Book and review 8,777 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Blackland Lakes

8.6
View prices & book
From £13.75/€15.41/A$24.02/US$18.17/CA$23.21/CHF17.97/kr153.11/kr114.64/kr149.74/kr1,877/$317.59/$11,387/PEN58.95/NZ$26.66/R254.06/zł65.27/R$59.21/Kč394.26/RSD1,826/Ft4,804.87/₽1,071.57/CN¥120.47 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Scenic and peaceful site at the foot of the North Wessex Downs
  • A mile from the world-famed Westbury White Horse
  • Two fishing lakes, shop and big barbecue and events area

Ever seen the famed Westbury White Horse, high up above an Iron Age hill fort on Salisbury Plain? You can trot along to it within a short canter with a stay at Blackland Lakes: this peaceful rural place is a mere mile from the horse, one of the best-known sights in the south-west.

If you're more up for lazing around at base (after a trip to see the Wiltshire gee-gee, of course), Blackland has two coarse fishing lakes filled with carp, tench, perch, roach, bream and gudgeon for you to cast off at, for mirror carp up to 25lbs in Heron Lake, and bream to 11lb in both. Another lake is set aside as a habitat for wildfowl for those who'd rather laze about this green and scenic setting.

A highlight of this well-appointed park is its central barbecue barn, which can cater to groups of up to 100 via its kitchen and licensed bar. The team has also opened a well-stocked and licensed shop, selling essentials, drinks of both the hard and soft variety, ice cream and camping basics like tent pegs. Within the shop is a small tourist info section with leaflets on local attractions, events and details of local pubs, restaurants, and takeaways that can deliver your din straight to the site.

Blackland is at just outside the village of Caine, at the foot of the North Wessex Downs. As well as the Westbury White Horse, the site is within easy reach of other famed Wiltshire archaeological landmarks like the stone circles of Avebury and the Neolithic tomb of West Kennet Long Barrow; UNESCO-listed and utterly fab Stonehenge, and the prehistoric artificial chalk mound of Silbury Hill.

The park covers 17 acres, divided into secluded grass paddocks. Among the amenities are two bathroom buildings with toilets and showers, one open at all times and heated, and the other open in winter and with a separate ladies' washroom.

The closest pub serving food is about 10 minutes' walk away.

Silver David Bellamy Conservation Award AA 3 pennants

Please note

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Bookings must not be for more than 28 consecutive nights.

Single-sex bookings of 6 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.6

Overall rating based on 47 reviews

 

85% would recommend this site to a friend.

81% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Quiet and lots of space. Good site map on arrival ... 17/11/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Ian C. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quiet and lots of space. Good site map on arrival and adequate facilities.

    Disliked: 

    Nobody at reception when we arrived at 1730 and no instructions of where to go or who to contact. It was a fair distance walk to the shower block which looked a bit old and tired and in need of decoration.
    Quite expensive for what it is compared to other sites.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Lovely country site 03/11/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom chris p. Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Fantastic location and views ,

    Disliked: 

    Showers dated

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your 10/10 review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Nice quiet site, loads of space, nice scenery. Great for ... 25/10/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom martyn_e187935 Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice quiet site, loads of space, nice scenery. Great for dog walking.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our campsite to your friend.We look forward to welcoming you back to Blackland Lakes in the future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Nice site friendly staff 03/09/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom michael g. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Fully-serviced gravel touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Quite level pitch and the electric and water services where great

    Disliked: 

    Toilet blocks where a bit scruffy and dark and dinghy

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review the Campsite. We do have plans to update the Amenity Blocks in the future to make them more welcoming and easy to use.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A very big site with insufficient and basic only facilities. 02/09/2017

Reviewer's country: France nicoleta_a Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    the late check-in possibility and the location itself.

    Disliked: 

    the distance to the facilities - one has to walk half a mile if you stay where we have been assigned, showers not working the night we spent there, no lights on the way to the facilities, no fridge, just a very bare kitchen (sinks only).

From the manager...

Thank you for taking the time to review Blackland Lakes. The Campsite Owner and Management Team would like to clarify a couple of points.

You were allocated a pitch within Paddock 9. From Paddock 9 to the closest amenity block (Amenity block 2) it is 0.05 miles.

Unfortunately we did have an unforeseen issue with the showers in Block 2 on the night you arrived which we were unable to rectify until a plumber arrived early the next morning. We are sorry for any inconvenience this caused. There were notices in place apologising for this inconvenience and explaining that the showers in Amenity Block 1 were available for use.

The distance from Amenity Block 2 to Amenity Block 1 is 0.12 miles.
The distance from Amenity Block 1 back to the entrance of Paddock 9 is 0.17 miles. The roundtrip journey would have been a total of 0.29 miles.

We do not advertise that we have kitchens, the areas with the sinks are purely washing up areas and labelled as this on our campsite maps.

If you had enquired as to whether we had a fridge prior to arrival we would have been able to explain this wasn't a service we could provide. Most campers take advantage of our ice pack freezing service to keep their items cold.

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

It was possible to arrive late in the evening. We ... 01/09/2017

Reviewer's country: Germany Stefan H. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    It was possible to arrive late in the evening. We found a letter addressed to us pinned to the reception door. The letter contained the exit gate code and directed us to the our pitch.

    It would be even better to have this described on the booking page.

    The grass was nice the toilets and showers were clean and in relatively good shape.
    The shower water had a comfortable temperature and was pretty strong.

    The camping spot we got was part a large grass field separated by a road. We felt a little bit lost because of no greenery inbetween the pitches but otherwise it was fine.

    Disliked: 

    The shower could not be regulated manually in regards to temperature or water pressure. There was an electric switch turning on the shower. The water hose is positioned in a way that it will spray out of the shower cell all over the place and the switch which is outside the shower cell is not easily reachable without spraying a lot of water around.

From the manager...

Thank you for the review of the Campsite and the positive comments. We are slightly baffled by the contradictory comments regarding the comfortable temperature and pressure in the 'Liked' section and the one regarding the temperature and pressure not being able to be regulated in the 'Disliked' section. We will take a look at the shower in question and check the direction of the spray.

Overall
6
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

we made friends with their goats the baby was our ... 31/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Gabriella D. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass motorhome pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    we made friends with their goats the baby was our fav . it was quiet and peaceful. had good lakes for fishing. staff was friendly. the pitches were flat and big. would go again

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review and the lovely comments regarding the campsite, lakes and Blackland Lakes Team. We hope to see you again.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Very helful, friendly staff. Lots of hot water for shower. ... 31/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Jan m. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very helful, friendly staff. Lots of hot water for shower. Loved the onsite Nature Trail.

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your 10/10 review. I will pass on your comments to the Blackland Lakes Team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

exactly what a campsite should be like !! 30/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom denise o. Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    very peaceful
    spacious
    ease of checking in at reception, lady very welcoming and efficient
    great location/local transport
    a rustic cleanliness exactly what you'd expect to find on a campsite

    only stayed one night but couldn't find any faults, thank you

    Disliked: 

    nothing, it was just excellent

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your 10/10 review. Reading your comments epitomises everything we strive to achieve so that our customers enjoy their stay. We hope to welcome you back to Blackland Lakes in the future.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Nice people 29/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom sara_p482516 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric optional grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice people

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your pictures of your stay. We are a very friendly team at Blackland Lakes and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Nearby leisure

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Public transport nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Stockley Lane Calne, Wiltshire, England, SN11 0NQ
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 51.4191°N 1.9942°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Calne: Town Hall Coach Stop — 1.4 miles
Devizes: Market Place Coach Stop — 4.5 miles
Beckhampton (Wilts): A4 Coach Stop — 5.3 miles
Train stations
Chippenham Rail Station — 6.0 miles
Melksham Rail Station — 7.0 miles
Pewsey Rail Station — 11.0 miles
Ferry ports
Temple Meads Station Ferry Landing — 25.5 miles
Temple Bridge (Bristol) Ferry Landing — 25.6 miles
Castle Park Ferry Landing — 25.8 miles
Airports
Bristol International Airport — 31.1 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

The Westbury White Horse – Wiltshire's famed giant chalk horse carved into the slope of Salisbury Plain – is about a mile from Blackland Lakes, on the edge of Bratton Downs. Standing 80 feet tall and 170 feet wide, it's viewable for 16 or 17 miles around its setting; from the horse itself, you'll be able to see Bratton Castle and the white horses of Devizes and Alton Barnes.
This is most certainly a land of archaeological and world-famed historical highlights: you can reach the pretty village of Avebury and its three prehistoric stone circles within 10 minutes' drive and the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Stonehenge within 40 minutes' drive. If your tastes are more modern, a vintage motor museum is less than 10 minutes' walk away.

Take a trip out to any of the area's market towns such as Calne, Devizes, Chippenham, Corsham, Royal Wootton Bassett and Marlborough, all within 25 minutes' drive. Bath, a UNESCO site for its Roman baths, hot springs and Georgian architecture, is about 35 minutes away.

For peaceful sightseeing within a short drive, try Bowood House and its landscaped gardens, five miles away, and the National Trust village of Lacock eight miles from the site, a magical place that's had screen appearances in the likes of Downton Abbey and Harry Potter.

Must see

  • Wadworth Visitor Centre (4.5 miles)
  • Lacock Abbey, Grounds and Cloisters (5.4 miles)
  • Silbury Hill (5.9 miles)

National Trust

  • Lacock Abbey, Fox Talbot Museum and Village (5.5 miles)
  • Avebury (5.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  12 p.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  12 p.m.

Blackland Lakes cancellation policy

No penalties

Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.

Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Cash
Cheque
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Blackland Lakes


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Changes to your holiday
Bookings cannot be amended within 7 day(s) of arrival.
Modifications are subject to a £10.00 fee.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
Guide dogs are allowed on site free of charge.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act and/or any of the following: Staffordshire bull terrier, American Staffordshire terrier, Rottweiler, any Mastiff or Tosa.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Bookings must not be for more than 28 consecutive nights.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10:30 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The grocery shop is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 6 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.
The site caters for families (immediate members) and couples only - bookings from all other forms of groups are not accepted.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. between 01/10 and 31/03.
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. between 01/04 and 30/09.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
No vehicle movement between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m..
The car is only included in the rate if you are travelling with a touring caravan or a tent. If you wish to bring a car along with your motorhome/campervan please select the extra.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 9 p.m..
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Close