Book and review 3,312 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers

9.4
View prices & book
From £17/€18.84/A$30.65/US$21.24/CA$28.82/CHF20.05/SEK196.92/DKK140.36/NOK200.62/ISK2,957/ARS1,502.88/CLP16,979/PEN75.01/NZ$32.52/ZAR363.91/PLN84.20/R$113.76/CZK502.97/RSD2,217/HUF6,663.40/RUB1,527.74/CN¥149.18 (for 1 night, 4 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

Wildflowers in bloom

General

  • Back to basics site in an area famed for dolphin spotting
  • Within walking distance of spectacular Mwnt beach
  • Near the wildlife centre at Cilgerran and the scenic falls at Cenarth

Cracking countryside views, an idyllic setting and maybe even a chance to spot dolphins... sounds like something out of a film, right? But that's life at Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers. Opting for a stay at the small, family-run site means being located in the north of Ceredigion, close to Cardigan Bay where dolphins can often be seen swimming, playing and feeding.

Gorgeous Mwnt beach is a stroll away but if you’re in the mindset of 'different day, different beach' then the likes of Poppit Sands, Tresaith and Aberporth are all within reach as well, so you can get your fill of sand and sea. Activities including boating, fishing, walking and birdwatching should keep you busy between beach hopping.

After exploring the local beaches, head into Cardigan to refuel – a good collection of pubs, restaurants, cafés and supermarkets in town ensure you won’t go hungry or thirsty. There’s more to see here too, including Cardigan Castle, which overlooks the River Teifi, and Cardigan’s Guildhall Market, home to 50 shops with some lovely locally-made bits.

Ty Mawr has an insulated and unisex facility centre including two toilets, two showers and a washing-up area. Guests are welcome to use a handy freezer for ice packs too. The site also has an enclosed field for off-lead dog walks, so your mutt has a chance to roam free slightly away from the pitching field.

Please note

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

A charge of £1 per 10 minutes applies for the use of the shower.

Please note that the toilet and shower block is unisex.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.4

Overall rating based on 17 reviews

 

94% would recommend this site to a friend.

88% would stay here again.

  82% described as Peaceful ?

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi



Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Anonymous user

Excellent site with clean facilities, friendly staff25/10/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely location. Very quiet and tranquil. Site owners really friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We'll kept site,with immaculately clean shower and toilets area. 1.5 mile walk on coastal path to the stunning Mwnt cove is well worth the walk. (wear proper walking gear as path is muddy and quite steep in places)

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Friendly owners and excellent facilities12/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomDavid W.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly owners and excellent facilities

    Disliked: 

    No wifi and limited local information, but that is a very minor criticism

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Simple camp-site in terms of facilities but everything you need …03/09/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomJade P.Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Simple camp-site in terms of facilities but everything you need , close to fantastic beaches. Very clean :) Friendly staff

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great site ideal location. Facilities lovely and clean and cleaned …27/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah K.Confirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Great site ideal location. Facilities lovely and clean and cleaned throughout the day

    If the site would of been full the facilities would of been a problem there are only 2 toilets, 2 showers and 1 washing up station all in one room, on occasions you were back and forwards to see if they were free, would not put me off coming back though

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We would like to assure you during your stay with us the site was full to capacity and we were turning people away. We appreciate what you say about the Facilities, and can under your frustration about having to keep returning to see if they were free.

As you may know, we are new owners this year and already have plans to extend the Facilities and moving the washing up station to a different location and extending those as well.

Please feel free to keep track of what we are doing around the site via Facebook, as any work undertaken by Nadine will be posted there. So as soon as work starts on the expansions you will be able to follow the process.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you all again.

Regards

Nadine & Jane

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Well run site with very friendly and helpful staff. A pleasurable stay27/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomChris H.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Large area for children to play ball games etc without getting in the way of other site users. Nice and quiet site.

    Disliked: 

    The site could do with more showers, toilets and washing up area.
    Not much space to change once showered.
    This didn’t spoil our stay though.

From the manager...

Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

As you may know we have recently taken over this site and are still in the process of planning expansions for the Facilities and moving the washing up area to create more space within the shower and toilet area.

When work begins on these areas I will be posting our progress on our Pitchup.com page with pictures and write ups. Please feel free to keep an eye on our progress.

We are glad that this did not spoil your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Nadine & Jane

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Spacious pitches, large field with limited numbers, clean facilities, good …27/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomNick R.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Spacious pitches, large field with limited numbers, clean facilities, good location for exploring the area.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Excellent site, quiet location, clean facilities and friendly staff21/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomCath P.Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Absolutely lovely campsite.
    Quiet site.
    Very clean and tidy.
    Jane and Nadine were very friendly and helpful.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Anonymous user

Lovely quiet site. Clean and very modern facilities. Very pleasant …21/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomAnonymousMobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely quiet site. Clean and very modern facilities. Very pleasant owners we hardly saw. Easily accessible grounds and water easy to access. No dislikes. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Clean facilities12/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomArtur N.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Lovely place. Very friendly owners.side well lucked after.

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A great place to stay if you are older with no children05/08/2019

Reviewer's country: United KingdomSarah P.Mobile phone iconConfirmed

  • Electric grass tent or trailer tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean facilities

    Disliked: 

    The owner was rude and told us we had to leave after one night. We had paid for electric which we could not reach due to there not being enough ports. After asking to be moved to a closer port which there were plenty we were told she was fully booked and it would be trouble moving us around. I booked electric for a reason and had a very unacceptable attitude. She then approached complaining of my dog being off the lead when other campers were doing the same but did not have the hostile attitude and were not approached. The last straw was her approaching at 8.45pm complaining of the noise from the children who were very excited roasting marshmallows not bothering anyone the owner was rude and did not like us from the moment we asked to be moved she then told us to leave the campsite the following morning with very upset and disappointed children will never stay there again but south cockett campsite and the owner William is fantastic i will recommend to anyone with children.

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry your stay was not all you wanted but I would like to address a few of your points. I feel that it was a case of square peg & round hole. It clearly states that we are a quiet site on the edge of a village, so we have to take into account our neighbours.

You keep saying you paid for Grass pitches with electric hook up, strictly speaking you booked the pitches, as I never accepted any money from yourselves. I would also like to state that there are enough electric ports for the 9 pitches that we advertise as Grass pitches with Electric and extension leads are available on request.

Secondly, in regards to moving, at the time your party arrived there were more campers expected so the site should have been full that evening. Saying that I have no control if other campers do not turn up. I had already moved things around to ensure both families could camp next to each other, even though it was a late booking. I was not RUDE, I was abrupt as trying to rearrange other bookings to ensure you could remain together. I am polite at all times when dealing with customers, I did not raise my voice nor swear. And I try to explain why I ask people to do certain things.

I had spoken to you twice previously in regards to the children's behaviour. Being on a camp site there are many Health and Safety issues and regulations, and surely asking children not to climb or play in areas which are not covered by insurance nor part of the camp site is only looking out for their health and wellbeing.

In regards to the dogs,when I approached you and apologised for disturbing you, I explained that part of the site rules and insurance demands, all dogs on site must be on leads. I was then told that other dogs were around without leads. I thanked you for the information and immediately went around the site talking to all the dog owners in regards to their dogs not being on leads, only to find all dogs were either on leads or in their travel cages.

And finally, The Last Straw, the above states that I approached you at 8:45 pm to ask you to be quiet, when in actual fact it was after 10:30 pm. I know this as it was after the last clean of the facilities which began at about 10:15 pm as we always wait for the site to quiet down, this is so we do not disturb camper going through their evening bathroom routines.

I am glad that you found a site more suited to you families needs.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Coronavirus

Capacity reduced to increase social distancing

Check-in: one group at a time

Dedicated toilet per pitch

Disinfectant sprays and wipes provided

Distance markers in shared facilities

More frequent emptying of bins

Shared spaces: more frequent cleaning

Staggered showering times

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Restaurant nearby

Surf school nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Type

Small (11-25 pitches)

Themes

Peaceful

Remote location

Spectacular scenery

Walkers' paradise

Wildlife haven

Location

[[ campsite.name ]]
This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
[[ place.name ]]
  • Ferwig, Cardigan, Ceredigion, Wales, SA43 1PZ
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 52.1186°N 4.6508°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Pencader (Carmarthenshire): Square Bus Stop — 18.3 miles
Aberaeron (Ceredigion): Alban Square Bus Stop — 18.8 miles
St Clears (Carmarthenshire) Coach Stop — 21.7 miles
Train stations
Fishguard Harbour Rail Station — 16.1 miles
Fishguard & Goodwick Rail Station — 16.7 miles
Clunderwen Rail Station — 19.5 miles
Ferry ports
Fishguard Ferry Terminal — 16.6 miles
Airports
Swansea Airport — 43.5 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Being so close to the Ceredigion Coastal Path makes it a cinch to sort activities such as fishing, boating, walking, cycling, birdwatching, dolphin spotting (rumour has it a visitor swam with six dolphins in Aberporth one summer) or relaxing on one of the many stunning local stunning beaches – Poppit Sands, Mwnt and Aberporth are all within a 20-minute drive.

Cardigan's historic town centre is well worth a visit, with a mix of shops, pubs and restaurants plus a theatre, cinema, swimming pool and galleries. You can also discover the medieval origins of the region, admire the Georgian architecture and learn about the origins of the Eisteddfod – all in stunning surroundings at Cardigan Castle.

Inland, nature lovers will want to wander around the Welsh Wildlife Centre at Cilgerran (about 20 minutes by car) and the scenic falls at Cenarth (around 25 minutes). For the green-fingered, the National Botanic Garden of Wales, with inspiring themed gardens, a bird of prey centre and butterfly house, can be reached in about an hour by car.

Must see

  • National Wool Museum (12.5 miles)
  • Llanerchaeron - National Trust (19.2 miles)
  • National Botanic Garden of Wales (28.7 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  3 p.m. –  8 p.m.
Depart by:  11 a.m.

Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers cancellation policy

Balance refunds: no penalties

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Deposit transferable during COVID-19.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

  • How much is payable upfront? A 15% transferable deposit is payable when you book, with the balance payable on arrival. Read more
  • Does Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers have a swimming pool? No View all features
  • Is Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers dog friendly? Yes View all features
  • What attractions are near Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers? Being so close to the Ceredigion Coastal Path makes it a cinch to sort activities such as fishing, boating, walking, cycling, birdwatching, dolphin spotting (rumour has it a visitor swam with six … Read more
  • When can I check in and check out of Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers?
    Camping and touring
    Arrive:  3 p.m. –  8 p.m.
    Depart by:  11 a.m.
    Read more
  • How much does it cost to stay at Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers? From £17 (for 1 night, 4 people) - prices may change depending on your dates and party. Check prices and availability

Close

Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Ty Mawr Tents and Tourers


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

General
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Additional terms

A charge of £1 per 10 minutes applies for the use of the shower.

Please note that the toilet and shower block is unisex.

Close