Book and review 8,744 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Newlands Holiday Park

8.4
View prices & book
From £14/€15.73/A$23.68/US$18.49/CA$23.38/CHF18.21/kr152.01/kr117.55/kr147.99/kr1,972/$325.58/$11,667/PEN59.98/NZ$26.52/R253.62/zł66.67/R$59.93/Kč404.62/RSD1,867/Ft4,827.59/₽1,068.70/CN¥122.81 (for 1 night, 6 people)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Family-friendly park just outside Charmouth on the Jurassic Coast
  • Pools, bar, meals, takeaways, play areas and indoor play
  • Modern amenities including hot showers, launderette and food shop

There’s nothing fossilised about a stay at Newlands Holiday Park a stone’s throw away from the Jurassic Coast on the Devon/Dorset border, where the staff and facilities will crater to your every holiday need: two separate play areas for the mini dinos, an in-house chef dishing up the best of local food, takeaway fish and chips using the freshest of the local catch, an indoor heated pool – and an outdoor one with waterslides and loungers so you can bask in the sun and wonder where the kids get all that energy…

Shale we continue? There’s the nightly entertainment in the lounge and bar, the conservatory with picturesque patio for having a glass of wine and drinking in the uninterrupted Dorset views, games show Tuesdays, the indoor soft play area and Dino Dan's disco…Use family-run Newlands as a base for a Lyme Regis fossil hunting holiday or just lounge about on site; either way we think you’ll have an epic time.

The 23-acre landscaped park has pitches for tents, tourers and motorhomes and with all the facilities you’d expect from a thoroughly modern site: food shop, internet access and clean up to date amenities including hot showers and a launderette.

The World Heritage village of Charmouth is on the doorstep for shops, restaurants and pubs, and is also known for its hardy souls taking to the sea in fancy dress on Christmas Day.

Please note

All: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged £2 per person per session.

The outdoor swimming pool is open between 20/05 and 04/09 (subject to weather conditions).

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

The indoor swimming pool is open between 10/03 and 06/11.

Single-sex bookings of 5 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Groups of five or more under 21s are not accepted via Pitchup.com.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

8.4

Overall rating based on 159 reviews

 

86% would recommend this site to a friend.

82% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Default avatar

Well kept, clean & tidy campsite. The staff were friendly & helpful 07/06/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Alexandra F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The play area, swimming pools & park kept our children amused, also the campsite is in a beautiful location.

    Disliked: 

    Toilet roll often ran out in the toilet blocks, luckily we brought some along.

From the manager...

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I have passed on your comments to our housekeeper and we are glad you and your children enjoyed your stay at Newlands
Team Newlands

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

good overnight break 21/07/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom colin l. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Had A lovely stay with my grandson. Swimming pool good. Maintained well. If the water slide was working would have been better, grandson disappointed. Cafe not open in morning for breakfast. Play areas good & well maintained.

    Disliked: 

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Not too sure if we would come again 15/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom leslie s. Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Views from top pitches and toilet blocks, we lovely and clean. reception was friendly, and man helping you pitch was very helpful.

    Disliked: 

    We were on the top rank in the red field by the statics, the kerb was awful to get
    our van over, it took one of the feet off, also very lopsided

    Also we went to the restaurant for evening dinner, I had lamb curry my wife had chicken curry, for the amount of meat in either dish it was very expensive, £11.95
    each meal my wife had only about 4 or 5 small bits of chicken and a lot of juice mine was the same, with I pint of beer and one med. wine the cost was £31 and a few pence, which we thought was over the top in price, as the next day we went into
    the Kingfisher Inn at Colyton I had braised beef a whole large dish full and fresh veg,my wife had lamb chops which we neither of us could believe when it came out three very large beautiful chops on a bed of mashed potato and loads of fresh veg.
    what a difference.
    Sorry but this is true, we were very disappointed with the food
    The plot was ok for 4 nights I'm not sure about 5 or 6 nights though..

From the manager...

Thank you for your comments, we review our menu and prices,we try our best to be competitive with the local bars and restaurants.
We would not be aware of prices in Colyton some 7 miles away.
Regards
Newlands

Overall
5
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Excellent site kids had great fun ages 6 and 11 very clean facilities 28/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Tony S. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    All facilities fitted all of our needs . Great location and views from caravan were stunning. Our 1st touring holiday and it was fantastic . Swimming pools were great . Excellent value for money. Perfect staff very helpful. Always staff cleaning .

    Disliked: 

    Prices in the bar a bit expensive. If prices were cheaper more people would be in there to enjoy entertainment.
    Have to pay for indoor pool 😟 charge for WiFi

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Excellent customer service, beautiful site 02/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Rebecca M. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Friendly and helpful from arrival escorted to pitch. Actually sited our van on and off pitch for us with landrover as did for others too on request. Mended our broken electric cable free. Beautiful views, child friendly, great amenities. Beautiful location, great village, lovely and easy walk to beach. Will be back

    Disliked: 

    Nothing it was all great, we have 4 young children and old caravan and they made it very stress free.

From the manager...

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Newlands, our grounds and maintenance team thank you for your nice comments
Regards

Newlands

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Not very dog friendly as stated on the Webb site. 31/08/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Rebecca N. Confirmed

  • Electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The views were great.

    Disliked: 

    Thought we were staying at dog friendly site but it wasn't. We were asked to leave an outdoor decked area because we had the dog with us. There wasn't an area to have a drink in the bar or close to the bar area where we could take the dog. We were told we could sit at the front of reception. The dog exercise field was not a field it was a walkway sectioned off around the field. We had a cooked breakfast but the portion of beans that came with the 'Full English' was tiny, it was in a container you would get a portion of mayo or branston in. On arrival we were informed we have to pay £2 per hour to use the indoor pool so if you have children this could become very costly.

Overall
3
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Ok site for money 04/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom laurafisher91 Confirmed

  • Electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The restaurant and bar area was great. Soft play area was clean and kept kids entertained very well. Outdoor pool and slide. Staff are lovely. Beautiful view

    Disliked: 

    When booked we asked to be pitched next to our friends but when we turned up we were on different fields. Luckily one member of staff pulled strings to let us move.
    The pitch was terrible. Ground was very uneven and every single one of our tent pegs were broken and most near impossible to get into the ground. Not only that but it was very messy with rubbish. Including 3 giant thumbtack like objects.
    The toilets were dirty. They were "surfaced" cleaned once a day by one women but this isnt good enough during peak times. The outdoor washing up sinks were disgusting. Were not cleaned once in the week we were there. Wifi was expensive and didnt work properly. Fish and chip shop wasnt good. Pitches were tiny

From the manager...

We are glad you enjoyed the complex, all you comments will be taken on board and addressed if required

Overall
5
Location
(No rating)
Value for money
(No rating)
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
(No rating)
Customer service
(No rating)
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
(No rating)
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Loved the location and the park, clubhouse and restaurant were ... 14/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom mickaela r. Confirmed

  • Electric grass trailer tent or tent pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Loved the location and the park, clubhouse and restaurant were perfectly fine and we enjoyed the evening quiz and bingo!

    Disliked: 

    Showers could have been cleaner, and the temperature could have been better, very erratic some days!
    The washing up sinks also didn't always have hot water which can make washing up greasy items very difficult!
    I do also feel you should have signs up as some people were regularly washing out their camp toilets in the shower blocks which is quite disgusting! Especially as you provide camp toilet facilities where these can be disposed of and cleaned out - maybe signs would help!

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)

Good site shame about the traffic noise 17/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom martin_s Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Nice clean site

    Disliked: 

    Traffic noise from A35

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A wonderful friendly site with everything you could ask for. 23/04/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom joanne_m173221 Confirmed

  • Electric grass touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Easy to locate off main road, wide access to site
    Reception staff helpful and friendly on arrival and allowed us to pick a pitch of our choice
    Great views from the pitch as it was higher up than the premium pitches (I think better than those !)
    Great food in the bar
    Lots of things for the children to do, she loved the soft play, play park and swimming pool - which was lovely and warm - get in there early if you don't want to swim with lots of children !
    Toilets and showers some of the roomiest I have ever been too, always clean and tidy
    Dog walking field was good and has gates either end so dog is secure to let off lead
    Great location for other towns to explore
    Close to the Golden Cap meaning you can walk - however it is steep and you need to be prepared for some calf busting - worth it when you reach the top though !
    Everything goes quiet about 10pm which is nice for relaxing

    Disliked: 

    Could do with hairdryers in the shower block

    You have to persevere with the shower temperatures, sometimes goes cold or really hot on you, just step out and wait and it goes back to normal quite quickly (top tip !!)

    This isn't a dislike but thought it worth a mention - when we got to the pitch we couldn't work out how everyone put their caravans with the tow bar pointing towards the incline. When we asked other campers they told us someone took them to the pitch and helped them pull the caravan into place. We didn't get that but managed to grab the lovely helpful grass cutting man on duty who helped us out.

From the manager...

Thank you for you review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Newlands

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Drainage hook-up points for tourers

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Large (51-200 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Nr Stonebarrow Lane Charmouth, Dorset, England, DT6 6RB
  • Timezone Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)   GPS 50.7383°N 2.8899°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Bridport: Coach Park West Street — 5.6 miles
Seaton (Devon): Sea Front Bus Stop — 8.3 miles
Ilminster: Market Square Coach Stop — 13.0 miles
Train stations
Axminster Rail Station — 5.8 miles
Crewkerne Rail Station — 10.5 miles
Honiton Rail Station — 13.6 miles
Ferry ports
Weymouth Ferry Terminal — 21.4 miles
Exmouth Ferry Landing — 24.9 miles
Topsham (Turf Lock Ferry) Ferry Landing — 25.6 miles
Airports
Exeter International Airport — 23.1 miles

Directions


We are just off the A35 between Bridport and Axminster 3 miles east of Lyme Regis. Newlands is clearly signed with an excellent wide entrance for tourers.

Satnav:
The road to Newlands does not have a name, causing problems for satnav systems. The nearest listed roads are Stonebarrow Lane and The Street. Our postcode is DT6 6RB.

From Bristol, M5:
Exit at junction 25 signposted Taunton, continue on the A358 to Chard, Axminster then take the A35 to Charmouth. Continue on the A35 signed Dorchester (bypassing Charmouth village), then take the next turning right. Newlands is 50 yards on the left.

From London, M3:
Join the M27 then the A31 to Ringwood. Take the A35 to Wimborne, Dorchester, Bridport, Chideock, Morcombelake, then left to Charmouth. Newlands is 50 yards on the left.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Charmouth is the gateway to the Jurassic Coast and has some of the best fossils to be found in Dorset: the Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre has fossil collections, guided fossil walks and is where you can proudly bring in your very own fossil find to be identified.

The beach is a 15-minute walk from Newlands: stroll from here to Lyme Regis keeping your head down for fossily finds, then wander around Lyme to take a look at Cobb Harbour, made famous in Jane Austen’s Persuasion; buy freshly ground flour at the fourteenth century watermill; amble along to at the ammonites, exhibitions and events at the museum, or swing off on the cliff at Lyme Regis Golf Club.

Once you’ve found your fossils, there are heaps of other historical highlights in the area: Exeter is only half an hour’s drive away for the eleventh century cathedral and peering at Parliament Street, one of the narrowest streets in the world.

Pick your own fruit and play giant snakes and ladders at the Grade I listed Forde Abbey and Gardens, or walk along the ancient River Exe just outside Exeter with a stop off at fishing town Topsham.

Mini fossil hunters will love the award-winning Dinosaur Museum at Dorchester where they can take a detour to the Teddy Bear Museum; while if they’re watery types they’ll have a whale of a time at the Splashdown Water Park in Poole and the walk-through underwater tunnel at the Bournemouth Oceanarium.

Closer to Newland and Dino Dan, families can see zebras and meerkats at the Axe Valley Wildlife Park, trundle along on the Seaton Tramway for a scenic trip through the estuary of the River Axe, or feed a shoal of mullet (not the haircut) at Lyme Regis Marine Aquarium.

Must see

  • Mapperton House & Gardens (8.9 miles)
  • Abbotsbury Swannery (13.8 miles)
  • Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site (15.9 miles)

National Trust

  • Shute Barton (7.9 miles)
  • Loughwood Meeting House (8.1 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  9 p.m.
Depart:  10:30 a.m.

Newlands Holiday Park cancellation policy

No refunds are given except under the terms of the cancellation plan that protects you up to and including the day before your holiday commences, against loss of balance paid (excluding premium) due to redundancy, jury service, accident, injury, illness or death of any member of your party or close relative.

Supporting evidence such as a doctor’s certificate or redundancy notice is required.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Newlands Holiday Park will debit the balance from your card 4 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 4 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

Payment methods accepted on the park

MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Newlands Holiday Park


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Arrivals and departures
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Extras
All: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged £2 per person per session.

General
Entertainment and activities are available between 10/03 and 06/11.
Radio, music and TV players must be kept at a low volume. Car doors and boots must be closed quietly.
The bar and/or restaurant is open between 10/03 and 06/11.
The grocery shop is open between 10/03 and 06/11.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.

Occupancy
Single-sex bookings of 5 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pool
The indoor swimming pool is open between 10/03 and 06/11.
The outdoor swimming pool is open between 20/05 and 04/09 (subject to weather conditions).

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Additional terms

Gazebos are not permitted between the following dates: 3 - 6 April, 22 - 26 May, 24 July - 30 August.

Close