Book and review 8,714 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Dolbryn Caravan and Camping

9.4
View prices & book
From £15/€16.94/A$25.42/US$20.24/CA$24.97/CHF19.63/kr161.99/kr126.58/kr158.06/kr2,174/$353.77/$12,500/PEN65.85/NZ$27.63/R268.82/zł72.50/R$63.34/Kč441.18/RSD2,027 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Peaceful family campsite in west Wales and the Teifi Valley
  • Fishing pond and in a wildlife haven
  • Arts, crafts and farm activities available for children

Sick of wrestling the X-box from your little monkeys’ paws and chasing them out into the fresh air? Take them to talk to the animals at this fab and family-friendly south Wales farm site instead, or go along with your other half for some rural relaxation – the owners of quiet and secluded Dolbryn Caravan and Camping near Newcastle Emlyn in Carmarthenshire know what make all sorts tick.

For grown-up concerns, Dolbryn has a small fishing pond on site for a couple of hours’ chilling, or you could just wander around site and watch the wildlife: this is one of our ‘wildlife haven’ sites, with birds, fruit and flowers spottable around the valley, stream, ponds and hedgerows.

Small people have plenty laid on to keep them entertained, including arts and crafts events, helping to feed the chickens, guinea pigs, rabbits, pigs and goats every morning, and the Sticky Club for an hour on Sunday mornings in high season (under-eights must be accompanied by an adult).

The amenities at Dolbryn are well thought out: original and refurbished farm buildings with separate heated wash facilities for ladies and gents; a family room with disabled access, a large fridge freezer for guests’ use and a laundry room with two washing machines.

There’s also a small family bar with log fires, open at weekends and evenings in high season, and on Saturday mornings for coffee.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Dolbryn is a quiet family site. The following group bookings are not allowed via Pitchup.com: groups of 4 or more pitches/units, single-sex bookings of 4 or more people and groups of 4 or more under 25s.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 52 reviews

 

96% would recommend this site to a friend.

94% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters

Great site, definately not my last visit. 07/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom graham_m607199 Confirmed

  • Teulu Haf camping pod (2 adults and 3 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site, the staff, the facilities and scenery.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to review - we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Hope to see you again another time,
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Lovely friendly A* campsite, couldn't fault a thing :-) 06/08/2017

Reviewer's country: Isle of Man Kari C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Teulu Haf camping pod (2 adults and 3 children)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything!

    Disliked: 

    Nothing!

From the manager...

Thanks very much for taking the time to review - we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Hope to see you again
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site,beautiful location and really clean toilets and showers 10/05/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ruth T. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Teulu Blodyn camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything!! Especially the quirky bar.. loved it all... staff were friendly and helpful...the pod was great and lovely and cosy..

    Disliked: 

    That we didn't stay longer!

From the manager...

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate your feedback!
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and loved Dolbryn. We really hope to see you again soon :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A little gem of a site. Couldn't praise it enough. 18/05/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom heather_f294996 Confirmed

  • Teulu Blodyn camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pod. Comfortable and warm with electric points.

    The facilities. Clean and well kept.

    The pigs in the field. Wanted to bring them home.

    The little bar.

    The fire pit. We could collect wood in the woods.

    The friendly feel of the place.

    Disliked: 

    Pods were just a tad to close together.

From the manager...

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate your feedback!
We're so pleased you liked our little site. It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again soon. Thanks!

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Beautifully kept countryside site. 01/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mark C. Confirmed

  • Electric gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The pitches, the views, the surroundings, the helpfulness of the owner / staff.
    Dog friendly.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

From the manager...

Many thanks for the review - we appreciate you taking the time to write it.
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon. Thanks, from all of us at Dolbryn.

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Lovely family run campsite, lovely location and views 02/06/2016

anabela_l Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite was lovely. Facilities were very clean and well maintained. The children loved feeding the animals. Husband loved the beautiful well stocked pound and the fact that he could borrow a rod. The owners were very friendly and very helpful.
    Fresh croissants and baguette in the morning is a lovely touch. And we loved buying fresh eggs from the campsite hens.

    Disliked: 

    We stayed in mountain view which was a bit too far from the toilet especially with young children. A portaloo in that area would have been great for the urgent trips to the loo especially at night.
    Also our children were a bit too young to wonder all the way to the playground by themselves. It might be nice to maybe prioritise young families in the pines if possible.

From the manager...

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review; we really appreciate your feedback.
Putting in some toilets in the Mountain View field is something that we're currently investigating the possibility of - as we do appreciate it's a long way to walk, especially for little legs! We'll keep you posted with any updates.
Where possible we do try to accommodate requests to be in the Pines Field, but sadly on this occasion we had been fully booked there for quite some time.
But, we're glad you enjoyed lots of aspects of Dolbryn, and we do hope to see you again soon.
Thanks, from all of us at Dolbryn

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

beautifull, friendly, clean. lovely owners. 04/06/2016

rebecca_y231841 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely had an amazing time, all three children loved it. Clean, very friendly, beautiful place to stay. Will be back next year. Are children are 4.4.8 and it was are first time here, the children were safe and had lots to do. The owners are fab, nothing is to much. Great little shop and bar, with regular activities. Can not praise the site enough.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing.

From the manager...

Thanks so much for the review - we appreciate you taking the time to write!
We're thrilled you had a good time here, and that you enjoyed what we do at Dolbryn. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again very soon.
Thanks :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

A fantastic campsite, friendly owners & plenty to do for the kids! 05/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom emily_j603844 Confirmed

  • Teulu Blodyn camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The owners were very welcoming and were always available to chat and answer queries. The toilets and showers were clean, and there were lots of things to do; a play area, animals to feed, a fishing lake, and all in a beautiful setting! Freshly baked croissants were a big hit every morning. Our family camping pod was much more spacious than we expected, and the kitchen box well stocked. All in all a super holiday with our little ones, made even better by the fabulous weather we had all week!

    Disliked: 

    Not really a 'dislike' but I couldn't connect to the wifi, and my network coverage was poor. I didn't end up mentioning the wifi problem to the owners as I quite liked being disconnected from social media for a few days! But I thought it was worth mentioning here anyway.

From the manager...

Many thanks for taking the time to review - we appreciate your feedback!
We're really thrilled you liked Dolbryn and that you and your family had a good stay.
The wi-fi is sometimes a problem here - rural wi-fi at the best of times is slow and clunky but when the campsite is busy and lots of people are trying to access it then it can be difficult to connect. We know that this can be frustrating, and we are in the process of trying to upgrade our wi-fi service, but we really appreciate you turning it into a positive!
It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again soon.
Thanks again,
All at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent site,good-sized pod,clean facilities,helpful & friendlystaff 28/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Paula S. Confirmed

  • Teulu Blodyn camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We chose Dolbryn as the website gave plenty of information and the reviews for the campsite were all excellent. Having never glamped before we were unsure of what to expect but we found it an easy transition.The pod was in sparkling condition with electrics,a heater and a comfy bed. The owners were welcoming and very helpful with any questions we had. The facilities were all you could ask for..and always in tip-top condition.The site is what it says on the tin: quiet and family focussed which was ideal for us. We especially liked the pub quiz on the Friday evening, made easier to attend as our 2.5 year old had plenty of games and toys to keep herself amused in there whilst we racked our brains. We also thought it was good that the owners brought the entertainment into the site aswell..on the day we were leaving they were holding a medieval re-enactment day which of course brought more campers but it is such an intimate site that you felt part of a big family where everyone was so happy and relaxed. Would definitely recommend this site and hope to return in the future.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Hi Paula and family,
Very many thanks for writing a review - we really appreciate you taking the time to do it!
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and you like our little site. It was lovely to meet you, and we hope to see you all again soon.
Many thanks,
Sioned and all at Dolbryn.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

'Hassle Free' Camping!! What a brilliant idea!! 06/07/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom vicky f. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Ceri Cwtsh camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    An enjoyable first camping trip with our 17 month and 7 year old. We hired a ready tent. What a brilliant idea! No hassle or stress trying to erect a tent with young children and especially dreading taking it down again. Everything we needed was there. Beds, mini fridge, table and chairs, double camping chair, gas stove and even all your utensils. We had a snuggly couple nights sleep. Super child friendly with the play area just behind us. Lovely clean toilet facilities and the family room was perfect to shower the children safely. Beautiful little walks. Friendly fellow campers. Helpfull happy owners that were very attentive. Fresh cooked baguettes in the morning went down perfect with our sausages. My 7 year old loved the pig races every morning. Already looking to book for next month.

    Disliked: 

    It's a little out of the way in regards to needing the shop, but then that's a good thing as it's lovely and peaceful. WiFi wasn't the best either. But we were with our family so enjoyed the quality time :-)

From the manager...

Many thanks for the review - we really appreciate you taking the time to write and we welcome any feedback.
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the Ready Tents.
We do appreciate that the wi-fi is a little lacking - rural wi-fi is always tricky. However it is something we are working on upgrading as much as we can in the near future.
Thanks again, it was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again soon.
Sioned and all at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Capel Iwan Road Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire, Wales, SA38 9LP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.0170°N 4.4816°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Pencader (Carmarthenshire): Square Bus Stop — 9.3 miles
Carmarthen: Blue Street o/s Bus Station — 13.4 miles
St Clears (Carmarthenshire) Coach Stop — 13.6 miles
Train stations
Carmarthen Rail Station — 13.6 miles
Whitland Rail Station — 14.9 miles
Clunderwen Rail Station — 16.2 miles
Ferry ports
Fishguard Ferry Terminal — 21.9 miles
Tenby Ferry Landing — 25.5 miles
Caldey Island Ferry Landing — 27.6 miles
Airports
Swansea Airport — 33.7 miles

Directions


Turn south off the A484 in Newcastle Emlyn towards Capel Iwan. After the leisure centre turn left and follow the signs for two miles. The site is on the right after Bronygarn garage.

If you are using a GPS system please ensure that you go to Newcastle Emlyn and then to Dolbryn. Do not go via Capel Iwan (the village) as the route is very narrow.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Dolbryn's location is among award-winning beaches, coastal walks, fishing and more wildlife spotting, as well as waterfalls, steam railways, theme parks and family days out (the Welsh Chocolate Farm should be a sweet hit with anyone).

Start off on the doorstep at the market town of Newcastle Emlyn, on the River Teifi two miles from Dolbryn and with castle ruin, farmers’ market, shops and cafés; a leisure centre with indoor pool is nearby too.

The village of Cenarth, a few miles away on the borders of Pembrokeshire, Ceredigion and Carmarthenshire, is famous for its small waterfall Cenarth Falls and for its salmon fishing. The National Coracle Centre, a museum devoted to the small traditional boats, overlooks the Falls along with the old flour grinder Cenarth Mill.

Heading coastwards, the coastal paths and beaches around west Wales could be combed for weeks: try the beaches of Newport Bay, Fishguard and Aberporth, porpoise and dolphin spotting around Cardigan Bay, home of one of only two pods of bottlenose dolphins in the UK.

At New Quay, find out all about it and arrange a marine wildlife spotting boat trip at the Cardigan Bay Marine Wildlife Centre, or plunge fully in and take a course at Cardigan Bay Watersports.

More modernly, there are theme parks and farm parks aplenty around here too: the white-knuckle rides at Oakwood Theme Park in Narberth is one of the most popular attractions in Wales, and the Dinosaur Park in Tenby has a maze, adventure playground and, natch, dozens of dinos.

If the kids have the wildlife bug after seeing the animals at Dolbryn, you can take them one of several country parks and animal attractions within about 25 miles: the funfair and animals at Kilgetty’s Folly Farm Adventure Park and Zoo; horse-riding at Pembrey Country Park, and gibbering with gibbons at Manor House Wild Animal Park.

Must see

  • National Wool Museum (3.6 miles)
  • Llanerchaeron - National Trust (17.6 miles)
  • National Botanic Garden of Wales (18.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Dolaucothi Gold Mines (22.6 miles)
  • Aberdeunant (22.6 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  10:30 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  10:30 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Earlier arrivals and later stays are usually available during quiet times outside of school holidays and bank holidays. If you do arrive early we will do our best to accommodate you.

Dolbryn Caravan and Camping cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

Refunds made more than 2 weeks before arrival will be subject to a £2.50 admin fee.

Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Dolbryn Caravan and Camping will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Dolbryn Caravan and Camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Dogs
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 23:30 and 07:00.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Occupancy
Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 08:00 to 11:00 and from 14:00 to 18:00 between 31/04/16 and 31/08/16.
Reception is open from 08:00 to 11:00 and from 15:00 to 17:00 between 01/03/16 and 30/04/16.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.

Additional terms

All visitors are asked to observe our quiet rule after 11:30pm with all children quietening down by 10pm.

Dolbryn is a quiet family site. The following group bookings are not allowed via Pitchup.com: groups of 4 or more pitches/units, single-sex bookings of 4 or more people and groups of 4 or more under 25s.

Close