Book and review 8,714 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Sychpwll Centre

9.5
View prices & book
From £20/€22.67/A$33.96/US$27.05/CA$33.41/CHF26.28/kr216.68/kr169.35/kr211.42/kr2,899/$472.81/$16,667/PEN87.87/NZ$37.15/R358.42/zł96.99/R$84.53/Kč591.72/RSD2,703 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Eco-friendly site surrounded by spectacular Powys countryside
  • Eco buildings surrounded by a wildflower camping meadow
  • Straw-bale kitchen, toilets and showers

A rural retreat awaits at the peaceful base of the Sychpwll Centre, in a walker's paradise in the Welsh countryside.

The centre houses a range of eco-friendly buildings, surrounded by a wildflower camping meadow. As the site backs onto the River Vyrnwy, it and the surrounding countryside are an excellent base for guests who want to have an environmentally-friendly stay among spectacular scenery.

Guests are welcome to use the centre's straw-bale kitchen for indoor cooking; outdoors, both barbecues and campfires are allowed. Several country pubs with good food and drink are close by, and you'll be within 30 minutes of the market towns of Shrewsbury, Welshpool and Oswestry.

The site also has a toilet block with instant warm water and showers.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.5

Overall rating based on 24 reviews

 

100% would recommend this site to a friend.

100% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Great Place 31/05/2016

davekobylanski Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is just great! We took our daughter on her first camping trip and she loved it! There is an on site kitchen in case you forgotten anything yourself and the toilets/showers were clean and tidy. The owner and his family are really nice and welcomed us on arrival. We were able to drive on site, pitch our tent and gazebo. There is tons of space and only limited number of people allowed to stay so it was quiet as well. There are beautiful wild meadow fields you can play in and run around in.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely site peaceful and not overcrowded 01/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Elaine B. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very laid back. Peter and his family very friendly and welcoming. Lovely kitchen for all to use. Lots of space. Camped by lovely meadow. Children loved it. Will go back again.elainebury53

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

good clean facilities,with bonus use of toater and microwave. helpful ... 28/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom justine m. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    good clean facilities,with bonus use of toater and microwave. helpful and friendly staff. pleasant change to usual perfect manicured cut crass and hedges and shrubs. good views from site and lots of nature observed close up.

    Disliked: 

    none

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Camping in beautiful meadow 02/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Neil S. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We camped in a wonderful place surrounded by a wild flower meadow with a beautiful view over the countryside. Campsite clean and tidy, run in a really friendly manner, we will go back

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Amazing place. Really nice owner Brilliant pitch for us 03/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Natasha T. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We loved this place and can't wait to go back it was a shame we could only stay 2 nights but we did have gorgeous sun shine.
    The owner (Peter) is a lovely man very friendly and helpful he showed us around the lovely surrounding from the river wildlife walk the different pitches hobbit home which I believe you can hire kitchen toilets and showers fire pit. You can stay up by the river or in the larger area where cars can be parked next to your tent this is where a lot of the families stayed as the children had plenty of room to run around and play games. We stayed in the smaller area where you can't leave your car with the tent we had the whole field to our selves it was perfect for us as we just chilled out and enjoyed listening to the birds cows and sheep having a few drinks enjoying the sun. Everyone has plenty of room as they don't book to many pitches and give everyone plenty of room
    There is no shop or club house. 5 showers and 5 toilets. A kitchen that can be used. Water recycling bins. A fire pit. They could do with have one of them rubber broom things left in the showers to clean the floor as they do get a lot of grass in them but that can't be helped but would be nice to clean up after ourselves if we walk grass in. But don't get me wrong they are clean. This is a back to nature wildlife camp site.
    There are 3 supermarkets in Walshpool which is 10 mins drive from the site and a town centre there is also a garage with post office and small shop on the way to Walshpool from the site
    It is a little hard to find ( sat nav takes you to the middle of some fields near a farm house that has nothing to do with the site). easy way is from the main road at traffic lights over hump back bridge turn right and the second right follow road keep following it. Then you will pull on a drive way at the end to the right and you will see the name plate in a tree on the left
    The areas in the middle of the pitches are left with long grass with loads of buttercups and pink / purple flowers the pitches are cut and so are road ways to drive to them but you can walk run jump in the long grass.
    We had a some beautiful walks around the site exploring all around and out on the road. We sat on the stones by the river watching it run by.There are steps down to the river and stones at the bottom so not suitable for children to go down there alone but you do have to open a gate to go down there. Very relaxing peaceful place to stay. We did plan to have an evening fire but lost track of time and didn't get around to it so maybe next time.
    Peter walked around morning's and evenings we was there checking making sure everything was good and answering any questions.
    On Saturday night there was some sort of party going on in a building over by the main road which you could be in the distance but to be honest sound travels across fields and it didn't disturb us. We thought the cows where having a party lol
    This had nothing to do with in site.
    Everyone seemed friendly and enjoying there stay.
    We can't wait to go back again but this tome we are planing on going for a week just hope we can have same spot next time lol but there are plenty of perfect pitches for all and you can pick where you like.
    If you like peace and quite with beautiful surroundings and back to the wild this is the place to go.
    The facilities are basic but all that you need toilet shower kitchen area with 2 sinks and a hob not sure what else as we didn't use the kitchen. You may need to wait at little at busy times for the showers.
    There are plenty of places to walk and to chill and relax. You can do what you want there as long as you clean up after yourselves and no burning the grass ie no fires out side the pit
    Brilliant place to stay. Felt so relaxed there it was like it was home
    Thank you to Peter for being so welcoming and friendly.

    Disliked: 

    There is nothing to dislike

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Beautiful site in gorgeous setting. Very helpful staff. 07/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Eleanor B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The kitchen, toilets and shower blocks were clean and homely. The site is peaceful and eco-friendly with beautiful structures and wild meadows. We were just passing through, so did not get to enjoy the surroundings fully. We would all like to visit again.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site, lots to see and do. Friendly staff, great pitches. 28/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Claire M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful, quiet location for camping. Amazing grass meadow just in front of the pitch, nature corridor behind it. Kitchen and toilets on site. Friendly staff. Had a brilliant stay and would highly recommend.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Beautiful site, very friendly staff, clean, would recommend 10/08/2017

stephanie_m8 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    When we arrived we were shown around the whole site and were told that the plums on the trees were ready for picking and that we were welcome to help ourselves if we liked. We were also given the option to take some mint to put in tea if we wanted.

    Everyone was super friendly and the site was beautiful.

    My son was given a treasure hunt to do (and got a prize for finishing it) and there was a trampoline and swing for him to play on.

    The kitchen was warm and clean and we hung out there playing games one night as it was a bit rainy to be sitting in a tent.

    There are canoes and kayaks which we were allowed to take out free of charge, there are a couple of lifejackets too.

    We decided that we would like to have a campfire, for £5 we were able to borrow a firepit and a full wheelbarrow of wood which let us have a fire for 2 nights.

    We decided to camp in the meadow beside the archway and we couldn't have chosen a better place to camp as it was far enough away to have privacy but close enough to the toilets and kitchen. The toilets / shower were very clean and were plenty hot enough.

    The whole site was lovely and we're so happy we chose it. We can't wait to go back.

    Disliked: 

    We didn't dislike anything

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely get away, beautiful location. 14/07/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Beth T. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We were greeted by the site owner Peter as we arrived who was really friendly and offered to take us on a tour of the grounds. We were so impressed with the different things he had on offer, from a little yurt to the hobbit house, and wished we had known about these earlier (a good excuse for a return visit). The facilities were brilliant, the kitchen had a kettle and a cooker so no need for burnt bbq food if that's not your thing. The toilets and showers were in good clean condition. One of the showers and one of the sinks had been damaged by some previous campers the day before we arrived and within 2 days this had been fixed and was good as new! We had a brilliant time in spite of the wet weather and will definitely be returning as this was a great place to get away from it all.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Enchanting place to visit 23/07/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom stephen i. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Wonderfully secluded truly special place to stay.
    An absolute joy.

    Disliked: 

    Leaving

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

No dogs allowed

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Forest

Lake and/or mountain

Luxury

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Tennis nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Microlodges

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Sychpwll Llandrinio, Powys, Wales, SY22 6SH
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.7527°N 3.0229°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Middletown (Powys): Breidden Hotel Coach Stop — 3.3 miles
Halfway House (Shrops): Coach Stop — 4.2 miles
Trewern (Powys) Bus Shelter — 4.4 miles
Train stations
Welshpool Rail Station — 8.2 miles
Gobowen Rail Station — 9.8 miles
Shrewsbury Rail Station — 11.8 miles
Ferry ports
Porth Penrhyn Ferry Landing — 43.1 miles
Airports
Liverpool John Lennon Airport — 41.0 miles

Directions


Your satnav will get you lost: please read the directions below.

The nearest train station is Shrewsbury, followed by Gobowen or Welshpool.

There is a bus service from Shrewsbury bus station with Tanat Valley Coaches. The D74 service runs approximately every three hours, Monday to Saturday. If you get off at Llandrinio bridge traffic lights the centre is about one mile from here.

There is a local taxi service in the village and if you prefer, Chris' Cabs will happily collect you from the train station.

From London:

Take the M1 and then the M6 towards Birmingham but do not join the toll section. Keep on the main M6 and then exit on the M54 towards Telford. Keep on this motorway until it becomes the A5 towards Oswestry and north Wales. After a series of roundabouts look out for the A458 to Welshpool and turn left. Continue down the A458 for a couple of miles and turn right at the B4393 towards Llandrinio and Lake Vyrnwy.

After just over 7 miles you will come to a set of traffic lights just before a humpback bridge over the River Severn. Turn right immediately after the bridge. The signpost says Haughton. The first turning on the right signs to Haimwood but keep on the main lane and after just under a mile take the second turning on the right. This narrow lane is not signed but look out for the telegraph pole. If you pass a sign on the left to Rhos Common you have just overshot the lane! Drive down the lane and follow the tarmac as it turns sharp right. At the end of the lane drive though a clump of trees and you have arrived.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Based a mile from where the unpolluted River Vrynwy meets the River Severn, Sychpwll is cosy in winter and normally with a good climate in summer. There’s more than enough to do to keep everyone happy all year round, with those coming for walking or cycling holidays particularly having lots of choice.

The hiking in this area gives world class views, such as the famous Offa’s Dyke Path or one of the three routes to the landmark Rodney’s Pillar. Visitors can also visit local farmers’ markets or nearby Lake Vrynwy, or try their hand at one of the many activities nearby, including climbing, fishing, horse riding and watersports. Or, for those who like to hit a ball as hard as possible, tennis is available in town and there’s a golf course within half an hour’s drive.

The market towns of Shrewsbury, Welshpool and Oswestry are around seven miles miles away for shopping, and there are plenty of days out at local attractions such as historic Powys Castle and the Welshpool to Llanfair Light Steam Railway.

Culture vultures can go slightly further afield to Ludlow and Shrewsbury (around 13 miles away), for festivals, arts events and nights on the town.

Must see

  • Powis Castle & Garden (9.1 miles)
  • Much Wenlock Priory (22.2 miles)
  • Darby Houses (Ironbridge) (23.4 miles)

National Trust

  • Chirk Castle (12.9 miles)
  • Attingham Park Estate: Cronkhill (15.2 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
Depart:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  Anytime –  Anytime
Depart:  12 p.m.

Sychpwll Centre cancellation policy

No refunds within 30 days of arrival date.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Sychpwll Centre will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Sychpwll Centre


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Additional terms

We employ a 'leave no trace' policy and we kindly ask you to adopt the same policy by managing your own waste and recycling. Composting is available on site.

In the barn, power usage for groups of more than nine people is charged on departure.

Close