Book and review 4,116 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Dolbryn Caravan and Camping

9.4

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Peaceful family site in a Teifi valley wildlife haven
  • A five-minute drive from Newcastle Emlyn and the River Teifi
  • Fishing pond; cosy bar; shop and arts, crafts and farm activities

Sick of wrestling the X-box from your little monkeys’ paws and chasing them out into the fresh air? Take them to talk to the animals at this fab and family-friendly south Wales farm site instead. Or go along with your other half for some rural relaxation – the owners of quiet and secluded Dolbryn Caravan and Camping, near Newcastle Emlyn in Carmarthenshire, know what make all sorts tick.

For grown-up concerns, Dolbryn has a small fishing pond on site for a couple of hours’ chilling, or you could just wander around site and spy some species: this is a wildlife haven site, with birds, fruit and flowers spottable around the valley, stream, ponds and hedgerows.

Small people have plenty laid on to keep them entertained, including arts and crafts events, helping to feed the chickens, guinea pigs, rabbits, pigs and goats every morning, and the Sticky Club for an hour on Sunday mornings in high season (under-eights must be accompanied by an adult).

The amenities at Dolbryn are well thought out: original and refurbished farm buildings with separate heated wash facilities for ladies and gents; a family room with disabled access, a large fridge freezer for guests’ use and a laundry room with two washing machines.

Another barn has been turned into a cosy family-friendly bar that's open at weekends and evenings in high season, and there's also a small shop with a range of locally reared meat and baked goodies as well as everyday essentials.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 25 reviews

 

92% would recommend this site to a friend.

92% would stay here again.

  80% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

lovely quiet clean site, staff and seasonal customers extremely friendly …09/21/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTracy H.Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    lovely quiet clean site, staff and seasonal customers extremely friendly and welcoming. They have a well equipped play area for the kids,

    Disliked: 

    nothing to dislike

From the manager...

Thanks for the review - we appreciate the kind words!
It was great to meet you and we hope to see you another time :)
Thanks again,
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Certainly recommend. Good facilities with small shop. Friendly.09/17/2019

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomgraham w.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful setting and peace & quiet. Not a sound of a motorway!! Large grass pitch and plenty of freedom to roam.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to review, and for the kind words.
Thrilled you enjoyed it here and it was lovely to meet you.
Thanks again,
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

This site is excellent in every way. Owners very happy …09/13/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNeville S.Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This site is excellent in every way. Owners very happy and helpful,

    Disliked: 

    Nothing except weather.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review - we appreciate the kind words!
So glad you enjoyed our site; it was lovely to meet you both, and we hope to see you again another time.
Thanks,
Sioned, and all the team at Dolbryn x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Family friendly team - we were on a non electric …09/02/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPeter John A.Confirmed

  • Mountain View non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Family friendly team - we were on a non electric pitch, but they generously offered access to power supply to inflate our airbed, and on more than one occasion charged our mobile phones for us.
    They had many extras like mini farm to 'feed the animals'.
    Allowed dogs on site at no extra charge.
    Free fishing in their pond.
    Fantastic idea of 'fire pit' for hire, with accompanying treat kit - kids loved it!

    Disliked: 

    weather, but that's just Wales!

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to review - and for the kind words. We're thrilled you enjoyed it here and our local area.
Thanks,
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

The whole site was ideal, family friendly but quiet also. …08/29/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDanielle N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Mountain View non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The whole site was ideal, family friendly but quiet also. We loved the animals and the woodland walk. Very organised and good facilities. Thank you

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks for the kind comments - we're thrilled you enjoyed it here! It was lovely to meet you all :)
Thanks again!
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Amazing place08/26/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Every thing

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you :)
Thrilled that you enjoyed! Hope to see you another time.
From Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Amazing stay. 100% recommended08/25/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • 3 bedroom rental tent (2 adults and 3 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff were very friendly. Camp was amazing and clean. Toilets and showers were close by and clean. Barn bar was cute and cheap. Shop had essentials that you needed which was helpful. Treasure hunt was fun. Feeding animals in the morning was really cute and fun. All loved it.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing at all. I cant fault it.

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review - and for the kind words. We're really thrilled you enjoyed it here, thanks so much! Hope to see you another time.
From Sioned, and all the team at Dolbryn x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Site is a nice farm setting, staff friendly. A bit basic.08/20/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Rural setting

    Disliked: 

    Barn style bathrooms and showers and grass pitch was on a slope

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to review. We're sorry our site wasn't suited to you, but we hope you still had an enjoyable week. We do appreciate that our facilities are a bit rustic (although always clean and hot), and renovating them is on our project list for the next few years.
Thanks again for your feedback,
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn x

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Dreadful on every level08/19/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndy L.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Cwtch camping pod (couples only)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nothing

    Disliked: 

    Carbon monoxide alarm relentless, toilets closed nobody to speak to for resolutions or enquiries. Booked for 2 nights stayed one sleepless night and couldn’t find anyone to speak to so left the key and left. Not a cheap place to stay for what it was and the experience was truly shocking. If I could get hold of anyone to would insist in a refund! Went to Gower instead and found a wonderful B and B for the same price where nothing was too much trouble.

From the manager...

I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I can only apologise about the alarm - occasionally the batteries do run low and need replacing, which is an easy fix had we known about it. Our reception is open all day (8am - 8pm with a break for lunch at 12) so it's unfortunate you weren't able to come and see us during the opening hours.
We take our guests satisfaction very seriously, so as a gesture of goodwill, we would offer you a refund for the night you stayed - please contact us by email to arrange this.
I'm sorry again for your bad experience and we thank you for your feedback,
Sioned, and all the team at Dolbryn

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Child and dog friendly site with clean facilities08/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAlison C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We visited 3 years ago and have the most wonderful time, therefore we chose to camp at Dolbryn again, this time we had our dog in tow. The welcome we received was happy and very helpful. To my absolute joy, we were pitched on the same pitch as 3 years ago. Such a wonderful spot. The park has had a complete make over and I struggled to get my girls out of there. Ha ha.
    Near the bar there were black boards informing guests about the activities that were taking place. We arrived on a Friday and there was a BBQ on, which was ideal for us on our first night. They offered beef or lamb burgers, sausages in a roll or veggie burgers.
    In the washing machine room, there was a fridge/freezer, to freeze your blocks or refrigerate your milk if you have no electric. Another bonus was a huge blackboard in there, which had dog friendly places to visit or rainy day places to visit.
    The girls fed the rabbit, guinea-pig goats chickens and pot bellied pig every morning. Whilst we were there they moved the guinea-pig, rabbit and chickens to a new home nearer the goats and pig.
    There is a little stream that our girls paddled in with their wellies on. A tree swing by a path that leads into the the woods, where there is a beautiful little walk, a little vineyard and a little bridge with a gate to the lake. Our dog loved exploring this area and our girls loved rolling down the hills.
    There is a big field for letting your dog off the lead, our sight hound absolutely loved speeding around it.
    The grass is soft and luscious. There is WiFi on site, it is slow in the morning and evening due to the sheer amount of people using it.
    Having spoken to many guests, we found that the majority were returning guests. The welcoming feeling, kindness and helpfulness from staff is just perfect and made our holiday all the better.
    I would highly recommend staying here and will tell all who want camping recommendations.

    Disliked: 

    No dislikes from us.

From the manager...

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review - we really appreciate the kind words.
Thrilled you enjoyed it here again; it was fab to see you all again, and look forward to seeing you another time soon!
Thanks again,
Sioned, and all the team at Dolbryn x
PS - thanks for your patience with the wifi - it is really slow at times, but it is in our list of things to sort out this winter! x

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Tents for hire

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Pre-erected tents

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transportation nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 sites)

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Seasonal sites

Tourer storage facilities

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Capel Iwan Road, Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire, Wales, SA38 9LP
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.0170°N 4.4816°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Pencader (Carmarthenshire): Square Bus Stop — 15.0 kilometres
Carmarthen: Blue Street o/s Bus Station — 21.6 kilometres
St Clears (Carmarthenshire) Coach Stop — 22.0 kilometres
Train stations
Carmarthen Rail Station — 21.8 kilometres
Whitland Rail Station — 23.9 kilometres
Clunderwen Rail Station — 26.1 kilometres
Ferry ports
Fishguard Ferry Terminal — 35.2 kilometres
Tenby Ferry Landing — 41.0 kilometres
Caldey Island Ferry Landing — 44.4 kilometres
Airports
Swansea Airport — 54.2 kilometres

Directions


Turn south off the A484 in Newcastle Emlyn towards Capel Iwan. After the leisure centre turn left and follow the signs for two miles. The site is on the right after Bronygarn garage.

If you are using a GPS system please ensure that you go to Newcastle Emlyn and then to Dolbryn. Do not go via Capel Iwan (the village) as the route is very narrow.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Dolbryn's location is among award-winning beaches, coastal walks, fishing and more wildlife spotting, as well as waterfalls, steam railways, theme parks and family days out (the Welsh Chocolate Farm should be a sweet hit with anyone).

Start off on the doorstep at the market town of Newcastle Emlyn, on the River Teifi two miles from Dolbryn and with castle ruin, farmers’ market, shops and cafés; a leisure centre with indoor pool is nearby too.

The village of Cenarth, a few miles away on the borders of Pembrokeshire, Ceredigion and Carmarthenshire, is famed for its small waterfall Cenarth Falls and for its salmon fishing. The National Coracle Centre, a museum devoted to the small traditional boats, overlooks the falls along with the old flour grinder Cenarth Mill.

Heading coastwards for half an hour or so, the coastal paths and beaches around west Wales could be combed for weeks: try the beaches of Newport Bay, Fishguard and Aberporth, porpoise and dolphin spotting around Cardigan Bay, home of one of only two pods of bottlenose dolphins in the UK.

Must see

  • National Wool Museum (5.7 kilometres)
  • Llanerchaeron - National Trust (28.3 kilometres)
  • National Botanic Garden of Wales (30.1 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Dolaucothi Gold Mines (36.3 kilometres)
  • Aberdeunant (36.4 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

  • Does Dolbryn Caravan and Camping have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Dolbryn Caravan and Camping dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Dolbryn Caravan and Camping? Dolbryn's location is among award-winning beaches, coastal walks, fishing and more wildlife spotting, as well as waterfalls, steam railways, theme parks and family days out (the Welsh Chocolate Farm should be a … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Dolbryn Caravan and Camping?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon

    Earlier arrivals and later stays are usually available during quiet times outside of school holidays and bank holidays. If you do arrive early site staff will do their best to accommodate you.

    Read more

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact dolbryn-caravan-and-camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.

General
A state-issued fishing license is required (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leashes and supervised at all times.

Occupancy
Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Dogs
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Occupancy
No bachelor/bachelorette parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Only one car is to be parked at the site. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Reception
Reception is open from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. and from 2 p.m. to 8 p.m. between 01/03 and 03/11.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

General
The bar is open between 01/03 and 03/11.
The grocery shop is open between 01/03 and 03/11.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Dogs
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act (i.e. Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, and Fila Brasileiro).

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Sites
You must follow management instructions when setting up your tent/rig and related equipment.

Additional terms

All visitors are asked to observe the quiet rule after 11:30pm, with all children quietening down by 9.30pm.

Dolbryn is a quiet family site; groups of 4 or more under-25s are not allowed.

Close