9.1

Overall rating based on 127 reviews

 

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

62% described Big Foot Glamping and Camping At Tarvin Sands Fishery as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Lovely site, great for families. Clean facilities. 07/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Louisa B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 3 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pods were fantastic. The beds are really comfortable and made up already which was great! There was plenty of room for a travel cot too. The arrival gift basket of drinks and chocolates was a lovely touch. Staff were lovely. (Other than floor of the changing area) the shower and toilet blocks were all very clean and tidy. The cafe was useful.

    Disliked: 

    The floor in the changing area of showers had grass on it. It could’ve done with cleaning a little more regularly. Although this may have been due to the grass being cut recently. The gates being locked at 8pm was a real nuisance though as trying to climb over a style in the dark with a sleeping baby is not easy! Could’ve done with a small table in the pod to put the kettle on as it was perched precariously on a small ledge as the sockets were up high and the lead wouldn’t reach to the floor.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Staff and site were lovely, would stay again even with the noise! 06/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Holly D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was well kept and spacious. Clean washing up area and toilet facilities. The fishing pools were lovely and the reindeer at the back of the site were definitely a highlight. The local town is within walking distance which was great to get supplies and go for a few drinks.

    Disliked: 

    Only downside is the road it’s on is so busy so you get all the road noise constantly!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Fantastic staff just a shame about the road noise! 05/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Radharani P. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff , value for money, proximity to chester etc and the fishing ponds

    Disliked: 

    how close we are to a main road, road noise, light pollution,

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site 04/08/2018

katy_h245504 Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Just brilliant. We have traveled the country staying at different campsites but this one is now one of our favourites. The site is beautiful and accessible to the local shops. The staff were friendly and helpful and the management made sure our stay was just perfect.

    The showers and toilet block was clean, and the cafe definitely know how to make a decent bacon butty.
    We will definitely be coming back again and again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great small site we stayed in a pod 06/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Linzi R. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 3 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Small friendly site

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good Site, Good Facilities, Friendly Staff and Level pitches 06/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Nathan P. Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pod was nice, hot as hell but it was 32 Degrees in Chester. Inside the cabin is a double bed, kettle and a few plug sockets, the family pods have more space but a extra bed. Perfectly adequate if you want to camp but have the comfort of a locking door, electricty and proper mattress. The guys at reception told us the site would be busy as it was a race weekend and car fest. Busy was around 8 family tents and 3 caravans. Tents are placed around the edge of the site with a large grass area in the middle for Kids to play. Several picnic tables are also dotted around the site. Staff are helpful and facilities are adequate for the size of the site, well stocked with toilet paper and kept clean. The road next to the site can make it a little noisy for those who are not used to traffic but its not terrible.

    On site has a Cafe that sells typical greasy spoon food at greasy spoon prices. Make sure you ask for two scoops of coffee in your mug or you will receive a cup of milky water. Overall we liked the food and went for breakfast everyday.

    The local town Tarvin is around 20mins away on foot. With a COOP about 25mins away on foot. Tarvin has 2 pubs , a chippy and a sit in restaurant /Bistro. Quiz night is a Thursday. To drive into Chester its about 12mins to the park and ride which is £2 Per person for a day ticket. Chester is about 10mins from the park and ride on the bus. There is also a bus service every hour from the bus stop just out of the site into Chester. A taxi from Chester back to site is about £15 for a normal private hire.

    Chester zoo is about 30mins away by car.

    Overall a nice flat site with tents a comfortable distance apart, i will no doubt be staying here again as i really liked it

    Disliked: 

    The only reason i will put a dislike is so it is noticed, this site is on a fishery so those with very young children need to be aware that this site sites against two fishing lakes that are not fenced off.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The staff were nice, the location was good for where ... 06/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Megan D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff were nice, the location was good for where we needed to be, it was quite, over all it was a lovely place and we would definitely stay again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Facilities and owners very helpful. 06/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Caroline K. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 2 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Facilities and owners very helpful.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Where do I start, beautiful campsite, the place is clean ... 28/07/2018

lena_d Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Where do I start, beautiful campsite, the place is clean and tidy, the management and staff go above and beyond to make your stay as perfect as possible. The showers and toilets were well maintained, the site is so peaceful. I couldn’t recommend this place highly enough. Close to local shops and pubs, and excellent links to Chester town centre and beyond. We will definitely be coming back and bringing the rest of the family too.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

No enjoy 17/07/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Maira V. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing....

    Disliked: 

    So... first I don't like when can't parking a car next to tent, coz there for tents no have electric, can't charge phone, toilet was no have paper, in shower rooms in top fool of spider
    Defiantly never ever go like this place...🙄
    First time in my life I see like this place...
    And tractor driver... was very rood...

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi