness??? Our staff know everybody who is on the site and take the safety of our guests, especially children very seriously.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Everything was good cant fault it.05/07/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomGuntis P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything was good cant fault it.

    Disliked: 

    Signal was not good but other than that perfect

From the manager...

There is apparently some major problems with a local cell tower at the moment, We have all been suffering with poor signal for over a month but we are assured it will be fixed very soon.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi