Book and review 9,391 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Edinburgh Festival Camping

7.2
View prices & book
From £32/€35.83/A$56.66/US$42.07/CA$55.22/CHF41.68/SEK372.18/DKK267/NOK343.36/ISK4,464/ARS1,157.31/CLP27,718/PEN136.72/NZ$61.70/ZAR563.89/PLN154.90/R$158.57/CZK926.66/RSD4,236/HUF11,658.11/RUB2,670.57/CN¥282.41 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Budget stays for the Edinburgh festivals
  • Camp alongside festival performers and visitors
  • Free hot showers

As you might have heard, Edinburgh is quite the place for festivals. And as you also might have heard, it can be mighty tricky to get accommodation in Edinburgh during the time of the Fringe and the other August fests... and hotel prices are no laughing matter either...

So give a big hand to Edinburgh Festival Camping, set up so peeps can consider the August festival season in the city or use as a base for touring Scotland and know they've got a bed/remaining bank balance to boot. It's a friendly site designed to be accessible and affordable for all guests, and lays on accommodation for performers as well as visitors – might you have the Next Big Thing pitching up next to you...?

The site has showers, loos, a bar and catering area, and staff on site on a 24-hour basis for security and support. And it has the fringe benefit of easy access from the airport, as well as buses and trams a short walk away to take you straight into the city: the bus has regular services and the tram line into town takes about half an hour from the Edinburgh Airport stop or from Ingliston Park and Ride.

Please note

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party:

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

7.2

Overall rating based on 10 reviews

 

60% would recommend this site to a friend.

50% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Lovely site but due to the location i would not stop again 03/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Delia D. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The staff we're very friendly and the site was very clean and well maintained.

    Disliked: 

    The site is located right next to the airport which was very noisy.

From the manager...

Hi, thank you for your feedback, we're so happy to hear that you found our campsite clean and well maintained, and our staff friendly! I'm sorry to hear that the airport bothered you, the airport has noise limitation policies in place so they should not be flying between 11pm and 6am on weekdays, with a later start on weekends. It's something that we and our families barely notice, but some people are more sensitive to - much like snoring! We have earplugs available at Check In for anyone who would like them, and would recommend to anyone who is more sensitive to bring with them some wax earplugs. We hope this didn't affect your stay and that you had a wonderful time in Edinburgh. Kind regards,

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Poor access, limited facilities, Airport noise and loud music after 11 27/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom John B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A welcoming free small beer bottle each

    Disliked: 

    Sat nav to post code took to wrong location, then sat nav to street address took to wrong end. Road access closed from this end. Staff not trained or knowledgeable in area when I phoned for assistance. Shower facilities very poor and few for size of site, a great distance from motorhome pitches.

From the manager...

Hi, thank you for your feedback and apologies that you found it difficult to find our site. We send out detailed directions to all of our guests before the campsite opens, where we try to emphasise that you cannot use the postcode in SatNav as it covers too large an area. We also provide detailed maps of entrances to the site; this year there will be better signage available. I'm also sorry to hear that you found our staff were unable to help, we all know the site very well so I can only imagine that there was a communication problem here. We will certainly consider your comments when we carry out future staff training. Last year, the shower facilities were a walk away from the Motorhome Pitches, but this will not be the case this year. This year there will be new toilet and shower facilities available in the Motorhome area for our guests use. We have never experienced any feedback about people having to queue for showers for more than a couple of minutes at very specific peak times, and this year there will be even more available. We usually receive excellent feedback about our showers, so I can only apologise that you did not have this experience, but if you would like to provide more detail about why you thought the facilities were poor, we'd really appreciate your feedback. Kind regards,

Overall
2
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

All the facilities, especially the camping stove for cooking. Great ... 23/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Louisa H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    All the facilities, especially the camping stove for cooking. Great not to have to bring mybown

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Brilliant value for money, friendly and secure. 20/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mark C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom rental tent (four man)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Good set up, friendly staff, organised, secure, very good price.

    Disliked: 

    All went well. Would recommend it.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

good pitches facilities ok 20/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom gerard c. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • 1 bedroom rental tent (double, two man)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Site was good

    Disliked: 

    Aircraft noise

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Wouldn't return. Very expensive for what you get as a tourer. 16/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom jacqui_h274933 Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass touring caravan pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Easy access from the Motorway. Staff we spoke to were friendly. The bus stop to GO INTO Edinburgh was just a two minute walk from campsite, and was £1.60 per person.

    Disliked: 

    The fact that we were classed as a premium pitch and yet we weren't allowed to use the showers near to us. They were only for the pods. Our showers were a long walk away, and only 4 ladies showers for a huge amount of tents and pitches.

    To get back from Edinburgh was AWFUL!!! Had to get airport bus (£4.50 a person), then had a long walk back down unlit roads. Two of our four nights there was a party in by airport, so the road was closed for us to walk back to campsite. The first night, when we'd walked backwards and forwards, and considered jumping a very high fence because the gates has been locked to get to campsite, a security man from the airport area party had to give us a lift as it was pitch black and we just couldn't get back. This happened to quite a few people. My daughter, who is in the festival, and her friend came back at 1am that night and my husband had to get up to walk to find her with a torch as it was locked and no access. Very poor and very dangerous!

From the manager...

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Last year we worked with another supplier who provided the Glamping Pods, and through this supplier we faced a few issues which affected the other campers in the Meadow, so I can only apologise that you were affected by this. This year, we will not be providing Glamping Pods and there will not be an exclusive area for Glamping - we are campers and we want to our focus to be on creating the best camping site! The Meadow will be used for Motorhomes, Caravans and Campervans and will have it's own set of toilet and shower facilities. As for the showers in the Countryside area, we've always received excellent feedback about them, and there's only ever a short queue at peak times - they have never been an issue.

In regards to you returning from Edinburgh, we provide detailed leaflets explaining how to get back to our campsite at all times of day, including how to get back using the Night Bus after midnight which costs £3. I'm sorry that you took the bus to the airport, but this is not what we advise and this route is not included on the maps and information that we hand out and display online. The routes we advise are along lit roads, so we hope others will not have this experience. We're really proud of our campsite and that we provide budget accommodation so people can enjoy the Festivals without breaking the bank. We do hope you had a wonderful time at the Edinburgh Festivals and enjoyed your daughter's show. Kind regards,

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Friendly site lacks facilities for number of pitches 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Tom M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Location ideal for park and ride

    Disliked: 

    Toilet and wash area, needs full time attendant

From the manager...

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We did receive a lot of rain last year so while we tried our best to combat the mud being walked into the toilet and shower facilities, we did as much as we could to keep the facilities in tip-top condition. We spoke to the other campsites in the area and we know they experienced this as well. We carry out regular checks on all of our facilities and usually receive really great feedback about them. We hope you had an excellent stay in Edinburgh and that this did not affect your stay. Kind regards,

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good pop up site with helpful staff and clean facilities. 14/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Yvonne G. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Bell tent
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Transport link to get into the city centre( trams). Lots of space in bell tent.

    Disliked: 

    Would have liked electric hook up or some sort of heating.

From the manager...

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately because we are a temporary campsite, we cannot provide electric hook up - but we do our best to ensure that charging facilities are available by providing plenty of charging points in our Giant Tipis for devices and anything else required. We offer to take items that need longer charging into our office, such as wheelchair batteries, and we have a Hair Drying Booth for our guests to dry their hair. I'm sorry to hear you were cold, Scottish summers can be a bit chilly. We provide 13.5 tog duvets in the Bell Tents as well as blankets to keep you toasty, but we will also provide extra sleeping bags to be used as blankets if you need them - just come and speak to us! We hope you had a wonderful time in Edinburgh and at the Festivals. Kind regards,

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Bus links 12/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Alison A. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Bus links

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great way to see the Fringe on a budget 12/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Richard H. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • 2 bedroom rental tent (four man)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Access and ease of public transport.
    The ability to borrow pots and pans and a gas ring from the site.
    Having a venue on the site.

    Disliked: 

    Rent a tents all very close to each other.
    Mobile charging station!
    Pathways to tents not cared for. Very wet and boggy

From the manager...

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We did receive a lot of rain last year, both before and during the event, so while we tried our best to maintain the paths and prevent areas from getting boggy, unfortunately there was little we could do. We know the other campsites in the area experienced this as well... not unheard of in Scotland! We will be making sure the tents are better spaced out this year, previously their proximity hasn't been so noticeable, but with the mud they just seemed closer together - this will be different this year! We do provide device charging points in our Giant Tipi, and for items that need longer charging, we're happy to take these into our office, so there should have been mobile charging available to you. Please come talk to us anytime if you need something charging and cannot find a charging point! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be joining us again in the future! Kind regards,

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Tents for hire

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Budget/backpacker

Leave the car at home

Nearby leisure

Climbing nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Camping 2.0

Bell tents

Pre-erected tents

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • The West Gate, Hallyards Road, Ingliston, Edinburgh, Lothian, Scotland, EH28 8NB
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 55.9408°N 3.3810°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Edinburgh Airport: Terminal Coach Stop — 0.8 miles
Winchburgh: Main Street Bus Stop — 3.3 miles
Barnton (Edinburgh): Barnton Hotel Coach Stop — 3.3 miles
Train stations
Edinburgh Park Rail Station — 3.0 miles
Dalmeny Rail Station — 3.2 miles
South Gyle Rail Station — 3.2 miles
Ferry ports
South Queensferry Ferry Landing — 3.6 miles
Rosyth Ferry Terminal — 6.1 miles
Inchcolm Island Ferry Landing — 6.9 miles
Airports
Edinburgh Airport — 0.8 miles

Directions


The site is situated at The Royal Highland Centre on the west side of Edinburgh, located next to Edinburgh Airport, within minutes of the M8 and M9 and in easy reach of the city centre.

By plane:
The site is situated within the Royal Highland Centre adjacent to Edinburgh Airport.

By train:
Haymarket is the nearest large train station with excellent train links across the UK. Lothian Buses run regular services stopping outside Haymarket Station and dropping off opposite the campsite on the A8 - journey time is 16-19 minutes.

Taxis are available outside the station and a ride takes approximately 15-20 minutes.

By car:
EFC at The Royal Highland Centre sits off Glasgow Road (A8) between Newbridge roundabout and the A8/Airport roundabout, one of the main routes into the city. From the A8 follow the signposts to the site.

By bus:
From Edinburgh, Lothian Buses run regular services. The bus stop closest to the site is just on the A8 known as ‘Opposite Ingliston Showground’.
The Stagecoach Jet747 bus service from Fife will drop visitors off outside the main entrance to Royal Highland Centre. Citylink also operate services with drop-offs on the A8 directly outside the campsite road entrance.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

To the Fringe! And to the Edinburgh International Festival, Edinburgh Fringe, Royal Military Tattoo, Edinburgh Mela, Edinburgh Arts Festival and the Edinburgh International Book Festival, all running during Edinburgh's festival season in August and ending with a sizzling fireworks concert display.

If you're planning a day or two not festivalling. Edinburgh has piles of fab sights to see, like Edinburgh Castle, the National Museum of Scotland in Old Town, the National Gallery of Scotland and the National Storytelling Centre of Scotland, along with Edinburgh Zoo on Corstorphine Hill with corking city views and sandy Silverknowles Beach a short drive away.

Must see

  • Edinburgh Zoo (4.3 miles)
  • Royal Scottish Academy (6.7 miles)
  • Royal Botanic Garden (6.8 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  2 p.m. –  11 p.m.
Depart:  10:30 a.m.
On-site accommodation
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  11 p.m.
Depart:  10:30 a.m.

Edinburgh Festival Camping cancellation policy

No refunds within 30 days of arrival date.

84-62 days before arrival: 50% of the balance will be retained.
61-8 days before arrival: 75% of the balance will be retained.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Edinburgh Festival Camping will debit the balance from your card 12 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 12 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Hired accommodation: £100.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Edinburgh Festival Camping


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.

General
Glass bottles are not permitted.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The bar and/or restaurant is open between 07/08 and 31/08.
The grocery shop is open between 07/08 and 31/08.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Hired accommodation
Hired accommodation: £100.00 damage/cleanliness/bracelet deposit is required on arrival and will be refunded on departure after inspection of your unit should no damage/losses be found.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Safety
Open fires are prohibited.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.
Visitors’ cars are not permitted on site.

Close