Book and review 8,691 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

Bos Verbas

9.5

This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
Find nearby parks with availability…

If you are the owner of this park, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Peaceful site overlooking fields and a short walk away from the beach
  • Wooden cabin to relax in
  • Easy access to St Michael´s Mount and its gardens

There's rather a Mediterranean twang to the name of Penzance's Bos Verbas, but as it's in sunny west Cornwall, we reckon that's downright appropriate. It's a short walk from here through lush grass fields to smashing Praa Sands too, for days basking on the beach, kayaking or surfing in Cornish waters, or simply sitting with a beverage at the Praa Sands Beachcomber café... (Hint: a pub is on Praa Sands as well.)

Bos Verbas is a small and quiet site, with up to date facilities including an amenities block with loos and free hot showers, a washing-up area and free use of a kettle, iron and fridge.

The site also has a cosy wooden cabin for guests to have relaxed days painting, reading, sketching and plotting their next moves in the area using the Bos Verbas tourist info point: research a pile of walks from here as Bos Verbas is dog friendly too.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 23 reviews

 

100% would recommend this park to a friend.

91% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Very nice site with excellent facilities. 08/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ralph R. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovley site with plenty of space around van

    Disliked: 

    Small dog in one van got out and bit the wife. Should be a ban on uncontrollable dogs on all sites.

From the manager...

I am pleased you enjoyed staying at our site and would recommend and return.

Our terms and conditions (signed as read by all Customers) state that all dogs (including guide and hearing dogs) remian on a lead at all times. Unfortunately one of the children in the van containing the small dog, left the door open and the lady owner (due to a pending hip replacement) could not run after the dog in time to catch it. I spoke with the owner who did offer to leave. As she and the dog were already going home before the family, so she could have her operation,, I allowed her to stay with the dog on the proviso that the dog was closely monitored at all times. As an aside the dog did stay without incident last year.

I am surprised at the customer service and child friendliness score (if these are realvant to your incident) as I think the matter was dealt with swiftly and with empathy, especially towards your wife who was of course shaken by the incident. We asked our friend's wife who is a GP (who was in the adjacent pitch) to check on your wife's injury and they reported back that she had put a dressing on and that as of that time it was not necessary to seek further help.

If you decide to visit us again you will of course be most welcome.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Angela and Bob really looked after us they were only a phone call away 08/01/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom peter o. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peacefulness. Level pitches.spotless amenities. Provides a small kitchen .sea views. Massive pitches.

    Disliked: 

    Only booked a week

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice and quiet well maintained dog friendly camp site near Penzance. 07/29/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom csilla_k Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Flat and grassed pitch surranded by bush and trees, Dog friendly, Quiet, Kitchen, washing up facilities, Wifi is excellent and free.

    Disliked: 

    20 minutes walk from the sea, Only one toilet per genders, and only two unisex shower room for the whole campsite. I think it is not enough and caused queueing a few times, no microwave in the kitchen and the freezer didn't work properly.

From the manager...

We are pleased you thought the site was well maintained and dog friendly. It is evident on the map that we are a walk to the sea. Yes we do not have a lot of facilities but we try very hard not overbook the site so that people are not inconvenienced when wanting a shower, if you had to wait on occasion we are sorry but that happens at all campsites and is unavoidable no matter how many facilities there are at busy times. We are a small campsite and so do not provide a microwave or do we advertise that we do, as most people bring cooking facilities with them. I have personally checked the fridge freezer and it is working to the correct temperature but I will keep an eye on that however I wish you had mentioned this whilst you were here.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent, well maintained and quiet site with clean facilities. 07/24/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jonquil P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely and clean everywhere. Great facilities. Beautiful view, great location. A warm and helpful welcome.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Warm welcome and very helpful owner who tried to find ... 07/13/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Diane P. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Warm welcome and very helpful owner who tried to find a phone charger for me as I had forgotten mine! He also recommended local restaurants and pubs and directed us to the local beach.
    Beautiful site, well maintained and spotless facilities.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Great little campsite with very clean facilities and level pitches 07/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Julia D. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing not to like! Great location, fantastic view; well equipped and maintained; friendly; big flat pitches and overall a great little campsite.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Superb, peaceful, well located campsite. 07/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mike A. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The reviews we read were very good, so we booked a stay of four nights, we actually added an extra night as we loved it so much. Bos Verbas did not disappoint. It's simply superb!

    It's a lovely peaceful location, and it's very well located for easily exploring anywhere by car from The Lizard or Falmouth to the east, to St Ives or further, on the north coast. Because it's such a short distance between the north and south coasts, it's like being on an island making attractions on both coasts easily accessible.

    On foot, it's about twenty minutes stroll to the beach at Praa Sands, where you can swim, relax or visit the beach cafe. Dogs are not allowed on the beach itself between 7-00am & 7-00pm.

    Camping pitch sizes are huge compared to most others we've camped on. The facilities are immaculately maintained and the grass is regularly cut. When we arrived Bob gave us the best meet and greet welcome that we've ever had. There's also free wi-fi.

    Our favourite places visited were: The Lizard, Kynance Cove, Falmouth, St Michael's Mount, Levant Tin Mine, Mousehole, St Ives, Gwithian & Godrevy lighthouse.

    We loved it and will definitely return again. Dogs are allowed.

    Disliked: 

    No dislikes.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

A little gem of a camp site. 07/03/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jackie S. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spotless camp site, toilet block and kitchen. Spacious pitches, peaceful and lovely views. Owners very helpful and friendly.

    Disliked: 

    Sadly the weather let us down but that's England!! Still love it and would re visit again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Plots are very big 07/03/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Julie O. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Plots are very big

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

A cosy and beautiful campsite. Nothing to complain. We would ... 06/21/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mina M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A cosy and beautiful campsite. Nothing to complain. We would strongly recommend. Thank you Angela and Bob!

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

Takeout

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal sites

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Type

Tiny (1-10 sites)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Helston Road Penzance, Cornwall, England, TR20 9AA
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.1131°N 5.3854°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Porthleven: The Square Coach Stop — 3.6 miles
Crowlas (Cornwall): Coach Stop — 4.7 miles
St Erth: Rail Station Coach Stop — 4.8 miles
Train stations
St Erth Rail Station — 4.8 miles
Lelant Saltings Rail Station — 5.2 miles
Hayle Rail Station — 5.2 miles
Ferry ports
Penzance Ferry Terminal — 6.4 miles
Helford Village Ferry Landing — 11.2 miles
Helford Passage Ferry Landing — 11.5 miles
Airports
Penzance Airport — 6.0 miles
Land's End St Just Airport — 12.6 miles
Newquay St Mawgan Airport — 28.6 miles

Directions


Follow A391 from Penzance to Helston.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Beaches, beaches and more beaches... as you might have heard, west Cornwall is stuffed with them. Some of the beaches at Hayle are dog friendly, as are the sands and shingle of nearby Long Rock Beach, a viewsome stop off on a coastal hike from Marazion to Penzance and with splendid views out to St Michael's Mount.

Speaking of which... the Mount is a bit of a must if you're investigating this corner of Cornwall. This tiny island linked to the town of Marazion is just over four miles from Bos Verbas and can be walked too at certain times during mid-tide to low water. Regular boats go back and forth from the Mount and Marazion if you miss the causeway timings. And yes – there's a garden on the island too.

The King Harry Ferry will take you across the River Fal from St Mawes to the Roseland Peninsula; like the Mount, this is also a bit of a west Cornwall must.

Studenty Falmouth and arty St Ives are also within easy reach, or you could decide to be outdoorsy and spend your days in the immediate area surfing, kayaking or fishing. A nine-hole golf course is available nearby.

Must see

  • St Michael's Mount (4.1 miles)
  • Flambards (5.8 miles)
  • National Seal Sanctuary (8.0 miles)

National Trust

  • Godolphin (2.2 miles)
  • St Michael's Mount (4.1 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Bos Verbas


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
All guests spending the night at the park must present their ID at the reception desk and sign registration forms.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Additional terms

Reception is unmanned after 6pm. Please call using the number in the confirmation email to request late arrival. Strictly no arrivals after 8pm.

Close