8.6

Overall rating based on 210 reviews

 

90% would recommend this site to a friend.

86% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

86% described Avon Tyrrell Outdoor Activity Centre as Forest ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Great campsite spoiled by some inconsiderate people 22/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Varied locations to choose by lake or farrest ... lovely walks, felt safe to let the kids roam, coffee!

    Disliked: 

    Going to sleep with loud music, being woken up at 6am by loud people on the way to the toilet.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Excellent site with friendly staff and beautiful location!! 21/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch (forest)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Ideal location for us for our first camping trip, we loved the idea of being able to have camp fires... we both had the best sleep we’ve had in ages on our stay. Lovely place to fully recharge your batteries...
    shower and toilet blocks were not too far away either and we’re clean and warm.
    Every staff member we spoke to was extremely helpful.

    Disliked: 

    The only things we would say was the cafe wasn’t open our entire trip but having said that we were slightly out of season and we pitched up in Scott’s pine camp- thw ground was hard with roots so difficult with pegs... having said that we improvised and carried on.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

The tent was really well-sized The ability to have campfires 18/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Confirmed

  • Ready2Go rental tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The tent was really well-sized
    The ability to have campfires

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Good clean facilities, good instructors. Prepare for wasps. 17/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Climbing area

    Disliked: 

    Sloping pitch

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Cracking location, beautiful grounds, clean facilities 17/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom vincent w. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Cracking location, beautiful grounds, clean facilities

    Disliked: 

    On our second night there, we arrived back at the pitch and discovered a very large family gathering (60 plus) had appeared in the middle of the field, with a catering tent and loud music. We chose Avon Tyrell, and have many times before, for a quiet couple of nights in the middle of the forest so we weren't very happy. The duty site manager was massively harassed checking off the big groups arrivals, on his own. Fortunately, the place has two quite separate camping areas so we managed to get moved to the other which was quiet - bit of a nuisance having to pack away and re pitch but we met some other lovely campers so not all bad!
    Prob worth ringing Avon Tyrell directly to check whether they are expecting large groups before you book

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

The campsite was nice and quiet, with plenty of space ... 17/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ellie B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch (forest, pet friendly)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite was nice and quiet, with plenty of space for the kids to play. On exploring the site we found loads of walks both on a off site.

    The site is in a great spot within close proximity (short drive) to the beaches and a very nice local pub!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lots of toilets and showers 17/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Craig W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Large camping area where you can chose roughly were to pitch up. So know tiny square plots. Nice walks

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

The space the pitch up tents and inclosure which made ... 16/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch (forest)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The space the pitch up tents and inclosure which made you feel at home immediately upon arrival. The staff are friendly and help ask any questions, queries or needs.
    Waking up to a glorious view of trees with a variety of different bird songs made it a paradise-like location.

    Disliked: 

    On the last stay a loud family arrived and were loud until the early hours of the morning. However, after telling the staff at Avon Tyrell about this they immediately sorted out the situation to stop this happening again.

    I was not informed that all of the activities could not be booked as they were hired out to schools during their term time. Had I known this I may have booked somewhere else but at least mountain biking was available.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Definitely stay again, just get early nights 14/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric forest floor tent pitch (forest)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The area was beautiful and the staff very friendly.

    Disliked: 

    Lots of noisy kids from 7am

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Great activity camping place with lots to keep kids busy. 04/09/2018

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anonymous Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch (waterside)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Free bike trails, choice of organised activities, warm showers

    Disliked: 

    Unisex toilets and showers which got very dirty, can be noisy at weekends.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)