Book and review 8,950 holiday parks and campsites in the UK, Europe and the Americas

Feefo service rating

Cofton Country Holidays

9.3
View prices & book
From £14.62/€16.53/A$25.92/US$20.53/CA$25.74/CHF19.04/kr163.36/kr123.13/kr159.36/kr2,060/$405.36/$12,185/PEN66.62/NZ$27.76/R239.05/zł68.70/R$66.35/Kč419.17/RSD1,956/Ft5,146.85/₽1,158.96/CN¥130.14 (for 1 night, 2 adults)

Why not enter some details and get an accurate price?

General

  • Award-winning site a mile from the beach
  • Pools, pub, fish and chip shop, sauna, steam room and gym
  • Five private fishing lakes: bag a 24-pounder

Anyone who relishes a bit of variety on their holidays should give this award-winning site serious consideration: there are buckets and spades of activities for all ages, both on site and in the immediate vicinity.

Tucked into a valley, and only a mile away from swathes of Blue Flag beaches, Cofton Country Holidays has 80 glorious acres of meadows, orchards and woodland laced with tranquil nature trails for visitors to explore.

Cofton's indoor pool has massage jets and hydrotherapy bubble loungers, as well as a sauna, steam room and gym. A splash area with water jets will entertain the children (a small additional charge applies to the pool, sauna, steam room and gym).

With five private fishing lakes to choose from, there are abundant opportunities to bag a monster carp: 24-pounders are not unknown (an EA rod licence is required plus a fishing permit from reception).

Water babies of all ages will enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pools; after some aquatic exertions, you can retire to the poolside patio of the Swan Inn for a refresher and a snack. The pub opens every night and serves up a good range of grub (breakfast and lunch are also available at weekends), plus regular entertainment including live bands, discos and karaoke. Cofton also has its very own fish and chip joint, as well as a shop for any vittles you might need.

Children can bounce around in the three dedicated play areas or explore the adventure zone in the woods, with activities such as pond-dipping and bug-hunting laid on in season; if it’s raining, there’s also a games room with amusements and a pool table.

Wifi across the whole site (charges apply) means staying connected is simple, and it’s also worth mentioning that Cofton has excellent facilities for disabled visitors.

Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award AA 5 pennants

Please note

Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.

Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.

Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.

Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

The indoor swimming pool is open between 01/01 and 31/12.

The outdoor swimming pool is open between 27/05 and 16/09 (subject to weather conditions).

Facilities/activities including coarse fishing, gym, some on site activities are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

All customers: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged £2.95 per adult and £1.95 per child per session.

No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.

The takeaway is open from 27/03 to 27/09, then weekends only in October except for half term week when its open all week. Ashburn Springs Leisure Complex and Amelia's Pantry bar and restaurant will be open all year except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day.


Arrive:
Depart: (2 nights)
Party: 2 adults

Edit…

Click/tap once to select your first day, and again for your departure day.


Booking as a group?

Reviews

9.3

Overall rating based on 285 reviews

 

95% would recommend this site to a friend.

93% would stay here again.

 

Distribution requires 5 reviews or more.

More ratings

Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Show me reviews by:
Sort by:
Staying in:
Original language of review:

Only showing reviews for last 18 months.

Reset filters
Reviews in other languages appear below.
Default avatar

Very very nice 26/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Valter F. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (overflow)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Very very nice

    Disliked: 

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Brilliant site, great staff, well kept and level pitches 13/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Mike W. Confirmed

  • Non-electric grass tent pitch (overflow)
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Range of, and cleanliness of the facilities.
    Swimming pools.
    Restaurant and serving staff ( friendly and efficient, even late in the evening ! )
    Condition of tent pitches and availability of hook-up electricity.
    Frequency of toilet / shower cleaning
    Friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the site.
    Waitress (50+) during Thursday evening ( 10-08-17 ) was so nice and attentive and proud and happy to be working for the organisation...what a endorsement !!!!

    Disliked: 

    Not so much disliked, as an observation :

    Given the huge number of people on site and particularly young children, it might be worth considering how to further segregate the public from the access roads up to Barn Field and 12 Acre Field ?

    At present it is possible to walk down the access road, which is narrow and has high hedges, if you choose not to walk down through the tent pitches ?

    Some further segregation would be good as there is a high likelihood of a bike- riding child being in collision with cars travelling up the access roads

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Good site location for walks, bike rides.. excellent facilities. 12/08/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Barry G. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    We enjoyed the fact the location of the site was situated next to the coast line, giving us the opportunity to experience various cycle routes!

    Disliked: 

    Unfortunately we had to cut our holiday short by 3 nights as we were inundated most mornings by dog dirt outside our tent and various other places on our pitch... we are not dog owners and DO NOT go on holiday to clean up after other people's dogs... we were very frustrated that people would allow this to happen.. I feel that dog owners should not be pitched next to non dog owners as it ruined our experience and am sure many others would feel the same!

Overall
6
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

Bad Start 13/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Robert L. Confirmed

  • 7-metre electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site was very clean and tidy. could not fault it
    The facilities ie. club, swimming pool were lovely and clean and the staff were very friendly

    Disliked: 

    Reception: On arrival I offered the receptionist my booking reference, but was declined saying she only wanted the postcode, fair enough. Then I was asked how many in party and all the details, which I thought if she had the booking in front of her it would be there on the screen. However she then said you have a tent which I replied no, a caravan, I was then presented with a card etc and a young man came to direct us to the pitch. He proceeded to offer us a tent pitch which I am sure he could see that this was incorrect as there was a caravan on the back of the car!!
    I said this is not correct but he said that this is correct to what his instructions were. He duly contacted the reception who asked him to check (?) he then took us to a pitch on which our caravan was too big, but he left us there. I had to ring the main number and ask for someone with a little sense to come to us as there was no way this was acceptable. We were then put on another pitch temporary until we were put on a super pitch at "no extra cost" as if you were doing me a favour....so we finally got settled and I have to say after this bad start it was an enjoyable stay..

From the manager...

Thank you for your feedback on Pitchup. I am sorry you had a rather confusing start to your holiday, sometimes we make mistakes but I am glad your pitch was eventually organised so that you could enjoy your holiday.

Overall
7
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
(No rating)
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

very crowded site not for us. 31/10/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom derek b. Confirmed

  • 7-metre electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The shop was convenient along with the fish and chip shop. The gym was good with good quality equipment.

    Disliked: 

    We were allocated pitch number 2 on the site which is small our big caravan only just fitted. There was very little room for the caravan i think it would be nearly impossible to park the car and erect an awning. Opposite us there was also a large caravan and they had a car and a builders van complete with ladders parked just off the road. That was a great view from the caravan. The electric hook up is only a 10 amp supply not really adequate to run the heating and hot water systems. I do not think you should be allocated a pitch there should be choice.I am afraid we will not be coming back.

Overall
2
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

A very nice site, very good value, would consider staying here again. 07/08/2017

michaelturner

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    clean and well kept site. toilets/shower blocks kept clean and fresh. showers nice and hot. friendly and helpful staff. site shop prices not overpriced. on site pub staff friendly and courteous

    Disliked: 

    other family's children running between pitches and tripping over our guide ropes.
    pitches a bit too close together. putting guests onto grass pitches that have only just been vacated (due to the wet weather, the vacated pitch did not have time to breath or recover, it stank!)

    I would like to suggest that family's with children should be allocated pitches nearer to the kids play area, and put adult only family's further away, (we were kept awake by loud children). also may I suggest that grass pitches be rotated, so that they have time to air before another groundsheet is placed over it. (a hard thing to do on such a busy site, I know) we did enjoy our stay here, even though it rained every day, cant help the weather tho.

Overall
8
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
(No rating)
Default avatar

A 26/02/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom Chris J. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • 7-metre electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    A

    Disliked: 

    A

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
(No rating)
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi
Default avatar

Fantastic site and excellent staff. Very clean. Will be back 06/09/2016

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom tina b. Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • Electric grass pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Woodland park
    Outdoor pool
    Fishing lakes
    Park
    Grounds layout
    Friendly staff

    Disliked: 

    Hard ground in 10 acre field
    Lots of Bent pegs

From the manager...

Thank you for your Pitchup review, your feedback is really important to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Excellent site brilliant break. 29/03/2017

Reviewer's country: United Kingdom maggie_m307126 Mobile phone icon Confirmed

  • 7-metre electric hardstanding touring pitch
  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    Staff excellent as were the facilities. We have used this site several times and it did not disappoint. Lot's of walking and as it was early in the season plenty of space to breath.

    Disliked: 

    Road noise can be a nuisance on some parts of the site. Despite being advertised as open some facilities were still closed. Wi-Fi seemed complicated to access but once worked out (thank goodness for grandchildren) all good.

Overall
10
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Beautifully clean and peaceful site situated in an unspoilt valley 04/12/2016

kira_t

  • Recommend to friends   Visit again
  • Liked: 

    The site is nestled in a scenic valley surrounded by coniferous woodland on one site and green fields on the other.
    Loved the walks that are signed posted away from the site giving your views across the Exe valley and over to Dawlish Warren.
    Lots of space between pitches.
    The caravan had a very high quality interior and furnishings. the bed linen was of good quality. Because the floors were wooden in the sitting and kitchen area it made the caravan a lot cleaner than other caravans i have stayed in.
    There was plenty of room for the four of us.
    Staying in December i was concerned how warm it would be. The heating was superb and we arrived in the dark to a lovely cosy caravan. In the morning it was not cold as experienced with other caravans. The bathroom also stayed warm throughout and the shower was the best i have experienced - i wanted to stay in it and not get out!
    There was plenty of open space for the children to explore. They particularly loved the wooded area. The site felt safe. Obviously this is a review from the beginning of December when it was extremely quiet so cannot comment on what it would be like during high season. You can see the site is always bettering itself. The parking area outside our caravan was slabbed and gravelled. It made the pitch feel very smart.

    Disliked: 

Overall
9
Location
Value for money
Accommodation
Facilities/activities
Customer service
Child friendliness
Cleanliness
Wifi

Features

Leisure on site

Bar or club house

Cycle hire

Evening entertainment

Fishing

Fitness centre

Games room

Indoor swimming pool

Kids' club

On-site restaurant/cafe

Outdoor swimming pool

Play area

Take away

Tennis

TV room

Watersports

Amenities on site

Bath available

Disabled facilities

Drying room

Food shop

Free wifi

Ice pack freezing

Internet access

Launderette

Local produce

Parent & baby washroom

Pick-up from public transport

Public telephone

Shower available

Toilet block

Washing-up area

Wifi

Utilities

Charging facilities

Chemical disposal

Gas cylinders available

Recycling available

Renewable energy

Touring and motorhomes

Fully serviced pitches

Hard standings

Motorhome service point

Seasonal pitches

Tourer storage facilities

Water hook-up points for tourers

Rules

Barbecues allowed

Campfires allowed

Commercial vehicles allowed

Dogs allowed

Dogs allowed all year

Themes

Gastronomic delight

Lake and/or mountain

Peaceful

Spectacular scenery

Wildlife haven

Nearby leisure

Canoeing/kayaking nearby

Climbing nearby

Cycle hire nearby

Cycling nearby

Fishing nearby

Golf nearby

Horse riding nearby

Indoor pool nearby

Leisure/theme park nearby

Mountain biking nearby

Outdoor pool nearby

Restaurant nearby

Sailing nearby

Tennis nearby

Watersports nearby

Groups welcome

D. of E. welcome

Family friendly

Motorcycle friendly

Rallies welcome

Single-sex groups welcome

Student groups welcome

Nearby amenities

Bar nearby

Nearby farmers' market

Public transport nearby

Shop nearby

Type

Very large (over 200 pitches)

Location

[[ campsite.name ]] [[ place.name ]]
  • Starcross, Dawlish, Devon, England, EX6 8RP
  • Timezone Europe/London GMT (GMT+00:00)   GPS 50.6123°N 3.4614°W

Nearest transport

Coach stations
Starcross: Rail Station Coach Stop — 1.2 miles
Kenton (Devon): Coach Stop — 2.0 miles
Exmouth Bus Station — 2.1 miles
Train stations
Dawlish Warren Rail Station — 1.2 miles
Starcross Rail Station — 1.2 miles
Exmouth Rail Station — 2.1 miles
Ferry ports
Starcross Ferry Landing — 1.2 miles
Exmouth Ferry Landing — 1.7 miles
Turf Lock Inn Ferry Landing — 3.5 miles
Airports
Exeter International Airport — 8.4 miles

Directions


It's easy to reach Cofton Country Holidays by car. Leave the M5 motorway at Junction 30. Take the A379 signposted Dawlish and after about 30 minutes, having passed through Kenton, Starcross and the small harbour village of Cockwood, the park is half a mile on the left.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.

Local attractions

Wandering just outside the site, the nearby clifftops have pretty walks; there are gentle bike rides around and about; plus beaches and waterways offering more sail-, paddle- and wave-powered action than you can shake a stick at.

Hop on a bus (the stop’s only 100m away) to explore a bit further afield. This corner of Devon is jampacked with things to see and do, including castles, botanic gardens, zoos, aquariums, animal farms, model villages and adventure parks.

Whether it’s the brutal beauty of Dartmoor, the bucolic splendour of England’s highest waterfall, Canonteign Falls, or the attractive bustle of Exeter and Exmouth, there's something for everyone...

Must see

  • Crealy Great Adventure Park (6.9 miles)
  • Exeter Cathedral - Church of Saint Peter (8.2 miles)
  • Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site (10.7 miles)

National Trust

  • A la Ronde (3.2 miles)
  • Killerton: Clyston Mill (10.5 miles)

Cycle routes

Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.

Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel.

Policies

Permitted arrival/departure time

Camping and touring
Arrive:  11 a.m. –  6 p.m.
Depart:  10 a.m.

Arrivals:
01/09 - 01/03: 11am - 5pm
01/04 – 23/07: July 11am - 6pm
24/07 - 31/08: 11am - 8pm
Departures by 11am

Cofton Country Holidays cancellation policy

No refunds within 2 weeks of arrival date.

- 29 to 59 days before arrival = 30% of holiday balance will be retained
- 15 to 28 days before arrival = 50% of holiday balance will be retained

Changing your booking: there will be no charge for minor changes. A change of dates, or any change that affects the price of your holiday, will be treated as a major change. Major changes made at least 28 days prior to the start date of your holiday will incur an administration charge of £20. Major changes made within 28 days of the start date of your holiday will be treated as a cancellation.

No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.

If you need to cancel or amend your booking, please give as much notice as possible so that someone else has the chance to book. You may wish to buy holiday insurance for cancellations and for your property/injury whilst away.

Please note that your deposit is paid to Pitchup.com and is non-refundable.

Payment

A 15% non-refundable deposit is payable now. Cofton Country Holidays will debit the balance from your card 12 weeks before arrival, or if the arrival date is sooner than 12 weeks then the balance will be taken immediately.

You can also opt to pay the full amount at the time of your booking.

Payment methods accepted on the park

Maestro
MasterCard
Visa

Terms and conditions

Site booking terms and conditions

Video

Close

Report a problem

Reason:
Your claim is being sent…

Close

Contact Cofton Country Holidays


Close

Terms and conditions

Please read the park terms and conditions below and the Pitchup.com terms and conditions.

Admission
Admission is only permitted after registering at reception.
Under 18s must be accompanied by their parents or legal guardians.

Arrivals and departures
No refunds/discounts for inclement weather, late arrivals or early departures.
Units will be allocated on arrival.

Dogs
Dogs are not allowed in the accommodation units.
Dogs must be kept on leads and supervised at all times.

Extras
All customers: access to the swimming pool is not included in the rate and is charged £2.95 per adult and £1.95 per child per session.
Facilities/activities including coarse fishing, gym, some on site activities are subject to extra charges payable on arrival.

General
Bookings are nominative and non-transferable.
Bookings must not be for more than 21 consecutive nights.
Entertainment and activities are available between 01/04 and 28/10.
In the event of a complaint, please speak to reception immediately. Complaints which are not brought to the management's attention during your stay cannot be dealt with once you have left the site.
Quiet hours must be respected between 12 a.m. and 7:30 a.m..
The bar and/or restaurant is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The grocery shop is open between 02/01 and 31/12.
The management reserves the right to deny access or terminate the stay of those guests whose behaviour is deemed unsuitable. No refunds will be offered.
The sauna (and/or hammam) is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The wellness centre is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
You'll need an Environment Agency rod licence (you'll need to apply for this beforehand).

Occupancy
No hen/stag parties permitted via Pitchup.com.
Single-sex bookings of 3 or more people (couples and immediate family members excepted) are not permitted via Pitchup.com.

Pitches
You must follow the management directives when pitching your tent/unit and related equipment.

Pool
The indoor swimming pool is open between 01/01 and 31/12.
The outdoor swimming pool is open between 27/05 and 16/09 (subject to weather conditions).

Reception
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. between 01/01 and 20/07.
Reception is open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. between 21/07 and 01/09.

Safety
Barbecues are permitted but must be raised off the ground and attended by an adult at all times.
Open fires are prohibited.

Vehicles
Commercial vehicles (vehicles used for work-related purposes, carrying goods or fare-paying passengers) and sign-written vehicles are not permitted on site.
Only one car is to be parked by the pitch. Extra vehicles must be parked in the designated area.

Visitors
Visitors must register at reception and pay their fee.

Additional terms

The takeaway is open from 27/03 to 27/09, then weekends only in October except for half term week when its open all week. Ashburn Springs Leisure Complex and Amelia's Pantry bar and restaurant will be open all year except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

The site cannot guarantee adjoining pitches.

Gazebos on the same pitch are not permitted in peak season via Pitchup.com

A charge is made for returning lost property to cover postage. Lost property is only kept for a short period, after which it is given to charity.

Close