Book and review 3,293 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Heritage Coast Campsite

9.1
View prices & book
From £23/€26,78/A$43,27/US$31,44/CA$40,20/CHF29,15/SEK272,43/DKK199,15/NOK273,41/ISK4 068/ARS3 093,17/CLP24 806/PEN129,20/NZ$44,78/R465,40/PLN123,36/R$167,43/CZK682,12/RSD3 153/HUF9 479,77/RUB2 311,39/CN¥203,30 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Heritage Coast Campsite: Hot Welsh breakfast baps made freshly to order

General

  • Peaceful site for families, couples and relaxed sorts
  • Well-priced café serving breakfasts, cream teas and off-licence sales
  • A 10-minute walk from Monknash beach

Sites with coast views, campfires allowed, a short stroll from the beach and an even shorter one to an award-winning pub should always get your holiday vote… add in an acclaimed café on site and a pub a couple of minutes' stroll down the road, and you'll likely hail Heritage Coast Campsite as a winner.

Based in Glamorgan's Cowbridge and 10 minutes' walk from Monknash beach across public footpaths, the much-liked Heritage Coast comes with the Monks Rest Café, a recent venture from Phillipa, Glynn and team that dishes up breakfasts in the type of belly-busting size of which you might thoroughly approve.

Cream teas, Friday night suppers, off-licence sales and properly-sized coffees/hot drinks are also on offer, all are at reasonable prices – and the café is quite arty and information-based too, with an art/photography gallery and heaps of leaflets and tourist info about the local area.

Amenities include ladies' and gents' blocks each with two toilets, two showers, two sinks and a hand dryer, plus a hairdryer in the ladies'. Disabled bathroom facilities, a utility room with two basins (and hot water) and a freezer are also on site.

Campfires are allowed if you want to sort your own nosh – ask Glyn or Philippa about hiring a fire basket – or you could have a meal at the award-winning Plough and Harrow pub two minutes' walk away where there's also live music on Saturday evenings.

Whichever you decide, take time for sitting back as dusk falls to listen out for the hooting of the local owls: Heritage Coast Campsite is in a wildlife haven too...

Please note

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campground/park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, Dec. 31, 2021.

Group bookings of 7 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

A charge of £0,50 (R9,93) applies for the use of the shower.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

The park caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

The electricity is included in the rate for Little House.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.1

Overall rating based on 55 reviews

 

84% would recommend this site to a friend.

84% would stay here again.

  74% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

An excellent site, with amazingly welcoming and hardworking staff.09/20/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah H.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything! It was such a peaceful and restful holiday and as it was our first holiday in 10 years it was exactly what we needed. The facilities were great, the bar/cafe was excellent, the coffee was extremely nice, the food was freshly cooked and prepared on the premises and so tasty. The staff were incredibly hardworking and so friendly, welcoming and helpful. They really went above board to ensure we had a great stay and to give us an extra night, despite being fully booked. The surrounding area is beautiful, the beaches are heavenly and the coastal walks are so breathtaking. The local pub is also amazing with some really colourful local characters who were also very welcoming. We came away feeling rested, and as though we had made some new friends. We will definitely be back again, the sooner the better. Can't wait.

    Disliked: 

    Having to go home! We would have stayed longer if we could.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Will be back.09/18/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very friendly!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Vert tidy and clean site. Owners are incredibly helpful and …09/15/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLorrayne S.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Vert tidy and clean site. Owners are incredibly helpful and pleasant to chat to. Great beaches, walk and pub within walking distance.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for kindly submitting your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A great all round site.09/15/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJonathan B.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a great stay. The site was really well laid out and very well kept. The facilities were great, clean and well functioning showers etc. The bar area was very friendly with lots of inside and outside tables, a cosy log burner too. To cap it all the staff and owners were really friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return and will not hesitate to recommend this site..

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great site with clean facilities and great little cafe/bar/shop09/13/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomElgan R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Katie’s welcome
    Katie’s breakfast
    Excellent Facilities
    Accommodating and helpful/friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    A very rude GUEST staying on the site who was very unpleasant to a young girl for talking to her friend (allegedly loudly) on facetime. The irony was unbelievable, I was most impressed how the young girl dealt with this obnoxious lady. However, The staff and the site were absolutely great, they dealt with an unexpected incident very professionally. The site had a lovely atmosphere with the cafe/bar/shop being on site (it had some life) keep up the fab work, huge well done specifically to Katie but also the owners 👍

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Clean and family-friendly site.09/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJack L.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean and family-friendly site.

    Disliked: 

    - Charging for the shower feels a bit meanspirited. I would rather the overall cost of the stay was just increased if it's that much of a financial burden to run the showers.

    The showers were also cold for the first part of the cycle, there's only two of them and limited to roughly five minutes. The metering system is also temperamental and, when my partner had issues with it, she was quizzed as to whether she had actually paid. Why would we try to con a camping site out of 50 pence? If this sort of facility is to be charged for, it should work perfectly.

    - Likewise, the phone charging station seems outrageously expensive given most sites will do this for free. It also doesn't work especially well – despite putting in the correct change, it charged my phone for less time than advertised.

    - The pitches are *very* closed spaced. This wouldn't be so much of an issue if the site wasn't quite as expensive and the facilities were more expansive.

    - One of the owners/caretakers had a go at me for dropping a pair of socks – hardly the crime of the century – while I was carrying a big pile of dishes and washing to the utility room, and threatened to throw them in the bin.

    I then dropped them en route to the shower without realising. I realised minutes later and he has already thrown them in the bin. It was clear they were mine and I was struggling with my load, so why do this? Very troubling and weird behaviour.

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, naturally we are disappointed you did not enjoy your visit.
We did have an issue with the newly installed showers and apologise for the inconvenience.
I have spoken with the groundsman who recalls being on the tractor at the time and believed he was drawing your attention to the dropped item and intended only to be helpful and prevent the loss.
With regard to the cost of 50p this is clearly shown on the site information to clarify before guests book, we have previously looked at increasing the cost of the stay to factor in the showers however after speaking to numerous campers we found the facilities are not used to everyone and can be dependent on how many nights and how many people are staying; we therefore didn't carry through on this idea as we saw it unfair to charge everyone for the shower use when they are not guaranteed to use the showers.
We are sorry to hear our site did not live up to the expectations you had of us, and we only wish you had enjoyed your stay.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Overpriced09/04/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The fish & chips at Teddy's Cafe was very good.
    The Vale of Glamorgan is a very pretty part of the world.

    Disliked: 

    Being allocated a pitch right by the trash, cafe & toilets. Not exactly peaceful!
    Pitch was over priced & there was a charge to use the shower. But it was either scorching hot or freezing cold.
    A glass of wine at Teddy's Cafe was £6! Yes £6!

From the manager...

We are of course very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
We do publish on Pitch Up the 50p cost of showers, the cost of wine is £6.00 for a large glass
Hope you enjoyed your complimentary bottle.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean, family friendly, friendly, roomy and peaceful.09/03/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomVicky R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean, family friendly, friendly, roomy and peaceful.

    Disliked: 

    Leaving. We wanted to stay!!!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Beautiful site, friendly hosts, wonderful fire pits and only a …09/01/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful site, friendly hosts, wonderful fire pits and only a short walk to a lovely country pub

    Disliked: 

    Relatively expensive but worth it

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site and facillities. Will be back08/31/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomLisa W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent, trailer tent or campervan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything, 10 mins to beach, 2 mins to local pub which is lovely. Facillities are clean and staff are very friendly, welcoming and hard working. Lovely sea view and dog friendly. The hairdryer is a real treat after an evening shower 😊

    Disliked: 

    Temperamental showers at peak times

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 sites)

Nearby leisure

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Watersports nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Monknash, Cowbridge, Glamorgan, Wales, CF71 7QQ
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 51.4225°N 3.5604°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Sarn Odeon — 12.2 kilometres
The Parade — 24.8 kilometres
Bus Station — 24.8 kilometres
Train stations
Llantwit Major Rail Station — 5.7 kilometres
Bridgend Rail Station — 9.4 kilometres
Wildmill Rail Station — 11.0 kilometres
Ferry ports
Barry Waterfront Ferry Terminal — 20.1 kilometres
Minehead Harbour — 24.0 kilometres
Channel View Waterbus Stop — 26.9 kilometres
Airports
Cardiff International Airport — 15.6 kilometres
Swansea Airport — 40.6 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Coastal walks, beaches, museums, castles and outdoor activities are all around to get stuck into.

If you want to stick to the coast – it's a heritage one after all – try out one of the local surf schools or some fishing nearby at Penarth Beach or Wick. The Glamorgan Heritage Coast runs for 14 miles from Porthcawl to Aberthawl and has some highly scenic walks as well as even more scenic horse rides to be had on its beaches.

Ogmore Castle and Fonmon Castle are two nearby sites to sort some Welsh history (as is the excellent St Fagans National History Museum a short drive away in Cardiff), and the National Trust's Dyffryn Gardens will be a good day out for green-fingered types.

Also nearby, look for the local karting centre, Taskforce Skirmish Paintball and a few rounds of Welsh golf; have a look through the Heritage Coast Campsite info leaflets to get you started.

Must see

  • St Fagans: National History Museum (21.1 kilometres)
  • Castell Coch (25.0 kilometres)
  • Millennium Stadium (27.0 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Holnicote Estate (24.1 kilometres)
  • Watersmeet (27.8 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Heritage Coast Campsite cancellation policy

No refunds within 10 days of arrival date.

The park is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campground/park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, Dec. 31, 2021.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. Heritage Coast Campsite will debit the balance from your card 10 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 10 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • Can bookings for Heritage Coast Campsite be amended free of charge? Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campground/park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, Dec. 31, 2021. Read more
  • Does Heritage Coast Campsite have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Heritage Coast Campsite dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Heritage Coast Campsite? Coastal walks, beaches, museums, castles and outdoor activities are all around to get stuck into. If you want to stick to the coast – it's a heritage one after all – try … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Heritage Coast Campsite?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Heritage Coast Campsite? From R465,40 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact heritage-coast-campsite


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Extras
A charge of £0,50 (R9,93) applies for the use of the shower.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Coronavirus
Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, customers can amend their dates with the campground/park free of charge for all stays up to, and including, Dec. 31, 2021.

Safety
Firearms are not permitted.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 7 or more adults are not permitted (couples and immediate family members excepted).

Dogs
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Motorhome and touring caravan are not permitted.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 10:30 p.m. and 7 a.m..
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
The park caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

General
The park is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Dogs
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Admission
Unsupervised minors must have a letter of authorization from their parents or legal guardian.

Additional terms

Guests are not allowed to use disposable barbecues or bring their own logs or firepits: firepits are available for hire and logs and charcoal to buy.

The electricity is included in the rate for Little House.

Close