9.5

Overall rating based on 127 reviews

 

97% would recommend this site to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

  64% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Excellent site and great staff.31/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomjake s.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was stunning with a beautiful walk around the fishing lakes and Reindeer to see! Plenty of privacy and personal space for everyone.

    The staff were fantastic, they took great care of me and were great to have a conversation with.

    The facilities were very good and very clean.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Overall, it was a really lovely site and the pod was great.31/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pod: Warm, clean and cosy.
    The staff: friendly and helpful.
    The site: mixture of caravans, motorhomes and pods. Having fishing ponds to walk around and visit the reindeer. Cleanliness of the toilet/shower block.
    Facilities: BBQ, picnic table and fire pit were brilliant. Cafe serving good breakfasts.
    The location: lots to do (Chester, Delamere Forest, village of Tarvin, lots of good places to see and eat)

    Disliked: 

    Lack of maintenance: I think the decking could do with a lick of paint and the wood bark area outside the pod had a lot of weeds in it. It's a basic thing, easy fixed and would improve standards.

    The shower experience. Not a fan of shower curtains instead of a door. It didn't feel private enough and there was nowhere in the shower to hang things, it all had to be put outside on a chair in an area that could be curtained off, but it wasn't private. Some people might be fine with that: my husband and I weren't.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Ok but no rush to go back31/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAngela S.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    My Husband liked the fishing,
    peaceful place

    Disliked: 

    The showers were not very private, no where to change, not well thought about.
    I was not allowed to sit with my husband while he fished unless I paid and I am not paying to sit and read while he fished.
    It should be adults only as its not very child friendly, so not a place to bring my grandchildren (we came alone).
    Café should be running normally now, not takeaway service.
    It should have a small shop as nothing for miles around.
    Lots of rules

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

On arrival I was welcomed by the staff at the …23/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKayley L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    On arrival I was welcomed by the staff at the front on check in. Very friendly staff - I already felt comfortable. The Pod was clean and we had a treat basket left for us (wasn’t expecting that). The firewood and coal was also included and was just perfect. It was welcoming and so peaceful. The shower block facilities were clean and there is nothing to complain about. I would highly recommend this place to everyone.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The pod and facilities were clean, people friendly and the …23/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 3 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pod and facilities were clean, people friendly and the added reindeer bonus. BBQ and fire basket just outside the pod was handy. Well placed for the zoo and bewilderwood.

    Disliked: 

    The road is just behind the pods. It didn't trouble us but it is something to be aware of. The reindeer made up for it in our opinion.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Recommended to stay here can’t wait to go back21/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJason B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric optional gravel touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    People was so nice the owner showed us the rain deers didn’t have but went out of his way to make us feel so welcome the fishing was none stop highly recommended

    Disliked: 

    Couldn’t stay long enough as they was booked

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Relaxed quiet site21/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMATTHEW P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Relaxed quiet site

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Brilliant family fun17/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff very on the ball and good with local knowledge. Really friendly and the reindeer are amazing - they showed us around and spent ages telling us all about them. Owner walks one reindeer in the evening so people can see them and find out about them.

    The facilities are spotless.

    Easy to find and good access.

    Level pitches and easy design.

    Near to Chester for sight seeing.

    Disliked: 

    A little noise from the road but it's steady so not disruptive.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice clean site ,friendly welcome ,and reindeer walked by owner16/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Large flat area for parking ,made to feel welcome on arrival

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

We have just returned from a weekend away with my …16/08/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTracey G.Confirmed

  • Camping pod (2 adults and 3 children, family)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We have just returned from a weekend away with my partner and 2 children and we had a great time the staff are so friendly and welcoming the facilities are extremely clean and well sign posted the little cafe does proper home made food and very well priced we stayed in a pod on our arrival we received a little hamper which was lovely the pod was extremely clean and really nice there is a large grassed area for the kids just to run around and play games my son made some friends and they played non stop until really late . My partner went fishing on the fishing lake which he said was extremely well priced and the lakes were well filled with fish and is well maintained.The owner then brought the reindeer around for everyone to say hello on the whole I would highly recommend to anyone thinking about going it was a extremely excellent choice and we will definitely be booking again

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately the double bed is extremely uncomfortable

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)