Book and review 8,632 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Dolbryn Caravan and Camping

9.3
More info & book
From £15/€16.70/A$24.65/US$19.49/CA$24.48/CHF18.45/kr160.94/kr124.69/kr156.74/kr2,027/$343.25/$12,500/PEN63.53/NZ$26.21/R252.10/zł71.43/R$61.32/Kč436.05/RSD2,000 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Peaceful family campsite in west Wales and the Teifi Valley
  • Fishing pond and in a wildlife haven
  • Arts, crafts and farm activities available for children

Sick of wrestling the X-box from your little monkeys’ paws and chasing them out into the fresh air? Take them to talk to the animals at this fab and family-friendly south Wales farm site instead, or go along with your other half for some rural relaxation – the owners of quiet and secluded Dolbryn Caravan and Camping near Newcastle Emlyn in Carmarthenshire know what make all sorts tick.

For grown-up concerns, Dolbryn has a small fishing pond on site for a couple of hours’ chilling, or you could just wander around site and watch the wildlife: this is one of our ‘wildlife haven’ sites, with birds, fruit and flowers spottable around the valley, stream, ponds and hedgerows.

Small people have plenty laid on to keep them entertained, including arts and crafts events, helping to feed the chickens, guinea pigs, rabbits, pigs and goats every morning, and the Sticky Club for an hour on Sunday mornings in high season (under-eights must be accompanied by an adult).

The amenities at Dolbryn are well thought out: original and refurbished farm buildings with separate heated wash facilities for ladies and gents; a family room with disabled access, a large fridge freezer for guests’ use and a laundry room with two washing machines.

There’s also a small family bar with log fires, open at weekends and evenings in high season, and on Saturday mornings for coffee.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Dolbryn is a quiet family site. The following group bookings are not allowed via Pitchup.com: groups of 4 or more pitches/units, single-sex bookings of 4 or more people and groups of 4 or more under 25s.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.3

Overall rating based on 38 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

95% would stay here again.

 
  • 10 63%
  • 9 15%
  • 8 13%
  • 7 2%
  • 6 5%
  • 5 0%
  • 4 0%
  • 3 0%
  • 2 0%
  • 1 0%

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Perfect site friendly staff , great setting , clean amenities 18/07/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom GORDON D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Teulu Blodyn camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Everything about the place is perfect

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your kind words! It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again soon :)

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

We found the site excellent with very friendly staff 16/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Keith P. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was an excellent site with flat pitches for both tents and caravans and we loved the peace and quiet it was so restful. The toilets and showers were spotless. Both myself and my grandson had a really great time.

    Disliked: 

    We had no real dislikes apart from some farm traffic but that is seasonal.

From the manager...

Hello,
Very many thanks for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate your feedback!
It was lovely to meet you both and hope to see you again another time.
Thank you :)
All the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

not a happy camper! 09/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Beverley g. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    I went for a weeks camping with my 9 year old grandson, he was more than happy with the play park and the few animals to feed and pet. The toilet facilities are adequate and showers nice and hot although grandson said on one night it was only warm. Shop is small and has very few basics. We never visited the bar so cannot comment on that but if any quiz nights or other events were arranged whilst we were there we did not know about them. It would be nice if the site owners came and asked if everything was alright but never saw them around the fields.

    Disliked: 

    The driveway down is horrendous to the extent that it has put my cars tracking out which i will now have to get put right. It wasn't a place of peace and tranquility as stated on their web page, there was continual mooing and Baaing from what sounded like 200 cows and sheep and the barking of the farm dog all the time especially in the mornings and evenings. The walk sound like they are long walks when in fact it is a short walk to the "vineyard" 4 short rows of grape vines, and the forest walk is all of 50 yards. The secret garden is nothing but weeds, pond area is nice but watch the steep bank which my grandson slipped down as you could not see the edge due to the long grass and nettles, might be an idea to put up a small picket fence along there. I think that the noise time of 11.30pm to be very late as all other sites I have visited have been at 1030pm, we don't want to listen to rowdy teenagers or adults carrying on until that time of night especially for those with young children. The bbqs/fire pots that can be hired are lit using wood blocks so if the wind is blowing the wrong way the smoke comes into your tents which isn't very pleasant. We had the "neighbours" from hell move in next to us to the extent that I had to scream at them to shut up at 11.50pm so we could get some sleep, we then left a day early due to them and the family in the large tent being noisy. I do not think I would return to this site but if I did I would not go in the pines field. If you are looking for peace and tranquility this is not the site for you. Dont go if you want wifi you wont get it!

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review - we appreciate your feedback, on all points.
We were sad to hear that you weren't a happy camper during your stay here at Dolbryn, and I hope I can address some of your issues.
I do agree that the drive is a little rough in places, and it's one reason we have the 5mph speed limit in force. It is top of our list to get this repaired, however trying to find a dry day with no arrivals/departures is somewhat tricky. The work is now scheduled in for next week, so hopefully there will be a big improvement afterwards.
I was disappointed to read that you didn't see any of us out and about though - we are constantly out on the fields during the day - carrying out maintenance, collecting rubbish, cutting the grass etc. I'm sorry if you missed us during this time, however we do clearly mark the reception/shop opening hours, so if any campers have any urgent or serious ssues/questions, then they can find us there. Any events we have in the bar are listed on chalk boards outside the bar/facilities.
I'm afraid I can't apologise for the noise of the farm animals - we are situated in a rural location and so farming is part of the landscape here. I'm sorry you had a bad experience with noisy campers/neighbours - we do strictly enforce the 11:30pm quiet rule by patrolling the site soon after this time and asking any noisy guests to wind down. Unfortunately we can't patrol the site all through the night, but our door is always open for serious noise complaints.
Your point about the quiet time being late is a valid one - and it is something we will review at the end of the season.
I'm sorry too if you were disappointed by our woodland and vineyard area. There are several paths and tracks through the woods, but perhaps we should think about marking these more clearly. I agree that, at the moment, the secret garden is a little overgrown. During the early Spring it is a riot of daffodils and then blubells, hence it's name. We do intend to improve this area before the summer months. Thanks for your comments about the pond - this is something we'll look into to improve safety.
And whilst your point about the wi-fi is a valid one, again, it is due to us being in a rural location. The wi-fi we have is the very best that any telecoms company can offer us at the moment, due to the outdated technology that currently serves us. You can imagine how frustrating living and working with such wi-fi gets!!
Thanks again for taking the time to review. We do hope you come and stay at Dolbryn another time, and we'd be more than happy to accommodate your request to be pitched in the Lakes Field.
Many thanks,
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Pitch was great, close to facilities, plenty to do on site 05/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Rachael D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Beautiful site, excellent facilities, welcoming and friendly

    Disliked: 

    Nothing to dislike

From the manager...

Hi Rachael,
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review - we're thrilled you loved it here at Dolbryn!
It was great to meet you all and hope to see you all soon!
All the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Really lovely stay. Pitches very roomy, the site well maintained 05/06/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Abigail T. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly welcome, beautiful site. Very well thought out site. All facilities very clean. My daughter loved feeding the animals and the play area. Bar cosy and friendly, lovely dog walk area's

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate your positive comments.
Hope to see you all soon!
All the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

excellent site, friendly and great clean facilities 29/05/2017

paulaide

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely campsite, owners were very friendly and helpful, it first time camping with our 1.5 year old son and he loved it, excellent playarea, he loved helping feed the animals, only wish we could have stayed longer, hope to return in the future :)

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate your positive comments.
Glad you had a great time, see you all again soon!
All the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Clean, excellent site 09/05/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom jade_d263182 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The campsite was easy to find with very welcoming friendly people, there were fields to walk the dogs, a little fishing lake and nature walk as well as some farm animals on site. There's a little shop, bar and games room. You have an opportunity to hire a fire pit etc which was great fun. It was very clean and tidy will definitely return.

    Disliked: 

    The toilets were a little distance to walk at night in the dark.

From the manager...

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate your feedback and positive comments!
We're thrilled you had a great time and enjoyed the facilites here. We do understand it's a walk to the toilets, but some of the pitches are closer than others to the toilet block.
Thanks again, and hope to see you soon,
All the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

We would stay there again and have already recommended it to a friend. 15/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom mark_w168339 Confirmed

  • Electric gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The whole campsite was clean and well maintained. The showers very lovely and hot. Very friendly staff.

    Disliked: 

    The wifi was poor however it was nice to have a break from constant buzzing of phones.

From the manager...

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do appreciate that the wifi can be terribly slow at times - sadly that is the problem with many rural connections, but we're glad you appreciated the break!
Thanks again, and hope to see you again soon.
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi

Pod was clean and tidy. It was a nice friendly ... 29/03/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom carl_c279655 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Ceri Cwtsh camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Pod was clean and tidy. It was a nice friendly place.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Thanks!
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Great place to stay, warm welcome, clean and good value. 13/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jannmc Confirmed

  • Ceri Cwtsh camping pod
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Stayed with my daughter at this well appointed camp site. We stayed two nights in the smallest of the pods. It was clean and comfortable. The toilets and shower block were situated down a lane and these were also very clean. We had a lovely welcome and were provided with a map of the site. Unfortunately we didn't get to walk to the fishing lakes due to the weather but it looked a lovely walk. The site even had a bar although again we didn't visit it. It was great to have a picnic table outside our pod and a kettle was also provided.Loved feeding our left overs to the pigs and goat.

    Disliked: 

    A small mirror in the pod would have been a bonus. If like me you need to use the bathroom a couple of times a night the walk to the toilet was a bit of a trek although it was well lit. There was only two of us so we had ample room but I think the pod we stayed in would struggle to accommodate a family of four unless the children were quite young.

From the manager...

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Thanks for your feedback about the mirror in the pods - this is a good idea and something we hope to implement for next year. We also appreciate that the small pod is quite small, and ideally suited to a couple or those with very small children.
Thanks again; hope to see you soon,
Sioned and all the team at Dolbryn

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Farm

Medium (26-50 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Camping pods

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Capel Iwan Road Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire, Wales, SA38 9LP
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.0170°N 4.4816°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Pencader (Carmarthenshire): Square Bus Stop — 9.3 miles
Carmarthen: Blue Street o/s Bus Station — 13.4 miles
St Clears (Carmarthenshire) Coach Stop — 13.6 miles
Train stations
Carmarthen Rail Station — 13.6 miles
Whitland Rail Station — 14.9 miles
Clunderwen Rail Station — 16.2 miles
Ferry ports
Fishguard Ferry Terminal — 21.9 miles
Tenby Ferry Landing — 25.5 miles
Caldey Island Ferry Landing — 27.6 miles
Airports
Swansea Airport — 33.7 miles

Directions


Turn south off the A484 in Newcastle Emlyn towards Capel Iwan. After the leisure centre turn left and follow the signs for two miles. The site is on the right after Bronygarn garage.

If you are using a GPS system please ensure that you go to Newcastle Emlyn and then to Dolbryn. Do not go via Capel Iwan (the village) as the route is very narrow.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Dolbryn's location is among award-winning beaches, coastal walks, fishing and more wildlife spotting, as well as waterfalls, steam railways, theme parks and family days out (the Welsh Chocolate Farm should be a sweet hit with anyone).

Start off on the doorstep at the market town of Newcastle Emlyn, on the River Teifi two miles from Dolbryn and with castle ruin, farmers’ market, shops and cafés; a leisure centre with indoor pool is nearby too.

The village of Cenarth, a few miles away on the borders of Pembrokeshire, Ceredigion and Carmarthenshire, is famous for its small waterfall Cenarth Falls and for its salmon fishing. The National Coracle Centre, a museum devoted to the small traditional boats, overlooks the Falls along with the old flour grinder Cenarth Mill.

Heading coastwards, the coastal paths and beaches around west Wales could be combed for weeks: try the beaches of Newport Bay, Fishguard and Aberporth, porpoise and dolphin spotting around Cardigan Bay, home of one of only two pods of bottlenose dolphins in the UK.

At New Quay, find out all about it and arrange a marine wildlife spotting boat trip at the Cardigan Bay Marine Wildlife Centre, or plunge fully in and take a course at Cardigan Bay Watersports.

More modernly, there are theme parks and farm parks aplenty around here too: the white-knuckle rides at Oakwood Theme Park in Narberth is one of the most popular attractions in Wales, and the Dinosaur Park in Tenby has a maze, adventure playground and, natch, dozens of dinos.

If the kids have the wildlife bug after seeing the animals at Dolbryn, you can take them one of several country parks and animal attractions within about 25 miles: the funfair and animals at Kilgetty’s Folly Farm Adventure Park and Zoo; horse-riding at Pembrey Country Park, and gibbering with gibbons at Manor House Wild Animal Park.

Must see

  • National Wool Museum (3.6 miles)
  • Llanerchaeron - National Trust (17.6 miles)
  • National Botanic Garden of Wales (18.7 miles)

National Trust

  • Dolaucothi Gold Mines (22.6 miles)
  • Aberdeunant (22.6 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  10:30 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  10:30 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Earlier arrivals and later stays are usually available during quiet times outside of school holidays and bank holidays. If you do arrive early we will do our best to accommodate you.

Dolbryn Caravan and Camping cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

Refunds made more than 2 weeks before arrival will be subject to a £2.50 admin fee.

Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Dolbryn Caravan and Camping will debit the balance from your card 30 days before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 30 days then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Cheque
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Dolbryn Caravan and Camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Dogs
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 23:30 and 07:00.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Occupancy
Group bookings of 4 or more units (e.g. tent, touring caravan, motorhome or accommodation hire) travelling together are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 4 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 08:00 to 11:00 and from 14:00 to 18:00 between 31/04/16 and 31/08/16.
Reception is open from 08:00 to 11:00 and from 15:00 to 17:00 between 01/03/16 and 30/04/16.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.

Additional terms

All visitors are asked to observe our quiet rule after 11:30pm with all children quietening down by 10pm.

Dolbryn is a quiet family site. The following group bookings are not allowed via Pitchup.com: groups of 4 or more pitches/units, single-sex bookings of 4 or more people and groups of 4 or more under 25s.

Close