Book and review 8,950 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Doldowlod Caravan Park

This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
Find nearby sites with availability…

If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com by adding your business details.

General

  • Site in the Cambrian mountains 200 yards from the River Wye
  • Petrol station, post office, mini supermarket and café within two mins
  • In a stargazing spot with clear skies and over a thousand stars to see

Doldowlod Caravan Park is just 200 yards from the River Wye and set among the Cambrian mountains. The park is easily accessed with a gently sloped tarmac road and wide entrances, and we have lovely spacious pitches.

The campsite has a quirky but modern shower and toilet block made from a converted storage unit. It is bright, heated and spotlessly clean. We supply hand towels and hand wash. Men's and women's toilets/showers are separate but please ask and we will open a family shower/toilet room if you are travelling with children. The showers are free of charge (we know how annoying it is to be covered in soap when a token runs out!). There is always hot water available. We also have a separate chemical disposal area.

We have a play area available with swings, trail tunnel and stepping logs, ideal to keep the kids entertained (please supervise your children to ensure that they are safe).

The skies here are special as the absence of light pollution means that on a dark, clear night, you can see over a thousand stars stretching across the sky. Do remember to bring a torch!

We welcome well-behaved dogs. A petrol station, post office, mini supermarket and café are all within two minutes' walking distance of the site.

We have wifi available on a pay as you go tariff.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

1

Overall rating based on 1 review

 

0% would recommend this site to a friend.

0% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

We escaped after 1 night. 11/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Pat F. Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch (2 adults and 4 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    My husband said the toilets were good.

    Disliked: 

    We left after one night. The area for tourers was cramped, poorly spaced and the hard standing wasn't firm. Useless for travelling using a mobility scooter.

From the manager...

Hello to you both,
We wondered why you left without saying goodbye and were concerned that you may have been unwell. We are very sorry that you did not like the park and we would have given you your money back had you told us that you were unhappy. It is very difficult to rectify things if you don't speak to us.. We are very disappointed to get 1/10 especially as The Guardian newspaper listed us 3rd in their UK top 10 campsites in 2015 and 73% of Pitchup guests have scored us 10/10. Our park has an annual 78% occupancy and 50% of our customers are returning guests. The small pensioners rally that were on the field with you were back with us for the third time and absolutely loved it here.

We note that your husband liked the toilets, thank you for that. We are not sure why you scored us 4/10 for cleanliness as the only public area is the shower/WC block which is cleaned at least 4 times a day and you say that the facility is good. The 15 pitch touring field was only 50% occupied when you were with us so we don't feel that it was cramped. We also show lots of images of it on Pitchup where we state very clearly that our pitches are either grass or pea gravel. We give the pitch size accurately as 10m x 6m. We are bemused by your 1/10 score for accommodation as you were in your own accommodation and not in one of our holiday hire caravans. We give a very clear and precise description of the park in relation to guests with disabilities in our Access Statement" but would certainly have refunded you fully had you told us that you were unable to use your mobility scooter. Other guests have not reported any issues with mobility scooters but we appreciate that everyone is different.

We do our best to meet the needs of all of our guests in a friendly and warm-hearted way. Our biggest sadness is that you did not let us know how you that you were leaving as we would have done our best to find you a local campsite that may have better suited your needs. We wish you well.

Overall
1
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Lake and/or mountain

Luxury

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wild camping

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Pre-erected tents

Tipis, yurts, or wigwams

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Old Station Site, Rhayader, Powys, Wales, LD1 6NN
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 52.2583°N 3.4970°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Llangurig (Powys): Coach Stop — 11.2 miles
Llanidloes: The Gro Bus Station — 13.2 miles
Llandinam (Powys): Coach Stop — 15.9 miles
Train stations
Llandrindod Rail Station — 5.1 miles
Builth Road Rail Station — 6.8 miles
Pen-y-Bont Rail Station — 7.5 miles
Ferry ports
Porth Penrhyn Ferry Landing — 39.2 miles
Airports
Swansea Airport — 51.5 miles

Directions


From Ryader
Head south on the A470 for 3.4 miles until you reach the Halt Services. Signal right and turn off onto a restricted access road signed The Vulcan Arms. Pass The Pines Static Caravan Park on your right and after 100 yards turn right onto the access road for Doldowlod Old Station Caravan Park.

From Builth Wells
Drive 10 miles north on the A470. When you see the sign for the Vulcan Arms and the Halt Services, signal left onto the access road for Doldowlod Old Station Caravan Park.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Based just 200 yards from the River Wye with uninterrupted views of the Cambrian mountains, Doldowlod Caravan Park is just three miles from the market town of Rhayader and four miles from the Elan Valley Visitor Centre.

Hay-on-Wye, famous for its books and annual festival, is just a 40-minute drive away whilst the Victorian Spa town of Llandrindod Wells is nine miles by road.

We are just 20 minutes from Builth Wells, home to the Royal Welsh showground and 40 minutes from the west Wales coast.

We are at the gateway to Wale's lakeland: the Elan Valley and the visitor centre are just 4.5 miles away.

This is a ramblers' paradise with hill walks and river walks right on the doorstep. Maps are available at the campsite.

With mountain bikes for hire in Rhayader, take to the hills and enjoy breathtaking scenery.

Just two minutes' walk from our touring field is the river Wye with good salmon, trout and grayling fishing (licence available locally). There is also good fishing on nearby tributary rivers and on a wild local lake.

After a day's activity in the Wye/Elan Valley area, or as part of your peaceful time out, indulge in some pampering with an ayurvedic or aromatherapy massage. A qualified, experienced therapist is available onsite.

Doldowlod and the surrounding area is ideal for wildlife enthusiasts and birdwatchers at any time of year - the red kite feeding station is less than five minutes' drive. Our onsite feeders and hedgerows are frequently visited by nuthatch, tree creepers, siskins, tits, dunnocks and woodpeckers.

On the river we regularly see kingfishers, heron, dippers and goosanders. Bring your binoculars.

Must see

  • Dolaucothi Gold Mines - National Trust (24.3 miles)
  • Vale of Rheidol Railway (Aberystwyth) (26.9 miles)
  • MOMA Wales - Y Tabernacl (27.5 miles)

National Trust

  • Cwmmau Farmhouse (19.6 miles)
  • Dolaucothi Gold Mines (24.3 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Doldowlod Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

General
gazebos, pup tents or toilet tents are not permitted.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £50 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Additional terms

Early arrivals are not permitted unless you have checked with the park, on the day of your arrival, that your accommodation has been vacated and that it is ready for you to occupy. Late arrivals after 7.30pm can only be arranged after booking. Please call the park using the details provided in your booking confirmation.

Dogs must be exercised off the park. (There is a lovely meadow/river walk immediately adjacent to the park).

Please note that whilst we do not charge extra for awnings, they must fit within your allocated pitch. Please be aware that in very busy periods such as bank holidays it may not be possible to pitch the awning.

We are an upland area so good quality tent pegs are required for both tents and awnings.

Close