Book and review 2,130 RV parks and campgrounds in the USA, Europe and South America

Feefo service rating

Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning

8
View prices & book
From £16/€18.05/A$28.27/US$21.94/$27.68/CHF19.46/SEK182.02/DKK134.31/NOK185.29/ISK2,834/ARS1,896.41/CLP15,666/PEN79.31/NZ$30.46/ZAR325.72/PLN81.83/R$115.82/CZK471.03/RSD2,137/HUF6,446.22/RUB1,618.71/CN¥141.77 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Non-electric grass pitches

General

  • Well-maintained level pitches with views over Cannock Chase
  • A 15-minute drive from Shugborough Hall; 20 minutes from Stafford
  • Two coarse fishing pools on site with accessible pegs

Fishing meets fab views at this site in the Staffordshire countryside, 20 minutes’ drive from Stafford.

The fishing part of the equation at Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning comes from the setting next to two coarse fishing pools known as Carney Pools, which have fishing for all ages and abilities (including wheelchair-accessible pegs) at a pretty 12-acre site. And the views? Those come from a location that looks out over the Cannock Chase Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Pitches are set up in a level seven-acre field that’s sheltered by a well-established hedge and has access to two showers and toilet facilities (separate ladies’ and gents’ toilets plus accessible facilities). Dogs are welcome as long as they’re kept on a lead and cleaned up after; there’s a designated dog walk area on site for them to stretch their paws, and dogs aren’t allowed around the fishing pools until after the fishery closes for the day.

For a break from fishing there are plenty of riverside and canalside strolls nearby, along with walks in Cannock Chase and other outings to the likes of a National Trust estate, a farm park or the atmospheric National Memorial Arboretum.

To sort food and other essentials, it’s a journey of just under a mile to Wolseley Bridge where there’s a shop, pub, garden centre and Indian restaurant (which will also do deliveries if you’re in the mood to flop out on site). The folk here also recommend a trip to the farm shop three miles away to pick up bits for a picnic or barbecue back at base.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.

Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

A charge of £1.00 ($1.72) applies for the use of the shower.

Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit search…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8

Overall rating based on 11 reviews

 

82% would recommend this park to a friend.

82% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Was perfect location for our activities in Tamworth and stock. …10/30/2020

Reviewer's country: United Kingdomjohn f.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Was perfect location for our activities in Tamworth and stock. Cannock Chase close for a bike ride. This is really for fishing as well and if you like the fishing the ponds looked great and we’re always busy

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Poor site and facilities10/14/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Rural location with nice ponds

    Disliked: 

    This is an extremely basic campsite. It is basically a few gravel pitches at the side of a field.
    The toilets were housed in shipping containers which had seen much better days. The toilets themselves were clean but the floors were muddy and the bin had not been emptied for a long time.
    The showers were in a portacabin and were very outdated. You had to pay to use the showers!
    The approach to the site was up a long lane full of deep muddy potholes.
    We will not be returning.

From the manager...

In reply to your review you left on 14th October 2020, I can only apologise if you was not happy with your stay with us.

My partner and I have recently taken on the running of the Carney Pools campsite and fishery and we are very aware that the site is basic and needs updating. However, we are slowly bringing the site up to date, having recently refurbished the fishing pegs and up-dated the lodge area with a small tackle shop. We are looking to put a new toilet and shower block in for next spring which will bring the site update. We feel this will greatly improve the facilities for all caravaners and campers.

We have not had many poor reviews as we endeavour to keep the site as clean as possible especially the showers and toilets - sometimes floors can become muddy especially if being used by campers when the field is wet. We do empty our bins on a regular basis, but cannot stop the public from using excessive paper roll, which does fill bins - it would not be in our interest to leave bins un-emptied.

Regarding charging for the showers, we have unfortunately had to have this charge as in the pass people have abused the use of the showers and left water running, which is a waste of water and electricity. This may be reviewed with the new shower block.

The lane to the site has recently been repaired and will be kept in good maintenance from now on. We apologise if you experienced the potholes but as stated early we are new comers to this business.

We would like to offer you another stay with us for when our site is updated as we believe that you did like the rural location and as you have commented the pools were nice. We can offer you complementary fishing tickets in the spring if you wish to return.

The new management of Carney Pools

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Rung by site- given details of how to gain access …10/11/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Rung by site- given details of how to gain access as we were arriving late

    Disliked: 

    Showers and toilets ok-just

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.

We just want to let you know, that we are in the process of updating the showers and toilets for the spring 2021 and we are well aware that shower and toilet facilities need updating. We have recently taken over the running of the pools and endeavour to make the site a pleasurable experience for all regardless if camping, caravanning or fishing.

We would really welcome you returning so that we can show that we have taken on board our customer feedback - we welcome both positive and constructive reviews - because without feedback, it does not give us scope to improve.

Overall
4
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Defiantly recommend10/05/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJacquiline J.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice and friendly

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Anonymous user

Excellent value for money on a site that wants people there10/20/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly approach & made everyone feel welcome. Lots of fishing available with very well looked after pools and disability pegs if needed. You can have a camp fire & hire a fire pit from site. The main field is very picturesque. It’s very peaceful and only 8 mins from main supermarket & McDonald’s!
    Loads of local walks available as they are so close to Cannock chase.
    The facilities were clean, the showers are 1£ for 10 mins.., I love the fact that it’s a real shower now a push button that goes off every 30 seconds. The facilities are basic but they are having a completely new block built over the winter so watch this space.
    I can’t believe we haven’t been this friendly site before.... we are booked in the following weekend and I just know we will be there lots in the future.

    Disliked: 

    There was nothing to dislike!

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your positive review, we look forward to seeing you again and wish to let you know that we aim to update our shower and toilet facilities for the new season even though your comments were very positive with no dislikes!

Kind Regards
Carney Pools

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely scenery, great fishing pools, friendly staff. Very strict it …10/04/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid P.Confirmed

  • Primitive grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely scenery, great fishing pools, friendly staff. Very strict it seems on 12 pm leaving. In all a good stay, will definately go again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice site, sufficient facilities, flat pitches and plenty space09/29/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomKerys H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent or trailer tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice site, sufficient facilities, flat pitches and plenty space

    Disliked: 

    Didn’t bother us but for lighter sleepers the site is right next to a train line which can be loud (fine through the night as they stop but will start again early morning)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Great site with clean convenient facilities. Helpful staff.09/27/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent or trailer tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Site, facilities, location

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Lovely peaceful setting with very helpful staff09/25/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDebbie A.Confirmed

  • Powered asphalt and grass trailer site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely peaceful setting with very helpful staff

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)

Great value for money and friendly staff and feel. Will book again.09/14/2020

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSteve G.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Primitive grass tent or trailer tent site
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Plenty of space , well maintained site, friendly staff, well signposted and great location.

    Disliked: 

    Really need a sink area for washing up but I believe this is in progress.

From the manager...

Thank you for your comment - yes we aim to get a sink area for our campers - watch this space for spring 2021!

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Coronavirus

Check-in: one group at a time

Deep cleaning of accommodation units between guests

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Hand sanitizing stations

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Leisure on park

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Playground

Recreation room/arcade

TV room

Takeout

Tennis

Watersports

Amenities on park

Bath available

Car parking by site/unit

Composting toilet

Drying room

Free wifi

Grocery store

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Laundromat

Parent & baby washroom

Payphone

Pick-up from public transport

Portaloo

Pub toilets

Restrooms

Shower available

Washing-up area

Wheelchair access

Wifi

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Rules

Barbecue grills allowed

Barbecue provided

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Themes

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Utilities

Charging facilities

Communal fridge

Dump station

No drinkable water point

No hot water

No running water

Propane/gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Convenience store nearby

Type

Medium (26-50 sites)

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Horseback riding nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This park does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Bishton Lane, Wolseley Bridge, Staffordshire, England, ST18 0ZX
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 52.7870°N 1.9558°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Stafford: Station Rd Coach Stop — 11.4 kilometers
Cannock Bus Station — 11.9 kilometers
Penkridge Coach Stop — 12.8 kilometers
Train stations
Rugeley Trent Valley Rail Station — 2.6 kilometers
Rugeley Town Rail Station — 3.9 kilometers
Hednesford Rail Station — 9.1 kilometers
Ferry ports
Woodside Birkenhead Ferry Terminal — 97.8 kilometers
Airports
Birmingham International Airport — 40.1 kilometers
Birmingham International Airport Terminal 1 — 40.1 kilometers
Birmingham International Airport Terminal 2 — 40.3 kilometers

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Rural break not complete without spotting some animals out in the open? Try your luck on the trails around the Staffordshire Wildlife Trust’s Wolseley Centre (five minutes’ drive) or head to Amerton Farm (15 minutes) to feed lambs, groom horses and see chicks hatching (or let off some steam at the indoor and outdoor play areas…)

For more of those peaceful country rambles, spend a thoughtful day at the National Memorial Arboretum or see if you can catch one of the opening dates at Mitton Manor Gardens for some splendid topiary, water features and sculptures. Both are 25 minutes away.

Can’t resist the chance to poke about in a palatial country house? Nip over to the National Trust estate at Shugborough Hall or get your imagination going at the remains of Chartley Castle; both can be reached with a 15-minute drive. If that’s all a tad sedate, you may find the thrills of Hednesford Hills Raceway (25 minutes) more to your liking.

Must see

  • Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum & Bookshop (14.4 kilometers)
  • National Memorial Arboretum (15.4 kilometers)
  • Sudbury Hall (17.0 kilometers)

National Trust

  • Shugborough Estate (4.1 kilometers)
  • Letocetum Roman Baths and Museum (16.0 kilometers)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

RV, trailer and tent sites
Arrive:  noon –  5 p.m.
Depart by:  noon
On-park accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  5 p.m.
Depart by:  noon

Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning cancelation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancelations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Hired accommodation: £50.00 ($85.90) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted at the park

Cash

Terms and conditions

Park booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning? Rural break not complete without spotting some animals out in the open? Try your luck on the trails around the Staffordshire Wildlife Trust’s Wolseley Centre (five minutes’ drive) or head to Amerton … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning?
    RV, trailer and tent sites
    Arrive:  noon –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    On-park accommodation
    Arrive:  2 p.m. –  5 p.m.
    Depart by:  noon
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Carney Pools Camping and Caravanning? From $27.68 (for 1 night, 2 adults) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact carney-pools-camping-and-caravanning


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Extras
A charge of £1.00 ($1.72) applies for the use of the shower.

General
A state-issued fishing license is required (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.

Changes to your holiday
Changes cannot be made once you have booked.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the on-site accommodations.

Extras
Facilities/activities including fishing are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £50.00 ($85.90) damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Extras
Motorcycle(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

General
Quiet hours must be respected between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m..

Safety
Swimming in the lake is not allowed.

General
The fishing lakes are stocked with carp, tench, bream, F1's, ghost carp, roach, perch and many more.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behavior is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Close