Book and review 2,419 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Redcar Rugby Club

8.8
View prices & book
From £14/€15.49/A$25.56/US$18.25/CA$24.07/CHF16.58/SEK159.44/DKK115.28/NOK167.77/ISK2,558/ARS1,429/CLP14,105/PEN65.97/NZ$27.23/ZAR295.57/PLN71.07/R$104.13/CZK423.38/RSD1,823/HUF5,661.08/RUB1,413.89/CN¥122.42 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Pitches available across the site during rugby off-season

General

  • Rugby club site around five minutes’ walk from Redcar’s sandy beach
  • A 20-minute walk from town and 25 minutes from Marske-by-the-Sea
  • Play area, bar showing live sports, gym and games room with pool table

Roll up to Redcar Rugby Club for a sports-themed stay at a 24-acre park on the edges of the North York Moors National Park. Those who can’t sit still are sorted here: there’s an on-site gym for active types, along with a games room to organise pool, darts and table football tournaments.

Stroll five minutes to Redcar’s eight-mile-long beach for a kickabout and a spot of cricket on the sand, or if you’d rather watch a match than play in it, head to the bar back on base to catch Live Sky Sports and BT Sport action on the TVs.

Swimmers could splash about at the public swimming pool in Redcar (20 minutes’ walk); rowers might like to linger at Locke Park boating lake; and those keen for the green can indulge at the Cleveland Golf Links (all within 15 minutes’ drive).

Not into sports? Go off on a gentle jaunt to Redcar or Marske-by-the-Sea, both around 20 minutes’ walk, to peruse the shops, cafés and bars instead.

A playground is at the site and there are various soft play options close by for indoor amusement when the younger guests don’t fancy bounding around in the open air. For family days out, put top north Yorkshire attractions such as the seaside town of Whitby (45 minutes) – said to be the inspiration behind Bram Stoker’s Dracula novel – on the agenda.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.8

Overall rating based on 8 reviews

 

88% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Fantastic we loved it friendly staff n very clean09/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul M.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic we loved it friendly staff n very clean

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Large area toilets and showers, easy cycling to Redcar you …09/24/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPatricia T.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Large area toilets and showers, easy cycling to Redcar you saltburn by the sea

    Disliked: 

    Long walk to toilets and showers

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Good place to stay for a few nights, very reasonably priced09/20/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKirby D.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and quiet area, close to the beach, plenty of space to distance from others

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Spacious, level pitches. All the facilities you need. Walking distance …09/14/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spacious, level pitches. All the facilities you need. Walking distance to beach.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Friendly staff and pitch was level.09/14/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Big rugby feild, lots of wild birds. Allows dogs which is good.

    Disliked: 

    None

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Nice flat pitch with plenty of room for kids to …09/08/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice flat pitch with plenty of room for kids to play.
    Drinking water tap provided.
    Waste water drain provided.
    Toilet and showers available 24/7.
    Club house on site.

    Disliked: 

    Drones allowed to be flown over the tents (also in high winds). Not only is the noise annoying but the blades would cut through a tent or hurt someone if they blew off course and hit something. *Appreciate this may be a one off and not a regular occurrence.

    Some guests not abiding by the 11pm no noise rules.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Level field, plenty of space and quite area.easy access to …09/07/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAndrew B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Level field, plenty of space and quite area.easy access to beach (five minute walk)

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Never again08/29/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomStephen C.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The sunshine
    One water tap

    Disliked: 

    Falsely advertized !was expecting a club to open at 12 ish. Opened at 5
    On arrival I was not expected .had I been dishonest I could have only paid 48 pounds for two campervans. Because i booked on line through pitchup it cost 84 quid.
    Toilets and showers comprised of one each for men and women.
    Chemical toilet was pull up a manhole cover with your fingers then spill ya shit down it!!!!!
    The rubbish bins were overflowing and piled up on the ground
    No WiFi as advertised

From the manager...

We are extremely sorry that you would "never again" visit our site.

We are a new site and are hoping to learn from our mistakes as we go however I would like to address and apologise on the comments made.

1) Falsely advertised ! I was expecting a club to open at 12ish. Opened at 5
A) Im not sure where it states opening times, it states on PitchUp that you can arrive "anytime" and to contact the mobile number on the gate for access so Im not sure what this wasn't the case. The site can be accessed 24/7 however our clubhouse is only manned Mon to Fri 5pm till 12am Sat/Sun 12pm till 12am.

2) On arrival I was not expected.
A) Im not sure how this is happened as we have you listed on the computer system therefore we were aware of your arrival and have marked you as arrived - I will speak to the bar staff about this confusion, apologies if you felt you were greeted unfairly ?

3) Costings
A) We ran an offer throughout July/August due to COVID restrictions directly from our FaceBook Page Only - It was a promotional offer as we are a new site. I can only apologise for not seeing this offer prior to booking on PitchUp. Thank you for your honesty though it is really appreciated.

4)Toilets and showers comprised of one each for men and women.
A) As stated in facilities and further information - the showering and changing are a utilised rugby changing room, COVID-19 regulations states that we could only allow 1 user/1 family unit in the facility at a time. During club opening hours you have access to multiple toilets. Again apologies but we don't want to be on the wrong side of government guidance.

5) Chemical toilet was pull up a manhole cover with your fingers then spill ya shit down it!!!!!
A) I can't argue for or against this as it has been passed as an efficient waste disposal unit and this is the first complaint we have had about it, I am at a loss what else to do with this so we will have to take onboard your criticism.

6) The rubbish bins were overflowing and piled up on the ground
A) Thank you for this and I have to agree, totally unacceptable. This has been addressed and we have changed waste disposal providers as they have let us down on two separate occasions, unfortunately for us this doesn't remedy or solve your complaint but you can be assured this was addressed after they didn't show up for the midweek collection.

7) No Wifi as advertised
A) We have Wifi in and around the clubhouse therefore when setting up this site we were advised to state we had it, however if it is going to be a cause for concern and issue us complaints we may remove this from our offer.

My only other defence is the scoring of the following

Child friendliness - We have had a full summer of families who have enjoyed a wonderful time on-site, with a play park, clubhouse, games room, beach 2 min walk away and 26 acres of enclosed field to play and enjoy. As an adult only group it seems a bit harsh to rate it that low but as Ive already stated we will take on your feedback.

£12 Per Night is extremely cheap and costed due to the basic amenities, not sure what is expected for that price.

We are disappointed but understand some of your frustrations that we have apologised for and would always welcome feedback, more so whilst on site so we can remedy any issues there and then.

Thank you for taking the time to review and we will develop/change what we can.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

24+ hour ventilation between accommodation guests

Distance markers in shared facilities

Extra spacing in seated areas

Hand sanitising stations

More frequent emptying of bins

One-way flow for entering/leaving buildings

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Staggered showering times

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

TV room

Take away

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Car parking by pitch/unit

Composting toilet

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue provided

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Peaceful

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Communal fridge

Gas cylinders available

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Nearby leisure

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Mackinlay Park, Green Lane, Redcar, North Yorkshire, England, TS10 3RW
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 54.6014°N 1.0422°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Middlesbrough Bus Station — 8.1 miles
Hartlepool: Stockton Street Coach Stop — 8.9 miles
Billingham on Tees: Wolviston Rd Coach Stop — 10.4 miles
Train stations
Redcar East Rail Station — 0.7 miles
Longbeck Rail Station — 1.0 miles
Marske Rail Station — 1.3 miles
Ferry ports
Transporter Bridge North Side — 7.5 miles
Transporter Bridge South Side — 7.6 miles
Airports
Durham Tees Valley Airport — 16.9 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Much of Redcar’s main attractions are accessible on foot from this site, including the beach (five minutes’ walk) and the town centre (20 minutes).

Pile the kids in the car for trips to the Kirkleatham Museum (10 minutes’ drive) set in a Queen Anne building brimming with local history exhibits. Take a tour to learn about the past or just wing your way to the aviary and play park instead.

It’s easy to get up close and personal with fluttering creatures in the local area. Call in at the Kirkleatham Owl Centre (10 minutes) to watch birds of prey during flying displays before eyeing up feathered animals in their natural habitat at the Teesmouth National Nature Reserve wetlands on the Tees Estuary.

Stick to outdoor activities by rowing around the Locke Park boating lake and checking out the water-balanced cliff lifts at Saltburn-by-the-Sea (both 15 minutes) next, or tick Whitby (45 minutes), one of the prettiest seaside towns in the North York Moors National Park, off your travel list.

Must see

  • Captain Cook Birthplace Museum (7.5 miles)
  • mima (7.9 miles)
  • Hartlepool's Maritime Experience (9.0 miles)

National Trust

  • Ormesby Hall (6.9 miles)
  • Mount Grace Priory (18.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
Depart by:  Anytime

On arrival contact the manager for the access code to the gates. Please ensure gates are locked securely behind you once in the property.

Redcar Rugby Club cancellation policy

No refunds within 1 day of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Visa
MasterCard

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Redcar Rugby Club have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Redcar Rugby Club dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Redcar Rugby Club? Much of Redcar’s main attractions are accessible on foot from this site, including the beach (five minutes’ walk) and the town centre (20 minutes). Pile the kids in the car for trips … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Redcar Rugby Club?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
    Depart by:  Anytime

    On arrival contact the manager for the access code to the gates. Please ensure gates are locked securely behind you once in the property.

    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Redcar Rugby Club? From €15.49 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact redcar_rugby_club


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Additional terms

Children must be supervised at all times.

Only one family or individual is allowed to use the shower and toilet facilities at any one time.

Close