Book and review 3,352 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning

8.6
View prices & book
From £16/€18.61/A$29.10/US$22.47/CA$27.35/CHF20.36/SEK188.92/DKK138.38/NOK187.80/ISK2,801/ARS2,112.85/CLP15,905/PEN82.23/$31.30/ZAR317.96/PLN84.22/R$119.31/CZK474.76/RSD2,187/HUF6,640.13/RUB1,663.80/CN¥145 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning: Non-electric grass pitches

General

  • Well-maintained level pitches with views over Cannock Chase
  • A 15-minute drive from Shugborough Hall; 20 minutes from Stafford
  • Two coarse fishing pools on site with accessible pegs

Fishing meets fab views at this site in the Staffordshire countryside, 20 minutes’ drive from Stafford.

The fishing part of the equation at Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning comes from the setting next to two coarse fishing pools known as Carney Pools, which have fishing for all ages and abilities (including wheelchair-accessible pegs) at a pretty 12-acre site. And the views? Those come from a location that looks out over the Cannock Chase Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Pitches are set up in a level seven-acre field that’s sheltered by a well-established hedge. Dogs are welcome as long as they’re kept on a lead and cleaned up after; there’s a designated dog walk area on site for them to stretch their paws, and dogs aren’t allowed around the fishing pools until after the fishery closes for the day.

For a break from fishing there are plenty of riverside and canalside strolls nearby, along with walks in Cannock Chase and other outings to the likes of a National Trust estate, a farm park or the atmospheric National Memorial Arboretum.

To sort food and other essentials, it’s a journey of just under a mile to Wolseley Bridge where there’s a shop, pub, garden centre and Indian restaurant (which will also do deliveries if you’re in the mood to flop out on site). The folk here also recommend a trip to the farm shop three miles away to pick up bits for a picnic or barbecue back at base.

Please note

Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.

Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

There are currently no toilets & showers facilities available onsite due to ongoing works.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.6

Overall rating based on 18 reviews

 

83% would recommend this site to a friend.

83% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters

Pleasing site, great location for biking. Will definitely return05/06/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fab site, great location. We took our e-bike with us and had a great time on Cannock Chase.
    Staff were friendly and welcoming. Shower block in the process of being built, business opportunity to offer charging batteries for e- bike for those camping off grid

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike really

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent clean site with friendly staff and level pitches.05/05/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKim R.Confirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass touring pitch (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Cleanliness
    Space between pitches
    Fishing Pools
    Mobile Bar
    Friendly and Welcoming Staff
    Peace and Quiet!! even with the trainline.

    Disliked: 

    Going Home!!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Off the beaten track. Probably good for groups in the …04/27/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass touring pitch (2 adults and 2 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Off the beaten track. Probably good for groups in the large field. Lots of water birds. Friendly amenable site warden

    Disliked: 

    single track road to the site turnoff, limited passing points although only for 1/4 mile. Bumpy gravel road access to the site. Hardstanding pitches are under the trees and out of the sun for most of the day and evening. Train lines are close by.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great place would highly recommend04/26/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJay W.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (maximum 2 adults)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful location, close links with Cannock Chase for some excellent walks. Plenty pitch spaces. Very accommodating owners who are on hand for queries. Ground is great with little slopes so nice flat area to use.

    Disliked: 

    Proximity to Trainline isn’t ideal but shouldn’t put you off.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely open field with great views all around and friendly …04/26/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomElliott M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (maximum 2 adults)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely open field with great views all around and friendly staff.

    Disliked: 

    A bit difficult to find even with satnav but as long as you keep an eye out for the sign you should be ok.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

This was our first visit to Carney Pools. Hollie and …04/25/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomTerry G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    This was our first visit to Carney Pools. Hollie and Ed could not have been more helpful. Although the work on the new facilities block is still on going it didn't cause us a problem. The fishing was good on days we fished and there is a well stocked fishing tackle section in the lodge where Bev, Mike and Alex were very helpful. The only minor criticism is the cost of the fishing on top of the daily pitch fee. It would be helpful if there was a reduced fee for the fishing as it becomes very expensive when you both want to fish every day. Thanks very much for a lovely holiday. Hope all goes well.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Friendly staff, clean facilities, well stocked tackle shop04/24/2021

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKeir M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch (maximum 2 adults)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very clean facilities, quiet and picturesque

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Was perfect location for our activities in Tamworth and stock. …10/30/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomjohn f.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Was perfect location for our activities in Tamworth and stock. Cannock Chase close for a bike ride. This is really for fishing as well and if you like the fishing the ponds looked great and we’re always busy

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Poor site and facilities10/14/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Rural location with nice ponds

    Disliked: 

    This is an extremely basic campsite. It is basically a few gravel pitches at the side of a field.
    The toilets were housed in shipping containers which had seen much better days. The toilets themselves were clean but the floors were muddy and the bin had not been emptied for a long time.
    The showers were in a portacabin and were very outdated. You had to pay to use the showers!
    The approach to the site was up a long lane full of deep muddy potholes.
    We will not be returning.

From the manager...

In reply to your review you left on 14th October 2020, I can only apologise if you was not happy with your stay with us.

My partner and I have recently taken on the running of the Carney Pools campsite and fishery and we are very aware that the site is basic and needs updating. However, we are slowly bringing the site up to date, having recently refurbished the fishing pegs and up-dated the lodge area with a small tackle shop. We are looking to put a new toilet and shower block in for next spring which will bring the site update. We feel this will greatly improve the facilities for all caravaners and campers.

We have not had many poor reviews as we endeavour to keep the site as clean as possible especially the showers and toilets - sometimes floors can become muddy especially if being used by campers when the field is wet. We do empty our bins on a regular basis, but cannot stop the public from using excessive paper roll, which does fill bins - it would not be in our interest to leave bins un-emptied.

Regarding charging for the showers, we have unfortunately had to have this charge as in the pass people have abused the use of the showers and left water running, which is a waste of water and electricity. This may be reviewed with the new shower block.

The lane to the site has recently been repaired and will be kept in good maintenance from now on. We apologise if you experienced the potholes but as stated early we are new comers to this business.

We would like to offer you another stay with us for when our site is updated as we believe that you did like the rural location and as you have commented the pools were nice. We can offer you complementary fishing tickets in the spring if you wish to return.

The new management of Carney Pools

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Rung by site- given details of how to gain access …10/11/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Electric asphalt and grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Rung by site- given details of how to gain access as we were arriving late

    Disliked: 

    Showers and toilets ok-just

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

We just want to let you know, that we are in the process of updating the showers and toilets for the spring 2021 and we are well aware that shower and toilet facilities need updating. We have recently taken over the running of the pools and endeavour to make the site a pleasurable experience for all regardless if camping, caravanning or fishing.

We would really welcome you returning so that we can show that we have taken on board our customer feedback - we welcome both positive and constructive reviews - because without feedback, it does not give us scope to improve.

Overall
4
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: one group at a time

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Hand sanitizing stations

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Dog park

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Scouts welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Themes

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

Electric car charging point(s)

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Dog walk nearby

Public transportation nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Bishton Lane, Wolseley Bridge, Staffordshire, England, ST18 0ZX
  • Timezone Europe/London +0100 (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.7870°N 1.9558°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Stafford: Station Rd Coach Stop — 11.4 kilometres
Cannock Bus Station — 11.9 kilometres
Penkridge Coach Stop — 12.8 kilometres
Train stations
Rugeley Trent Valley Rail Station — 2.6 kilometres
Rugeley Town Rail Station — 3.9 kilometres
Hednesford Rail Station — 9.1 kilometres
Ferry ports
Woodside Birkenhead Ferry Terminal — 97.8 kilometres
Airports
Birmingham International Airport — 40.1 kilometres
Birmingham International Airport Terminal 1 — 40.1 kilometres
Birmingham International Airport Terminal 2 — 40.3 kilometres

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Rural break not complete without spotting some animals out in the open? Try your luck on the trails around the Staffordshire Wildlife Trust’s Wolseley Centre (five minutes’ drive) or head to Amerton Farm (15 minutes) to feed lambs, groom horses and see chicks hatching (or let off some steam at the indoor and outdoor play areas…)

For more of those peaceful country rambles, spend a thoughtful day at the National Memorial Arboretum or see if you can catch one of the opening dates at Mitton Manor Gardens for some splendid topiary, water features and sculptures. Both are 25 minutes away.

Can’t resist the chance to poke about in a palatial country house? Nip over to the National Trust estate at Shugborough Hall or get your imagination going at the remains of Chartley Castle; both can be reached with a 15-minute drive. If that’s all a tad sedate, you may find the thrills of Hednesford Hills Raceway (25 minutes) more to your liking.

Must see

  • Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum & Bookshop (14.4 kilometres)
  • National Memorial Arboretum (15.4 kilometres)
  • Sudbury Hall (17.0 kilometres)

National Trust

  • Shugborough Estate (4.1 kilometres)
  • Letocetum Roman Baths and Museum (16.0 kilometres)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  noon –  5 p.m.
Depart by:  noon
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  5 p.m.
Depart by:  noon

Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Hired accommodation: £50.00 ($96.36) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning? Rural break not complete without spotting some animals out in the open? Try your luck on the trails around the Staffordshire Wildlife Trust’s Wolseley Centre (five minutes’ drive) or head to Amerton … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  noon –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    On-site accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning? From $31.30 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact carney-pools-camping-and-caravanning


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

General
A state-issued fishing license is required (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.

Extras
Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £50.00 ($96.36) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..

Safety
Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

General
The fishing lakes are stocked with carp, tench, bream, F1's, ghost carp, roach, perch and many more.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
There are currently no toilets & showers facilities available onsite due to ongoing works.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Close