Book and review 3,575 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Camping De Grienduil

9.2
View prices & book
From £17,35/€19,50/A$31,56/US$21,70/CA$28,84/CHF21,49/SEK208,55/DKK146,34/NOK195,03/ISK2 700/ARS1 214,67/CLP15 355/PEN72,08/NZ$34,04/R316,38/PLN84,75/R$88,66/CZK506,61/RSD2 310/HUF6 493,27/RUB1 396,58/CN¥153,64 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

View over the meadows

General

  • Small and friendly rural site with fishing pond in central Holland
  • Rotterdam and Amsterdam within an hour and 15 minutes' drive
  • Restaurant and bar with wood-fired pizzas, shop and bike hire

Have a West Netherlands welcome on this friendly site in the centre of Holland, with easy access to getting out and about: Camping de Grienduil is a well-maintained, tree-lined spot surrounded by countryside, a two-minute drive from the village of Nieuwland and 10 minutes from the city of Leerdam.

Wisely for somewhere surrounded by straight roads, soothing scenery and a general lack of hills, there’s bike hire right on site and it would be hard to pass up an opportunity to explore the surrounds by pedal power, or even take your travels on the famed Dutch cycle network further to Amsterdam and Rotterdam.

Whatever you get up to, you’ll be assured of comfortable and relaxing times back at base: the site's in a natural setting of green fields and shady trees. There’s a bar and restaurant too, serving up local specialities and pizzas from its wood-fired oven. A small shop, a fishing pond and a playground are also on site, along with a pétanque court for you to flex your competitive streak.

Shops, supermarkets and restaurants are in Leerdam and Gorinchem, 10 and 15 minutes’ drive away.

Please note

No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

A charge of €0,50 (R8,04) applies for the use of the shower.

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Electricity is included up to 4kWh. Electricity is metered on site and extra consumption must be paid at check-out (10-amp at €0.50 per kWh and 16-amp at €0.60 per kWh).


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.2

Overall rating based on 13 reviews

 

92% would recommend this site to a friend.

85% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Lovely find. A great place for a short break to recharge the batteries09/04/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMATTY B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Stunning quiet spot with stunning views. Small site which is lovely. Situated in the heart of Holland.

    Disliked: 

    Unknown to us that there is a barrier that is locked from 9pm to 9am. This was a little problem as we had an early departure. The gate was opened for us by 7.40 am

From the manager...

Thank you for having you as our guest. We gonna look at the early departures to solve that.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Would recommend - advise to be aware of the gate being locked 9pm-9am08/11/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSamantha K.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    On site pizza is lovely, was provided excellent info pack on local area, standard of replacement mobile toilets showers was very good, brand new units

    Disliked: 

    Was unable to leave the site before 9am - pitch up does state that there are no early departures but doesn't state a time frame for this. We had a long drive ahead of us the next day and an earlier start would have been helpful. Staff member just laughed and said no when asked of they could open the gate any earlier, then when we were waiting to drive in to hitch up in the morning ignored us when walking dog past our car at the front of site. Up until this service had been excellent but we found it a bit strange that they wouldn't budge on this at all.
    Would be hesitant to book again as most of the pitches are quite cramped and would be tricky to get a bigger caravan parked in

From the manager...

Thank you for the review. We do open at 9 a.m. that is correct, we informed you by check-inn and also in the information it is mentioned. We did not know that you want to leave earlier, because you did not told us.. All pitches are between the 110-150 m2. The place you were standing is 15 meter long and 10 meter wide. Bigger caravans we do not expect and accept. The staff member also start at 9 o'çlock and had no key to open de gate. I'm sorry about that. Next time inform us if you want to leave earlier. Then we open the gate for you. Then your stay ends up much better with us. Thank you for staying with us.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely small campsite with plenty in the local area to visit.08/04/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomFran H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Family atmosphere and lovely hosts. Pizza evening was a great hit with our son as he got to make his own dinner.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for the review. We loved it to have you 3 as a guest. Hope to see you again.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice site clean with friendly staff07/30/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomIsabel E.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The atmosphere was tranquil, also the surrounding countryside.

    Disliked: 

    We could not stay for another day due to it being full up :-(((

From the manager...

We really sorry you could't stay longer. They all will. Maybey next time. We were very pleased to meet you and have you as a guest. you get a 10/10.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great site, nice friendly owners, great area to cycle06/23/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdommark p.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Owners

    Disliked: 

    Bin area

From the manager...

Thank you very much for the review. Our garbage company skip one time to empty the carbage. He was just here to apologise. We are sorry for it. But now we are back on the track with the carbage.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

It was a pleasant stay but would not hurry back to.06/21/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was an OK campsite and with the weather being good made it acceptable.

    Disliked: 

    The campsite itself was only very small and had mixed showers which fortunately we did not have to use as there was a shower in the pod. The pod could have been cleaner but was acceptable until you started looking closer at things. The owners' were very friendly but the young lady who checked us in failed to give us a full welcome pack. The breakfast items offered were not really value for money so we ate off site. If staying in a pod or caravan you cannot park your car next to your accommodation, the car is left outside the site, but seemed to be quite safe. The dustbins were overflowing during our stay.

From the manager...

You stayed in the MegaPod with us we could change your reservation last minute for you. Unfortanally you did not enjoy your stay. In your own camper was much better I assume. Did you tried our breakfast, bread from the North of France pre baked on wood, cheese and meat from the local area. We are a small nice and cosy campsite without all the metal off the cars. The cars are parked a few metres from you spot or accommodation. our showers are gender neutral because we have a lot of elder people where the partner need to help the other partner by taking a shower. That is a choice were made. We do not really have a welcome pack, but our reception is always open to look for information brochures. Hope evertything came ok with the camper.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff, lovely pitch.04/11/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdommarie T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff, lovely pitch.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

The welcome we got, services offered, location for touring02/17/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDiana S.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The welcome we got, services offered, location for touring

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you very much, We love 10's.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Very friendly owners who waited for us to arrive. Conscientious ...01/28/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDarren P.Confirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly owners who waited for us to arrive. Conscientious about where we pitched. Great price.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

excellent base for seeing a bit of holland , food available on site10/15/2018

Reviewer's country: United KingdomRoss C.Confirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    lovely small site , well kept ,clean and friendly . easy access to amsterdam hook of holland and leerdam .

    Disliked: 

    i would imagine its a bit cramped during high season ,

From the manager...

A 10, thank you for having a good time at our campsite. We hope to see you back.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Pétanque

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal sites

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Gastronomic delight

Hikers’ paradise

Luxury

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Type

Small (11-25 sites)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Gypsy wagons

Jumbo tent sites

Microlodges

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Geer 25, Nieuwland, Zederik, South Holland, The Netherlands, 4243 JS
  • Timezone Europe/Amsterdam +0200 (GMT+02:00)   GPS 51.9012°N 5.0264°E

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Whether you make the trip on two wheels or four, nearby Leerdam is worth a visit for its museums of crystal and glassmaking, and well-stocked AquaZoo aquarium.

Gorinchem (15 minutes’ drive) has a a well-designed local museum and a pretty harbour for half-day wanders and alfresco coffee stops. There’s more history on offer at the moated 14th-century Loevestein Castle (half an hour) while Kinderdijk (40 minutes) has UNESCO heritage status for its spread of old windmills, with museums attached.

A major container port, Rotterdam, an hour away, tends to get overlooked: away from the ships there are museums, art galleries, a zoo and covered market, as well as playgrounds, boat and train rides, a petting zoo and various splashing, pool-based antics at Plaswijck Adventure Park.

Then there’s Amsterdam, about an hour and 15 minutes away but still doable for day trips: take a boat ride down the canals, explore the myriad of waterway-crossed streets and bridges, hit the Van Gogh Museum and don’t forget you can bike your way round the whole lot.

If it’s countryside you’re after, you've picked well: it’s half an hour from the site to the river delta of De Biesbosch National Park, where you can walk, bike or even boat around spotting wading birds and beavers at work. Further off are the wildlife-filled heaths, woods and dunes of the Hoge Veluwe National Park (an hour's drive), home to red deer, mouflons and the Kröller-Müller Museum, containing so many works by a certain artist that it’s dubbed Van Gogh’s second home..

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  noon
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Camping De Grienduil cancellation policy

No refunds within 30 days of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 30 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Camping De Grienduil will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Tax

Local city tax of €1,00 (R16,22) per person per night is not included and must be paid on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Visa
MasterCard
Maestro
PayPal
American Express
Cash
Bank transfer

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Camping De Grienduil


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Extras
A charge of €0,50 (R8,04) applies for the use of the shower.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 30 day(s) of arrival.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

General
Entertainment and activities are available between 15/05 and 01/10.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Vehicles
No cars/motorcycles at the site. All cars must be parked in the designated area.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 9 p.m. and 9 a.m..

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. between 01/01 and 31/12.

General
The bar and/or restaurant is open between 01/04 et 01/10.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a camper, trailer tent or tent. Cars are not permitted when travelling with a motorhome/RV.

General
The grocery shop is open between 01/01 et 31/12.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Additional terms

Electricity is included up to 4kWh. Electricity is metered on site and extra consumption must be paid at check-out (10-amp at €0.50 per kWh and 16-amp at €0.60 per kWh).

Close