8.6

Overall rating based on 210 reviews

 

90% would recommend this site to a friend.

86% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

86% described Avon Tyrrell Outdoor Activity Centre as Forest ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Brilliant place roll on sept cant wait 24/08/2018

alanparmenter Mobile phone icon

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Im x forces veteran and took familys of children who cant afford holidays.i used my skills and we learnt to live without our mobiles the staff were excellent jake was amazing at camp craft and i learnt more.brilliant place back in september more familys to work with.

    Disliked: 

    Bit slow in cafe lots food to cook but little staff.but nothing to moan about.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Nice site in a great location . Lots of activities for kids to try. 24/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site and the history of it great location in the new forest

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great range of activities. family freindl. 23/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    the range of activities, friendly staff, location.

    Disliked: 

    lack of wifi, cafe needs to have healthier range of food, would be helpful if there was gas available on site.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site, great facilities, play areas, instructors were lovely 23/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Kristina M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site.
    Lots of facilities available and clean considering it’s in a forest.
    Booked activities where enjoyable for both adults and kids, instructors where great.
    Nicely spaced out tents and vans.

    Disliked: 

    The times that the facilities where cleaned. Cleaned between 8:30 or 9am when people are trying to get ready, meaning you had to wait an hour which delayed our plans in the day.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

The best site I’ve been to in the last 4 years. Can’t wait to go back. 23/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jodie H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch (forest)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was very welcoming and facilities excellent. Staff were also more than helpful and accommodating.

    Disliked: 

    Not having enough time there.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Plenty of space to pitch your tent. Plenty to do ... 22/08/2018

heidi_w291374 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Plenty of space to pitch your tent. Plenty to do on site, especially if your kids are older. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Disliked: 

    Not suitable for families with younger children.

    The playground is designed for older children. My 5 year old didn't find much he could use independently of me. Also, the playground is situated close to the single track road, which although never busy, did make me nervous. It was also secluded (lovely tree-covered area) which made it impossible for me to keep an eye on him from my camp site, and because of the boisterous play of the teenagers there I needed to keep an eye on him.

    We visited in the August holidays and it seemed to be frequented by a succession of groups providing experiences for inner city youths. One unruly group trashed the ablution block, another held a noisy team building session in the centre of the camp site that started at 7pm and didn't end until 10pm, when of course the kids were allowed to wander back to their accommodation at their leisure. Some decided to stick around, with their music blaring for another hour. Other groups seemed to be doing noisy things (whooping and shrieking) in the trees around the camp site late into the night (10-11pm). Not the fault of the staff but perhaps some limits can be put on what groups can be permitted to do.

    People seem to need to be educated about how to use long drops (eco-toilets, if you like) and the odd sign here and there might be helpful. The chimney can only work to pull away the smell of the toilet if lid is left down! The funk in that building (and its surrounds) after a warm day was eye-watering. It was a very dark room, and although there appeared to be a light, it hardly ever worked. The door was heavy, too heavy for my son to operate on his own, and very noisy (think jail cell clanging shut in the movies) which seemed to be a good excuse for some men not to bother. I encountered strange men with their bits exposed on two occasions in one night. Nothing more than annoying at my age, but if I'd been a teenage girl (of which there were many camping there) it would have put me off using it altogether.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The shop did not have much in but we would come back again. The childr 22/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch (forest, pet friendly)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Area and helpful and friendly staff. Relaxed break and we could pitch up altogether

    Disliked: 

    Not enough shower rooms for the amount of people on site which we found wasn't easy to keep really clean.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Good site, toilets let it down a bit. Nice area, great for cyclists 21/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Caroline L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Activities and area surrounding the site

    Disliked: 

    Dirty toilets

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Really lovely site, family friendly and ideal location 21/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ellis N. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Really lovely site, family friendly and ideal location

    Disliked: 

    Dirty toilet/shower block

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Value for money overnight stay. 21/08/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Melvin K. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Value for money

    Disliked: 

    Unisex toilet facilities

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)