9.5

Overall rating based on 56 reviews

 

93% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

  86% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Lovely site, good toilets and nice and quiet18/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomrichard l.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely cracking site, nice and quiet big pitches and no problems what so ever.

    If you like fishing there is a well stocked lake on site and I had a lovely afternoon there getting some lovely little carp and rudd.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing what so ever

From the manager...

Richard hi,

Thank you very much for such a positive review, it is much appreciated.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and really glad that the fishing didn't let you down.

I look forward to seeing you both back here again.

Very best regards
Alf

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely little campsite, owners were great too. Met Alf on ...17/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul M.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely little campsite, owners were great too.
    Met Alf on arrival gave us the info we needed and left us to get on with it. Came and checked all was OK shortly after we were set up and that we knew were the essentials were then we were left to get on with our stay.
    Quiet, basic and most importantly: flat pitches.
    Seamed a 'middle of nowhere site' which we stumbled on but found it a great central location with loads to do from the lakes in Peterbourough to the coast / the-wash not too far. Fishing behind the site appeared very popular.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Paul hi,

Thank you for such a positive review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and I look forward to seeing you here next time.

Very best regards
Alf

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good site with a friendly owner12/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDanny B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fishing lake was excellent and a there was a village shop near by

    Disliked: 

    A bit muddy around toilet area

From the manager...

Thank you for not marking me down for the state of the shower block access whilst you were here - it's never been like that until the last couple of months.

The damage has been done by external contractors during the installation of a new Nokia mobile 'phone transmitter. Seeing as mobile 'phone access has been, at best, sketchy in the past, I'm looking at it as short term pain for long term gain - and I'm sure that Nokia will return everything to it's normal state at the end of their construction work. This work was supposed to have been carried out in the first quarter of this year and it is as frustrating for me as it is inconvenient to my customers that it is being done in-season rather than out of season.

I am also really happy that you enjoyed your fishing so much.

Very best regards
Alf

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

site priced for what you get11/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    peaceful site
    reasonably priced
    fishing lake
    friendly owner

    Disliked: 

    no hard standing

From the manager...

Hi,

Thank you for your positive review, I really appreciate it.

I am trying to improve facilities here but it has turned out to be a slower process that I'd hoped for. Future improvements will include hard standing pitches as well as Seasonal pitches.

Best regards
Alf

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Would definitely recommend06/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTerry W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice peaceful site owner very friendly and helpful

    Disliked: 

    None

From the manager...

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your time here - and that you took the time to post such a positive review. It is much appreciated, and I look forward to seeing you and your family here again.

Very best regards
Alf

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent clean site, Alf is on the ball, fishing is excellen06/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMartin O.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Alf is a fantastic host ... the campsite is well set out, quiet and clean. The lakes are fab with plenty of fish to keep you busy.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Martin hi,

Thanks for not marking me down because I got your name wrong for a day or so (I've never even met your Father!).

I really appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you here again.

Very best regards
Alf

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Alf is a superb host, site is peaceful. Fishing is excellent!03/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peace and quiet as your out the way from the hustle and bustle of town/city life, fishing is good (best was 5lb but a local caught a double a few pegs down, plenty of fish caught), lovely area close to post office with all the neccesities and towns a short drive for other bits. Alf is a lovely bloke, checks to make sure you have settled in and have everything you need.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for such a positive review and the compliments. I'm really happy that you had such a good time here and I look forward to seeing the three of you here again in the future.

Very best regards
Alf

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The showers were very clean & hygienic. Staff were helpful too.02/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRob C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The showers & size of the camping area.

    Disliked: 

    The weather! Difficult to find!

From the manager...

Hi and sorry about the weather - I'll have a word with the man above to sort it out next time.

I appreciate anyone who takes the time to leave a review and your positive review is much appreciated.

Best regards
Alf

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Very pretty location and very spacious plots29/07/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTara B.Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quite well equipped site and absolutely brilliant fishing lakes shop 2 minutes walk up the road with a good choice of goods would go again and host was really inviting

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for such a positive review. I really pleased that you enjoyed your fishing so much and I look forward to seeing you both again.

Very best regards
Alf

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

great place for who looks for a quiet camping11/07/2019

Reviewer's country: NetherlandsAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    friendly receptioniste, quote place, lots of space

    Disliked: 

    none

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your positive review. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and it would be my pleasure to see you here again soon.
Very best regards
Alf
P.S. I'll keep the ice packs ready for you :-)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi