Book and review 2,068 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park

9.5
View prices & book
From £16.50/€18.56/A$29.11/US$22.42/$28.56/CHF19.97/SEK188.18/DKK138.06/NOK192.15/ISK2,908/ARS1,922.32/CLP16,475/PEN81.24/NZ$31.40/ZAR341.42/PLN84.14/R$118.68/CZK486.05/RSD2,183/HUF6,689.65/RUB1,648/CN¥145.31 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

oaks 2020

General

  • Peaceful fishing site with 10 match and pleasure lakes
  • Leading coarse fishery with over 400 pegs and national competition
  • North York Moors and Harrogate within a half-hour drive

Game, set and… match.

If you're a serious angling aficionado, The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park at Sessay in North Yorkshire is just the ticket: it's adjacent to a whopping 10 match and pleasure lakes making up one of the best-known coarse fisheries in the north.

Fish to cast off for at The Oaks Lake include carp, tench, bream, roach, rudd, gudgeon, perch, barbel, ide, crucian, carb, golden tench and golden orfe – and the park also has a specimen fishing lake with grass carp to 25lbs, ghost carp to 26lbs and common mirrors to 28lbs. Site guests can buy reduced fishing day tickets at the side of the lake on the day they're angling to get started.

The Oaks doesn't have fishing equipment for hire, but if you want to add to your kit, a fully-stocked on site tackle shop is there to cater to your needs – next door to a café serving hot and cold food.

And if you're not a serious angling aficionado (either a beginner or a non-fishing type)? There's plenty here for you too: the site is in pole position for all sorts of off-site exploring, as it has easy access to the A1 and A19 and is handily placed for the gorgeous North York Moors, lots of country estates and the north's main towns and cities including York, Leeds and Harrogate.

Pitches are set in a four-acre field with easy access to the fishing lakes. A toilet block with separate ladies', gents' and disabled-friendly facilities is next to the field, along with a screened chemical disposal point; the site also has a free hot shower.

Finally, as it's a peaceful park set up for fishing, The Oaks doesn't allow rowdy guests and accepts adults only.

Please note

Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


This listing accepts adults only (defined as age 18+)
Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 114 reviews

 

95% would recommend this park to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

  89% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for the last 30 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Excellent site, clean, very peaceful and relaxing, the toilets and …10/05/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent site, clean, very peaceful and relaxing, the toilets and shower blocks were modern and close to every pitch.
    Not into fishing, but the lakes were lovely to walk around. Will definitely book again next year.

    Disliked: 

    The lights in the toilets must be movement activated so go out while you in there at night, have to wave your hands like a loony lol to get them back on.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Location, facilities10/07/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomMargaret F.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location, facilities

    Disliked: 

    Staff attitude, presence of dogs on a no dogs site, promised refund which didn’t materialise.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, We did do a small trial of quiet dogs onsite for September 2020 a total of 5 dogs visited the whole month for short stays. There was 1 small dog on the whole site for your first night stay 3 pitches away, you were told that they were leaving that day and no other dogs would be onsite for the remainder of your stay.
We were extremely sorry you were not notified of this and reassured you that there were no dogs onsite for the remainder of the week, however we are sorry that you choose to leave.
We will make sure that all customers are notified if we do accept quiet dogs in 2021.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Very relaxing environment09/29/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very relaxing environment

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Would highly recommend Friendly staff will certainly visit again.09/28/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJill C.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site a delight the layout is perfect plenty of space all spaces well maintained. The shower room is spotless and social distancing well implemented. Lovely cafe on site worth a visit. Excellent fishing facilities.

    Disliked: 

    No WiFi

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Overall lovely stay, gorgeous camp site with great pitches!!09/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNathan H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great pitch, love having hard standing and grass pitch together! Peaceful remote location! Facilities all very clean, tidy and spacious. Owner was friendly and very easy to check in on arrival! We loved the little touch of pitch allocation with our name written on the little chalk board was very sweet!!

    Disliked: 

    The shower is a push button system and went from warm to cold quite frequently.
    No where on site to dispose of any rubbish / recycling

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great pitches, excellent facilities, regular cleaning and inspections09/25/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomstephen p.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Excellent facilities, regularly cleaned and inspected. Nice and quiet site. Close to Thirsk and York, even Scarborough easy to get to. On site cafe good for breakfast and snacks. Fishing was excellent, with plenty of lakes to choose. Will be going again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Great little site, ideal for our rest from long journey from Scotland09/24/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomPaul R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Peace & quiet

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Beautiful location, lovely and quiet. Campers heaven!09/24/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKirsty B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We absolutely love this site. Favourite one in the North. The facilities are absolutely immaculate and covid safe. The owner is extremely helpful and contactable if you need anything. The Lakes are wonderfully maintained. And being adults only, it’s so quiet and peaceful!

    Disliked: 

    We didn’t dislike anything. Can’t fault it

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

The perfect place to tour or sit and relax09/22/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomEric J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Tranquil setting and spacious pitches

    Disliked: 

    Poor wattage on the electricity

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site, facilities cleaned regularly and site well organised09/21/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJulie B.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely, small site with great facilities. Good location and fishing lakes were fabulous.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Distance markers in shared facilities

Hand sanitizing stations

Meal delivery to unit/pitch/outdoor seated area

More frequent emptying of bins

One-way flow for entering/leaving buildings

Shared spaces: daily deep cleaning

Staggered showering times

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Adults only

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Themes

Hikers’ paradise

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Remote location

Wildlife haven

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Type

Small (11-25 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Touring and motorhomes

Tourer storage facilities

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Sessay, Thirsk, York, North Yorkshire, England, YO7 3BJ
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 54.1789°N 1.3059°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Thirsk: Market Place Clock Coach Stop — 6.5 kilometers
Ripon Bus Station — 14.9 kilometers
Knaresborough Bus Station — 21.7 kilometers
Train stations
Thirsk Rail Station — 7.0 kilometers
Northallerton Rail Station — 19.3 kilometers
Cattal Rail Station — 20.2 kilometers
Ferry ports
Transporter Bridge South Side — 45.3 kilometers
Transporter Bridge North Side — 45.5 kilometers
Airports
Durham Tees Valley Airport — 37.9 kilometers
Leeds Bradford International Airport — 41.6 kilometers

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Even if you're not one of the fisherfolk, you'll find lots to do all year round from The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park, whether you want to stride off into the moors and surrounding countryside or go urban among local towns and cities.

The walks, bike rides and tours of the North York Moors National Park a short distance away are rather legendary, as is nearby Brontë country around Haworth, the Vale of York and York city with minster and Jorvik Viking Centre. Spa town Harrogate is a short drive away.

To the east, hit the superb Yorkshire coastline and famed seaside spots like Scarborough, Filey and Whitby for family days out, wildlife watching and getting close to the Dracula legend at Whitby's clifftop abbey.

An abundance of stately homes, castles, abbeys and historic houses is also in the area, such as Castle Howard, Helmsley Castle, Beningbrough Hall, Newby Hall, Duncombe Park and the abbeys of Byland, Rievaulx and Fountains. All are within 30 minutes' drive of Sessay.

Must see

  • Rievaulx Abbey (15.1 kilometers)
  • Rievaulx Terrace & Temples (NT) (15.4 kilometers)
  • Duncombe Park (16.4 kilometers)

National Trust

  • Rievaulx Terrace (15.4 kilometers)
  • Beningbrough Hall and Gardens (18.7 kilometers)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park cancelation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19. The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park will debit the balance from your card 12 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 12 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Cash
American Express
Visa
MasterCard
Maestro
JCB

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

  • Does The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park dog friendly? No View all features
  • What attractions are near The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park? Even if you're not one of the fisherfolk, you'll find lots to do all year round from The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park, whether you want to stride off into the moors and … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  1 p.m. –  9 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park? From $28.56 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact the-oaks-lakes-caravan-park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

General
A state-issued fishing license is required (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 14 day(s) of arrival.

Extras
Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Vehicles
Only one car is to be parked at the site. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

General
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and trunks must be closed quietly.

Reception
Reception is unmanned after 6 p.m.. Please inform the park while on your way there should you expect to arrive after this time, so that the team can provide information about your unit/pitch.

Vehicles
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a camper, trailer tent or tent. Cars are not permitted when travelling with a motorhome/RV.

General
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
The site is not liable for any refund in the event of force majeure.

Additional terms

The essence of this park is that of peace and tranquillity so if you are wanting to stay up late partying this is not the site for you.

Close