Book and review 8,696 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Whitemead Caravan Park

8.2
View prices & book
From £16/€17.34/A$25.91/US$20.48/CA$25.71/CHF19.78/kr165.46/kr129.45/kr161.13/kr2,192/$356.35/$13,333/PEN66.42/NZ$28.33/R269.81/zł74.42/R$64.41/Kč453.26/RSD2,078 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Family-run park in the village of Wool, five miles from the coast
  • Less than two miles from Monkey World and the Tank Museum
  • Five minutes' walk from train station, bus stops, pubs and shops

If you’re choosing your holiday reads to bring with you to Whitemead Caravan Park, there’s one blindingly obvious contender: step forward local lad Mr Thomas Hardy. Reread your old copy of Tess of the D’Urbervilles down here and you may just spot a few similarities between a couple of local buildings and certain locations in the novel.

Even if literary references aren’t your thing, there are many reasons to plant yourselves at this family-run park in the village of Wool. Chief among these may well be its easy access to a plethora of transport options. Make life easy by leaving your car or caravan on site and just toddling a few minutes to the train station or bus stops for your days out.

Alternatively, get those legs really going by using the network of walking and bike paths to explore the area – heaps of fab attractions are within easy reach on foot or two wheels. Upon your return to the village, reward your efforts with a hearty feed of fish and chips or a restorative pint of the local ale at one of the two pubs within staggering distance.

Also within a few minutes’ walk are a butcher and a baker (sadly no candlestick maker) where you can pick up fresh grub for your evening barbie. Less poetic but no less convenient are the village’s two supermarkets, and the park’s own mini market, full of handy essentials.

If you didn’t quite manage to tire your kids out during the day, send them over to the playground, or wander over to the games room for a few rounds of pool, darts or table football. Wifi is available if they need a little bit of quiet time alone to play with gadgetry.

All this cycling, playing and barbecuing can be mucky work so the on-site launderette may well prove to be a useful feature. For your own personal clean-up routine the modern toilet block has free hot showers and a hair dryer point where you can restore your barnet to its former glory.

Pitches themselves are spacious and surrounded by trees; the park stretches over five acres so you can always find a shady spot to settle down with a glass of wine and a Hardy novel (other authors’ works are also permitted).

AA 5 pennants

Please note

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.2

Overall rating based on 26 reviews

 

81% would recommend this site to a friend.

77% would stay here again.

 

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Good place for the kids small park to keep them happy. 22/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Chris W. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Toilets, people who run the site, location, nice walks.

    Disliked: 

    Pitched up under a tree, lots of bird muck to wash off. Shop very dear and small.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Leaving the site 20/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Dominic L. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Leaving the site

    Disliked: 

    Terrible ground for tent pegs, pitch not level, aggressive site owner took issue with use of logs in barbecue and was constantly patrolling looking for problems, site next door to busy train line and you are likely to be pitched next door to houses on the site / immediately next to access road. Not a site for campers who like a good firepit or natural surroundings / privacy. WIFI was additional cost

From the manager...

Thank you for your review. It gives us the chance to answer you - You fail to mention that you were told to leave the site by 9am on Wednesday, days before your holiday was due to end due to your argumentative attitude and more importantly your total disregard for other campers and their safety. You were asked on more than one occasion to put out the fire but all you could do was argue.You had an open fire hanging outside of your tent, there were other people surrounding you in tents and caravans, don't you realise the danger of fire! the smell was disgusting in fact the whole of the campsite smelt of burning wood. Not only did you have the fire hanging outside of your tent (with your small children in) you went inside of your tent zipped it up and left the fire burning, so you were not even keeping an eye on it. The people staying around came to see us as they were so worried and in fact thanked us for making you leave the site. It is in our terms and conditions that we do not accept fires of any sorts. Your other comments are not even worth answering !

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site and facilities. Loved our visit. 19/08/2017

chris_c290620 Confirmed

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We had a wonderful stay here with our 2 young children.The park is spotless and the toilet/shower block is modern and clean. The kids loved the play area and the strolls taken through the beautiful woods and fields a few minutes walk from our pitch. Chippy, Chinese takeaway,pubs and shop all close by. Had a heavy days rain but pitch did not become waterlogged and drained quickly. Everyone was really friendly and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing, would book again if we return to Dorset for another holiday.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Great site 17/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Pauline M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved it all. Clean, tidy, well maintained, staff couldn't have done more to help us
    So close to bus stops & railway station. Will go back

    Disliked: 

    Having to buy my wifi voucher every day & it's a bit hit n miss

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

clean facilities, most frendly staff 15/08/2017

Reviewer's country: Netherlands Elisabeth T. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    many activity in the environement; walks, coast path, sea, duddle door, sand banks, old harry rocks, cesle banks,
    clean facilities
    friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    - noisy train; every 30 min claxoning from 7.15 till 23.15
    - rainwater stays lang on the pitches,
    - a tent with children was standing in the mud, the staff should have give them an other place and give them a hand by removing their tent and / or the mud
    (in the rain)

    - Many difference in pitches, very big our very small; al the same price.
    - a motorhome had let his water go ont he hard pitch in the ground.
    - we were asked to turning our caravan because of the smell of our water because of the neighbours (???) Our water didn't smell. We have no toilet, Why not asking us first our smel by yourself ?

From the manager...

Thank you for your review.
The matter of the trains hooting is in arbitration, hopefully will be solved soon.
Due to the fact that we must have had at least a months worth of rain in an hour did cause the water to remain on pitches for longer than usual as the French drains we have just installed couldn't take the water away quick enough. As regards the family on the pitch we did offer to move them but they said they were happy to sit it out, and said it wasn't our fault it was due to the amount of rain.
In our leaflet which is given out on arrival customer are told that waste hogs must be used but unfortunately some customers choose to ignore this, we are unaware unless informed. As another customer complained to us about the smell coming from your caravan we had to speak to you. We are sorry if you were offended.
We hope you will come and stay with us again.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent,clean facilities, friendly, level pitches will stay again. 14/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Robert F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A very well managed site with top quality facilities, friendly staff, ideal location for local pubs & shops & rail/bus links.

    Disliked: 

    Nothing

From the manager...

Thank you for your review, hope to see you again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Clean park 13/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Richard S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Clean washing facilities, pleasant staff upon arrival

    Disliked: 

    I had booked and paid for a hard standing pitch and paid the additional fees to erect the awning to house my dog. The pitch I was allocated was grass (not hard standing) and sloped in two plains meaning I could either level the caravan or erect the awning, such was the lean if I had levelled the caravan across it's axle the awning would not have been long enough to reach the ground(approx 150mm across the axle packing required). The train line 30m from my pitch with trains from 6am till 11pm sounding their horn as they passed although not in control of the park owners was not mentioned. The park for children to play on is basic at best.

Overall
4
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Everything 1st class. From the staff to a wonderful site.A++camping. 12/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom anthony w. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Could not have wished for a more wonderful site. Everything is clean, tidy, and shower/toilet block first class. The camp/caravan site is pleasant and in a lovely area, the layout superb.We had a awesome 5 days. Would recommend Whitemead, without question.

    Disliked: 

    Pleased to say....nothing to dislike.A++++++

From the manager...

Thank you so much for your review, hope to see you again.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

After camping for 15 years this is in my top ... 11/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Gary B. Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    After camping for 15 years this is in my top 3 of sites.
    Very clean
    Very central
    Just excellent all round

    Disliked: 

From the manager...

Thank you so much for brilliant review.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

I'll definitely stay again and recommend to friends.i 05/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Anthony B. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Welcome and friendly helpful owners and staff.
    Excellent shower and toilet, laundry room and children's play area.
    The whole site very clean, tidy and very well maintained.

    Disliked: 

    No dislikes at all.

From the manager...

Thank you for your brilliant review, it is much appreciated.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • East Burton Road Wool, Dorset, England, BH20 6HG
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.6811°N 2.2263°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Wareham: North Street Coach Stop — 5.1 miles
Corfe Castle: East Street Coach Stop — 8.1 miles
Dorchester: South Rail Station Coach Stop — 9.5 miles
Train stations
Wool Rail Station — 0.2 miles
Moreton (Dorset) Rail Station — 4.1 miles
Wareham Rail Station — 4.9 miles
Ferry ports
Poole Ferry Terminal — 10.4 miles
Poole Quay Ferry Landing — 10.8 miles
Weymouth Ferry Terminal — 11.0 miles
Airports
Bournemouth International Airport — 18.5 miles

Directions


Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

On the edge of the Isle of Purbeck and halfway between Bournemouth and Dorchester, Wool is handily placed for reaching all manner of fab attractions.

Closest to the park are Monkey World and the Tank Museum in Bovington, both of which can be reached with a five-minute drive, 10-minute cycle or half-hour walk. The residents at Monkey World now number over 250, all of them either rescued or endangered species and several now enjoying reality TV star status thanks to a documentary series that’s been running in the UK since 2006. Nearby, the Tank Museum houses a collection of over 300 vehicles, from the world’s first ever tank through to more modern exhibits, and is widely regarded as one of the world's top military museums.

If you’d like to play at being a knight, 15 minutes’ drive (or an hour’s cycle) brings you to Corfe Castle, a medieval ruin with plenty of nooks and crannies for hiding out and spying on your family through arrow holes. A model village next door gives you an idea of how it may have looked in its heyday. Also not quite intact is Lulworth Castle (15 minutes’ drive or a half-hour cycle), which has been only partly restored since it was gutted by fire in 1929. Climb the tower for some great views, or make like a royal and promenade around the castle’s sizeable parkland grounds.

Five miles south of the park you’ll hit the sea and some of the Jurassic Coast’s most famed attractions – Lulworth Cove and the huge rock arch of Durdle Door. Adventurous types can join kayaking or coasteering trips from here to get up close to the famed coastline. Eagle-eyed fossil hunters should head east to Kimmeridge Bay, where it’s possible to come across ammonites and other fossils as you scour the beach.

Other options for days out might include cycling around Wareham Forest followed by a boat trip on the river Frome from Wareham itself (10 minutes’ drive from the park), or a steam-powered trip on the Swanage Railway (half an hour’s drive), or making friends with the sharks at SeaLife in Weymouth (20 minutes’ drive), or – well, it’s safe to say you won’t get bored around these parts.

Must see

  • Monkey World - Ape Rescue Centre (1.2 miles)
  • The Tank Museum (1.2 miles)
  • Lulworth Castle & Park (3.0 miles)

National Trust

  • Clouds Hill (2.8 miles)
  • Hardy's Cottage (7.9 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  1 p.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart:  11 a.m.

Whitemead Caravan Park cancellation policy

No penalties

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now.

The remainder is payable on arrival.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Bank transfer
Cash
Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Whitemead Caravan Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
Late arrivals must notify the park as soon as possible. Your booking will be held for 24 hours. After this period the management reserves the right to relet your unit.
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.
The site does not accept breeds/crossbreeds listed in the Dangerous Dogs Act.

Extras
Motorbike(s) can be brought instead of the car(s) included.

General
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m..
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The grocery shop is open between 14/03 and 31/10.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Reception
Reception is open from 8:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. and from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. between 14/03 - 14/07 and 05/09 - 31/10.
Reception is open from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. between 15/07 and 04/09.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Firearms are not permitted.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must leave the premises by 8:30 p.m..
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Close